Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Yakima, WA
Students enrolled: 77

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakridge Montessori School 5

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
This school and it's teachers are professional and strive everyday to give our children of the future the tools they need to be successful and independent. This Montessori program offers everything that Montessori is based on. All of the learning and life skills activities are at eye level to the children. The children are encouraged to be independent, responsible and disciplined in their daily activities as well as their academics. Most of the students are testing above average for their age group. I would suggest this school to EVERYONE and ANYONE.

Oakridge Montessori School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a community member
As a previous student of the school I have a different perspective to offer. I went to this school for all of my schooling through 8th grade. I am so grateful that my parents believed in Montessori and in the school to let me keep learning and growing at the school until I graduated in 8th grade. I loved going to school at Oakridge, and I know when I have kids they will go to the same school if I am living in Yakima. This school gave me the best start to life. The school fostered a love of learning and respect along with many other things. People can say what they want, but I know from being a student, and from helping out on my days off from school that this school is the only school in the valley I would send my child to. I also know others who have their children in the school currently, and they and their children love it. As a student you will learn more, remember more, have a better attitude about school and learning, learn life long skills, and go to a school that has more to offer than public school and you will gain more in return as I did.


Oakridge Montessori School 1

Posted October 01, 2011
- a parent
My child went to Oakridge some years back, and I am still appalled at the unprofessional (disorganized, impulsive and even hostile) communication by Administration. People either love this school or hate it. It seems to depend upon whether the Director personally likes you and your child.

Oakridge Montessori School 5

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
We have loved our experience with Oakridge thus far. I was originally planning to home school, but my son had other plans. When he asked if he could go to school with the other kids we looked around for a good public school and enrolled him in K. He loved it, for 2 months. When I went to find out what was going on I discovered it was a really poor situation and would not be helped by moving to another public school, so we needed another solution ASAP. I thought I'd have to return to my original plan of homeschooling, but we decided to tour Oakridge just to find out more. I am so glad we did. When my husband and I saw what the program was and met the teachers at Oakridge we knew that we had found the right school. Our son tried it out and it fit so well he started the next day. 3 months later he still loves going, and he is being challenged every day. He also has made some wonderful friends. One day I went to pick him up and realized that all of the teachers knew him. It has been a really amazing experience and we are looking forward to the Ranch next year.

Oakridge Montessori School 4

Posted November 04, 2010
- a parent
My children, ages 2 and 4, have been attending Oakridge for nearly a year. The growth and development I have seen in them, both socially and academically, is astounding. Their teachers are excellent and truely care about my children, their well-being and their development. The summer program has been a blessing with the opportunity for daily swimming lessons. What an opportunity! My son's social skills have greatly improved, as has his independence and want to do things on his own. Academically he is able to explore things that would not be offered in typical preschool classes, which is great since it only expands his thirst for knowledge! I give 4 stars only because no place is perfect. It would be nice to see more organization from the administration, clearer communication related to what is expected of parents, and some of the teachers could use more training / skills.


Oakridge Montessori School 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
My children are currently enrolled in Oakridge. The education they are receiving is amazing. I am so pleased with the teachers and the learning enviroment. They are all excited to go to school. I think that speaks volume for thier education!

Oakridge Montessori School 3

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
The teachers seemed very nice and the environment was friendly but there were several negative factors. 1) for the summer there was no education at all, it was just daycare, despite reassurances from the administrator and the teachers that they would work with the kids. 2) The administrator is VERY nice but she is also one of the most disorganized people I have ever met. Don't expect to ever have her full attention. 3) The pool at the ranch was green and unusable for about a month out of the summer. This should have been fixed much faster since they don't even have air conditioning! I give three stars because they are the only school I know of that will take kids for the summer, the staff was friendly, and my kids were taken care of. Just don't expect any education during the summer. I will use them again.

Oakridge Montessori School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
I am amazed at the way my daughter has grown - I attribute so much of her positive behavior to Oakridge. She is enthralled with learning, working, growing... A wonderful place....


Oakridge Montessori School 4

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
The staff and students are very friendly, creative and care. The atmosphere is more like a home environment, more relaxed and comfortable. There is very little of shuffling worksheets but more cooperative working together on projects. My kids love it.

Oakridge Montessori School 1

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
My children and myself have been very happy with their education thanks to the teachers that work there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakridge Montessori School
6403 Summitview Avenue, Yakima, WA  98908
(509) 966-1080
Last modified Oakridge Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Oakridge Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top