Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Capital Montessori School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
This is the place where nice families send their lovely children to learn to be successful. I love this school! My children enjoyed the excellent programs and field trips, and I appreciate the fine academic results. My only regret is my children have outgrown their program offerings or I would have kept sending them there. First things are first at Capital Montessori: this is a safe environment, and I am grateful to the school for keeping my children safe and nurtured. The programs and activities are fun and engaging, and there are so many choices for the kids that they will love learning. The facility is exceptionally clean. Huge windows in the children's rooms overlook parklike areas and playground. I am not related to anyone who works there, but the staff who work there have always treated my children as if they were part of the family. I never discerned any difference in the care and attention given to my children, the other children there, and the staff's children. All who stayed a while thrived. I have experience with Olympia School District and do not recommend it so well. If you can make an investment in your children, send them to Capital Montessori.

Capital Montessori School 1

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
The family that runs this business is eerie. It may appear cool, calm and collected on the surface, but it was almost too calm - and there was always an unsettling, out of sorts feeling I couldn't shake, that things were not as they appeared on the surface. One day I witnessed a mental breakdown of sorts that greatly concerned me, and definitely did not want my child exposed to. I did not feel comfortable leaving my child at that point, and when the staff person realized I was behind her, she immediately put on a happy face. I asked if I could help, but everyone acted like they had no clue why I'd offer such a thing. Not too long later another staff person quit, one of the gals we REALLY enjoyed! I was told by another parent staff turnover is constant. We decided we would no longer continue at this school, and are currently on the wait list for the new public Montessori option through the Olympia School District, serving preschool through 6th grade, with a beautiful new campus opening in early 2015. We've talked to lots of people everyone says it's definitely worth the wait.


Capital Montessori School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
My son attended CMS for 3 years and he had a wonderful experience. He loved going to school and we found all his teachers to be loving and supportive. My son was/is a busy kid and the structure of the program was so helpful for him. When he left CMS for kindergarten, he was reading and tested well above the kindergarten level academically. We attribute his academic success, in part, to CMS and their wonderful learning environment. I would highly recommend the preschool program!

Capital Montessori School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Horrible, HORRIBLE! Teachers are either young and inexperienced, or old and tired with no enthusiasm, fresh ideas... or just a smile would be nice. They are rigid and very unwelcoming. They have high staff turnover, which says something - if the staff isn't happy, well, that definitely carries over to the children. And why isn't the staff happy??? They won't let you step foot into the classroom to confirm what you're sensing. It's a bizarre place. Our child did okay during the time we were enrolled but we weren't ok with our overall experience. Won't be sending any more of our children and will be warning others against this school. So sad that this is the only Montessori preschool for 3 year olds in our community - love Montessori but this school doesn't do justice to the philosophies.

Capital Montessori School 1

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
So glad that's over. We endured the year, but it makes me sad knowing that it was so much less than our hopes and dreams. Our previous experience at a Montessori school was so very different. At this stage, we were looking for that warm, home-like environment that would be like an extension of our family - we had that at our previous school - this was more of an institution. We greatly miss the strong sense of community we had. Parents could volunteer in the classroom, and we really go to know each other and the children and teachers. Here there was a disconnect with staff and admin - communication was poor, with no opportunity for open feedback and I often felt ill at ease talking with them, especially when voicing concerns. The teachers are tired, lacking the spirit and energy that captures and cultivates the child's heart and mind, instead it seems like they're just going through the motions. Eventually our child lacked the enthusiasm for going to school, which is sad for this age when school should be fun. Montessori is wonderful, this school not so much.


Capital Montessori School 1

Posted February 20, 2013
- a community member
Not impressed. Cold, sterile environment. Did not sense any peace or joy. Felt that the school was unbalanced in meeting the needs of the whole child.

Capital Montessori School 1

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
Our child didn t having a positive, bonding experience with her teacher. She hated going to school, complaining about things we initially brushed off as the settling period. I came a few times when teachers were hustling kids out for recess and had that gut sinking feeling based on how children were treated. I started paying close attention and talking more to my child about her day. I asked the staff questions. I visited with parents. I became increasingly concerned. The overall tone of the school was off - either too quiet in an eery, unnatural way for a building full of that many young, joyful children - or an authoritarian tone with lots of harsh commands directed at the children in a firing squad fashion. We ve thankfully moved on. Just because you pay top dollar for a school that has Montessori in its name doesn t always mean that it s Montessori in spirit. So glad to be in a peaceful, joyful program where learning is fun! Our daughter is happy, learning in leaps and bounds and finally loving school! Parents - listen to your instincts, don t disregard your child s responses to school, and be involved! If you re not allowed in the classroom, that alone is a HUGE red flag!

Capital Montessori School 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
I have had my son in this school for three years and I could not be happier. The teachers are top notch; the administration will work with parents and my son is 5 and a half and ready for grade 2. When my second child is ready I will return to this school. If you are an involved and caring parent who wants the best behavioral and social skills and the best education for your child- this is the school for you! You will find that most parents that send their kids to this school are involved, highly educated and care about every aspect of their child s life.


Capital Montessori School 1

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
This school is horrible. Part of the Montessori method is to have a warm inviting classroom. They don't even allow art on the walls, because "It makes the classroom look messy and cluttered." If you notice there are no clocks in the classrooms, so they'll be no distractions. Its also very obvious which kids/families are the favorites around there. CMS is a money hungry establishment. My family is worth more than dollar bills.

Capital Montessori School 5

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school for two years and it is more than a school...it's another leg of our family. The teachers care for your child as if they were their own. Due to her age I am faced with no other choice but to move her to public school next year and I am so anxious that she will have to leave this school behind. There is not a better school in the Olympia area!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capital Montessori School
730 Lilly Road Southeast, Olympia, WA  98501
(360) 438-3639
Last modified Capital Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Capital Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top