Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Zion Preparatory Academy

Private | PK | 218 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $236,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2011

Zion has been a great experience for me and my children... I graduated fro there in 1997 finishing my 8th grade and was above average when I went on to High School. Parent can say what they want but it really takes a village to raise a child and Zion DEFINITELY went above the call of duty when it came to me and my children. I pray that one day they really get the recommendation and support needed to sustain the potential Zion has to continue. My children were reading by the age of 4 and academically soared even after they unfortunately had to leave due to school funding. People here is a question to ask yourself: If Zion wasn't a great school how have they been able to stay an existence for 29 years? Well there is your answer they wouldn't. I would still to this day even though my children have moved on to another school I will always remember the strong foundation Zion Preparatory Academy installed in me and my children and will always campaign for the education excellence they provide and still do. Even when parents get upset and threaten to take there kids out they soon come back and realize that the grass was not greener on the other side! We love you Zion... Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

I can say the support from the school is Excellent. Public schools will not tell you, children there are actually one or more years behind this private school. They ealuate, test, and place your child in the correct grade level. Upon college entry, after using Zion Academy, your child will be one to two years ahead of other college freshman. Great Program, Great school, somewhat expensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

I was a student the only white girl there and i was welcomed by alot of friends and i still keep in touch with most of them... I'm so happy i went there when i was in 7th grade now i'm in 10th grade... The teachers are excellent and fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Zion Preparatory Academy is a place where children can come and celebrate their African-American heritage in an environment where love, unity and academic excellence is promoted. This is my child's home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Zion Oreo is great. They have science and technology, and advanced placement, for less than $500 per month!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

I myself being a product of Zion Prep am now a proud parent of a child that is attending. I myself learned so much and even though I moved on from Zion into the public school system (not due to educational reasons) was put into advance placement classes since grade 4 and beyond. I am now 24, a college grad, making $60K+ year and I can definitely say that Zion had something to do with increasing my educational abilities. I am seeing major progress with my child who is in pre-k as she is articulate, knowlegable, and very eager to learn and go to school every day. Also, I have had my younger sister attend through the 8th grade and now she is preparation to attend an HBCU and we all definitely credit Zion for providing her with the tools to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

Zion middle school is going through great changes with a new principal and staff who offer a challenging traditional program with social studies, literature, language arts, math and science. We have a strong team this year with an exceptional principal. The program is challenging and highly academic. GO ZION !KIDS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 8, 2006

My child has been going to Zion Prep since she was 2 1/2 and now she is 8 in the 2nd grade. Zion has taught her a lot of verbal skills and her math, reading has exceeding any other child that I have compared her to in public school. Zion has given her the extra jump she needed for her education needs. Thank you Zion sct
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

Zion is a great place for children to learn and grow, pre-school through 4th/ 5th. Beyond that consider what is best for your child. Middle school can be a bit of a challenge and better suited for at-risk cases. Instruction is computer based atleast 50% of each day. Seems geared toward students in need of a GED or at-risk to drop-out. You must remember that many (NOT ALL) the students Zion serves are students who may have had issues in the public school. You cannot compare Zion to any traditional school...the school is more than half populated with students that would fail in any other setting. When you consider the poplulation Zion serves and the academic success of the students you have to know they are doing something right. It's a loving and caring place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

My children have been a part of Zion for almost 8 years now and I wouldn't have it any other way. Academically they are way beyond where they would be at Public School and the teachers really care about the kids. It has become more like a family than just a school. Although I wish they had more extrcurricular activities there is nothing negative I can say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

This school has been a big disappointment. It is fine for lower grades (pre-school through 5th grade), but for upper school, (6th trough 8th grade) the education is lacking in all areas and the teacher's do not communicate well with parents. The current 8th grade class has less then 5 students and this is owing to the simple fact that parents are not happy with the school curriculum. It does have a small music program which at its best is mediocre however they do have an excellent art program which has instructors from outside of the school to work with the students in all different areas of art. Zion is a private school that so poorly educates your child that when I finally removed my child from the school she was a year or more behind the same age student in the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

My child is currently attending ZPA and has been since preschool. She is going into the 1st grade. The pre-kindergarten and kindergarten curriculums are very rich in academics and preparing them for the next grade. The kindergarten teachers challenged my daughter in math and reading and she was doing 1st grade work while in kindergarten. They now have a p.e. teacher which is very exciting and they are getting a new playground. Principal Wells is determined to bring up the standards past the already excellent standards and he is doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

Preschool to 1st or 2nd grade are very good foundations to build upon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

Poor communication between senior administration and parents. Not all teachers accredited. No organized extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is low. Safety is satisfactory and discipline is inconsistent. Pre-K, Kindergarten and early elementary classes have good programs for learning. Middle school (6-8) have poor curriculum and poorly qualified teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

When I first received a foster child in my home, public schools were not assisting him with negative behaviors that he was acting out. I enrolled him in Zion Prep and he became a straight A student. He was 4 years old when he started attending and now he is 5. He knows his colors, can read short sentences, can add small numbers, knows his alphabets and his numbers to 100 and his social skills have improved greatly. I credit his preschool teachers for helping to create a positive balance in his life at school that matched what I was doing at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 6%
White 2% 64%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 3%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brother Jack
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4730 32nd Ave S
Seattle, WA 98118
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 723-0580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT