Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Junior Junction Day School 2

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I toured the school and it looked very clean, a nice outside play area, a secure entrance, and I loved the classroom. We very quickly regretted our decision to enroll. The major problem was his teacher. Mrs. Marx. The first issue I had was after his very first day, my son told me that the class did not go outside because "kids in the class were naughty". I thought I was possibly overreacting so we took him back for the next class. I noticed the teacher was rarely smiling, my son couldn't tell me what he learned about, &the work he brought home was too easy. What happened when we came to pick my son up his last day at JJDS was really the last straw. We saw the kids go out for a 3-4 min recess. When we went in the classroom all the kids were sitting on the rug, the little boy next to my son kept kicking him. The teacher saw, but said nothing. My son asked the boy to stop, when he wouldn't stop, my son moved. Then there was another child sitting next to a bucket of toys. The child reached in and grabbed a toy. Mrs. M silently grabbed his arm, forced the toy out of his hand, & threw it back in the bucket. We left our letter with the desk that we were not coming back and never did.

Junior Junction Day School 4

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
My son attends half day preschool and absolutely loves it. Previously he attended a local Montessori School that did not have proper supervision for young children and he every day he cried and did not want to go to the school. Since day 1 at this school he has been so excited to go and comes home with proof of a great day including learning how to write his name, recognizing letters and numbers, and art projects. I feel confident in his safety at this school and that he is enjoying himself. My only wish is that they would have PreSchool and PreK classes that are either longer in hours and/or more days per week. I would love to see a class 3 days a week from 9-1.


Junior Junction Day School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
Junior Junction far exceeds other schools in the area. It costs more, but it's worth every penny. The administration is great, the teachers are top-notch and so caring and the facility is thoughtfully setup. I can't imagine anyone having a bad experience here. I have several friends in the school system, who teach at the elementary school level...they always tell me how advanced kids from JJDS are. It's truly an investment in your child's education. BUT, they work on so many other things to make to students such well-rounded individuals. I am thankful for this program and the staff who make it so wonderful for my kids.

Junior Junction Day School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Be careful with this utopia. Both my kids went to this school and it was not a positive experience. Most of the staff is solid but the owners are challenging and provide a lot of false promises. Most of the items in the classrooms are purchased by the individual teachers because of "lack of funds". I wanted to like it but the reality is that there are many better options for children then Junior Junction.

Junior Junction Day School 5

Posted March 18, 2012
- a teacher
Jr. Junction Day School is just that, it's a school. Yes it has Preschool programs but it also has child care for the working parents all through the day. I'm impressed with the layout of the school. Every classroom has it's own door clearly marked with a room number. Jr. Junction Day School's expectations of the class curriculum is defined by the teacher and displayed on their hallway teacher boards. I enjoy hearing children's laughter throughout the halls. And you gotta check out their "backyard" playground, so much grassy areas and their children's garden.... What fun!


Junior Junction Day School 4

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter joined a year ago. This school came highly recommended to me by a close friend who has her children in the Auburn location. I toured all daycare facilities in Maple Valley, and have found the staff, facilities, and interaction to be very positive. My daughter came quite shy and she has blossomed. She often replays her day when she gets home and has never said a negative thing when I ask. She has loved both teachers she's had. The owner has always been friendly, enthusiastic. The staff interaction has always been positive and have responded immediately to any inquiries I've had. I would say parent involvement is average. She has improved in her writing with the new year quite fast. She loves the circle time and counting straw game.

Junior Junction Day School 1

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
I wanted my son in a new and clean daycare in the Maple Valley Area and found Jr Junction. the owner made promises that she never kept and had no understanding on what a 4 year old child requires. If they are not in her perfect box, then out that child goes. We were asked to leave because her 'Highly Trained Teaching Staff ' didnt know how to handle a normal 4 year old behavior, not out of control, just normal. RUN....do walk away from this place!

Junior Junction Day School 2

Posted July 10, 2009
- a parent
I have heard great things about this school, but once I had my baby and 4 year in for a year, I found out otherwise. They started having teacher turnover issues. They made promises they didnt' keep. Owners are very impersonable. They started cutting back on kids snacks and lunches. I pulled my kids out and don't plan on ever going back.


Junior Junction Day School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended Junior Junction for two years and has learned so much. His skill level is far beyond that of what I expected for his age group. In addition, the versatility and learning environment is contrbuting to his citizenship. His behavior as well as acceptance of others has truly made me proud. The staff at Junior Junction has become an extension of our family and I am excited for my other child to attend.

Junior Junction Day School 0
no rating

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
This is a very clean and organized school. The teachers relate well to the children. They do a good job with transitions and incorporating song into learning. However, this school has a heavy academic focus that includes extensive 'table time' and worksheets. The preschool (3-4yrs) does a lot of letter tracing and the art is usually predetermined for the kids. It seems to lack more student-lead activities and there is not a lot of outdoor time. They seem to push a kindergarten curriculum a little too early and I'm not seeing the social/physical activities that kids learn naturally through play. It is also very expensive and like a public school, they request that you purchase $25 worth of school supplies for your child upon starting.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Junior Junction Day School
23928 Southeast 276th Street, Maple Valley, WA  98038
(425) 432-6340
Last modified Junior Junction Day School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Junior Junction Day School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top