Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oakridge Montessori School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yakima

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

stars


Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

This school and it's teachers are professional and strive everyday to give our children of the future the tools they need to be successful and independent. This Montessori program offers everything that Montessori is based on. All of the learning and life skills activities are at eye level to the children. The children are encouraged to be independent, responsible and disciplined in their daily activities as well as their academics. Most of the students are testing above average for their age group. I would suggest this school to EVERYONE and ANYONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

As a previous student of the school I have a different perspective to offer. I went to this school for all of my schooling through 8th grade. I am so grateful that my parents believed in Montessori and in the school to let me keep learning and growing at the school until I graduated in 8th grade. I loved going to school at Oakridge, and I know when I have kids they will go to the same school if I am living in Yakima. This school gave me the best start to life. The school fostered a love of learning and respect along with many other things. People can say what they want, but I know from being a student, and from helping out on my days off from school that this school is the only school in the valley I would send my child to. I also know others who have their children in the school currently, and they and their children love it. As a student you will learn more, remember more, have a better attitude about school and learning, learn life long skills, and go to a school that has more to offer than public school and you will gain more in return as I did.


Posted October 1, 2011

My child went to Oakridge some years back, and I am still appalled at the unprofessional (disorganized, impulsive and even hostile) communication by Administration. People either love this school or hate it. It seems to depend upon whether the Director personally likes you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

We have loved our experience with Oakridge thus far. I was originally planning to home school, but my son had other plans. When he asked if he could go to school with the other kids we looked around for a good public school and enrolled him in K. He loved it, for 2 months. When I went to find out what was going on I discovered it was a really poor situation and would not be helped by moving to another public school, so we needed another solution ASAP. I thought I'd have to return to my original plan of homeschooling, but we decided to tour Oakridge just to find out more. I am so glad we did. When my husband and I saw what the program was and met the teachers at Oakridge we knew that we had found the right school. Our son tried it out and it fit so well he started the next day. 3 months later he still loves going, and he is being challenged every day. He also has made some wonderful friends. One day I went to pick him up and realized that all of the teachers knew him. It has been a really amazing experience and we are looking forward to the Ranch next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

My children, ages 2 and 4, have been attending Oakridge for nearly a year. The growth and development I have seen in them, both socially and academically, is astounding. Their teachers are excellent and truely care about my children, their well-being and their development. The summer program has been a blessing with the opportunity for daily swimming lessons. What an opportunity! My son's social skills have greatly improved, as has his independence and want to do things on his own. Academically he is able to explore things that would not be offered in typical preschool classes, which is great since it only expands his thirst for knowledge! I give 4 stars only because no place is perfect. It would be nice to see more organization from the administration, clearer communication related to what is expected of parents, and some of the teachers could use more training / skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

My children are currently enrolled in Oakridge. The education they are receiving is amazing. I am so pleased with the teachers and the learning enviroment. They are all excited to go to school. I think that speaks volume for thier education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

The teachers seemed very nice and the environment was friendly but there were several negative factors. 1) for the summer there was no education at all, it was just daycare, despite reassurances from the administrator and the teachers that they would work with the kids. 2) The administrator is VERY nice but she is also one of the most disorganized people I have ever met. Don't expect to ever have her full attention. 3) The pool at the ranch was green and unusable for about a month out of the summer. This should have been fixed much faster since they don't even have air conditioning! I give three stars because they are the only school I know of that will take kids for the summer, the staff was friendly, and my kids were taken care of. Just don't expect any education during the summer. I will use them again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I am amazed at the way my daughter has grown - I attribute so much of her positive behavior to Oakridge. She is enthralled with learning, working, growing... A wonderful place....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

The staff and students are very friendly, creative and care. The atmosphere is more like a home environment, more relaxed and comfortable. There is very little of shuffling worksheets but more cooperative working together on projects. My kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

My children and myself have been very happy with their education thanks to the teachers that work there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I have worked for oakridge Montessori for nine years now and I enjoy my job now as much as I did when I first started. I love working with children and watching them grow. In my class every child is just as important as the next. At oakridge we work hard with every child, sure there are some difficult children but we try everything we can before we have let them go, if it comes to that point. we look out for all the children in the school so that means that if we get a child that continues to hurt other children then we have no choice but to ask them to leave we have a responsibility to all of the children. I do recommend Oakridge Montessori school for any child and I will love to work with them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2007

To clarify for others interested in Oakridge please read. I write this because one of our children attended Oakridge for preschool and LOVED it. She would come home and tell us what she'd learned. Watching her grow was great! Two of our kids will be moving out of their school. Because of the excellent experience we are enrolling two after the move. Here is a quick example. When walking through the school I asked a first grader if she liked school. Her response was, 'Yes...I do, but sometimes the division is a little hard'. DIVISION in first grade. Another; a K-student is reading CHAPTER BOOKS. The child in K was in my daughters preschool class last year. Our daughter is reading above 'grade level', but what if she'd stayed at Oakridge? Obviously we know each child is different, but we'll never know? Fortunately, the kids are going back to Oakridge:)YEAH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

I have worked at Oakridge for several years. My daughter attended the school from pre-school through junior high. Now in public school, she is doing very well. Knowing the ins and outs of the school, it gives a different perspective. I would not have kept my child in a school where she did not receive the attention she deserved. Montessori is for every child, but not every child is for Montessori.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 16, 2007

I actually worked at Oakridge Montessori and was appalled at how little they cared for the children in comparison to how much they cared about getting their monthly tuition.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 5, 2007

I would not recommend this school to anyone. They favor the gifted and bright child and forget about the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I would not recommend this school to anyone that has children with any type of special needs. Unfortunately you cannot pay Oakridge enough to have one on one individualized education for your child. They may have smaller class sizes but they are not any more willing to give your child specialized attention than the overcrowded public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

I would not recommend this school to anyone with young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

This school has been a wonderful experience not only for my 4 year old son but for the hole family. They have hands on learning and are involved in every students needs. The teachers are not only there to teach but to make them eager to learn. My son has learned so much from reading, geography to fun and educational songs. In the summer they offer swimming lessons. It's wonderful. Thank you for everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

My children's first year of public school is this year and I have had more compliments and positive feedback about them than I've ever had. Most of the feedback is about their studying habits and abilities. I attribute this mostly to Oakridge Montessori and the teachers and administration. My kindergardner is the only one in her class reading (and reading at 2nd grade level). My preschooler's teacher was most impressed at his ability to take care of himself. My second grader is at the top of her class. I loved Oakridge and my children did too. They had a great foundation at this school. The music teacher is a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 60%
Hispanic 17% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 7%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6403 Summitview Avenue
Yakima, WA 98908
Phone: (509) 966-1080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT