Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 1

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Stay away from this school. They are money minded. They charge exorbitant fees and still don't help or support children adequately. They expect you to act and do what they say and if not they constantly complain about your child's performance and behavior. I would not recommend this school at all.

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 5

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
Our son attended Cedar Crest Kirkland campus from preschool to kindergarten at which point we decided to stay with Cedar Crest through their phenomenal elementary program at Bellwood campus. I can't say enough how wonderful the school is; the teachers all of which have advance degrees display so much passion for growing our children to be critical thinkers, academically outstanding performers and well rounded world citizen; the director and all of the staff know each kiddo by name and their parents; tuition which covers all of the needs - books, lunches, tours, etc - you pay once and you are done... Our class was tested in 2nd grade through ITBS and landed 98% in the country without "sweat"...after so many years I still don't know how this happens, all of the kids are very bright yet they are still kids; though we do have homework, kids are not "swimming in the homework", they are taught responsibility and allowed to have time and freedom to simply be kids. Parents are informed with weekly and if needed daily emails on the progress of the class, key learnings, events, etc. Technology and class equipment is the latest; art, science labs, PE, music, drama all are superb.


Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 1

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
My kids attended this school. Management is rude and all they care about is the tuition and not what is important for the kids. They don't care one bit about what each kid needs. High turnover for staff as well. They pay less and don't take any feedback from staff or parents. You pay the big bucks and do exactly what they want. No voices heard. you just do what they say!!! regret the decision to send my kids here. Management is unethical and don't value anything other than the check.

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
Our son attended pre-k at CCA - Bellevue and we have nothing but fantastic things to say about the school, management and teachers. In less than a year , we have seen phenomenal growth in our son's ability to read and write. His overall progression from a shy/quiet kid to a confident/outgoing one was a delight. If you are looking for an academically oriented school in a fun/nurturing environment , this is a great choice. Overall we STRONGLY recommend CCA - Bellevue.

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a community member
Anyone who knows anything about early childhood education knows that in a preschool environment, sitting at a table doing "paperwork" is detrimental to a child's acquisition of language and literacy skills. Furthermore, children being pushed to learn above their level of comprehension can be demotivated and left behind. The building blocks are established for a reason. I'm not sure Cedar Crest has any awareness of the value of education more than the substantial paychecks the owners earn as a result of the minimal staff pay. Cedar Crest built their model on the "paperwork" they use to teach their students and starting children off at "higher levels" for advanced academic achievement. If you choose to admit your child to this institution, be sure there may be repercussions.


Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a teacher
I am impressed with the resources of the school and the child-centered approach they offer. The staff are professional and dedicated without complaints about not having material. The expansion of the school to upper level grades and away from the "sweet spot" of being a pre-school only was driven by parents that sought the continuation of a wonderful education for their kids. As with any expansion of an business/school/operation/organization you can imagine the difficulty. As of now the Bellevue (Bellewood Campus) is the newest branch in the campus locations and has thus far has made the transition in a very positive manner. The staff in my sons class have a positive attitude and he is growing dramatically. The parent community that I encounter are encouraging and supportive. The physical building is beyond impressive and in the upper grades the access of Smartboard/Promethean boards as a teaching tool is really noteworthy. I am happy with the value for money my child is receiving!

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
I am a CCA parent and this is my 4th year with the school. The first three years were at the Bellevue campus and this year was at the Redmond campus. I have good things to say about the school. At the pre-school level, my daughter has had awesome teachers. At the Pre-K level, the teacher was good, but we came her across as cold. She wasn t exactly a people person when it came to communication. My daughter is now in Kindergarten, and her teacher is nothing short of FANTASTIC. We decided to continue her in 1st grade next year. The staff and the management are fantastic. Any time I have had an issue, I have approached the management, and they made sure they addressed it. They are very pleasant and nice people, and that is including the director of the Redmond campus. I do not believe the review that says that the curriculum is falsely advertised. The school uses Bridges and Singapore math (Math) and Imagine It and handwriting worksheets for reading/writing. Some of the reviews are disturbing. I feel bad that those parents have had bad experiences. Not sure what happened.

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 2

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
Management is rude and doesn't care about anything but money. Redmond campus is worst with the director there.


Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 3

Posted June 24, 2012
- a parent
My eldest child has attended Cedar Crest Academy, Kirkland campus for two years now. We loved all four teachers that my child has had. I was really excited to continue at Cedar Crest; they are opening an elementary school. That was until I heard of the high teacher turn over rate at all three of their campuses this year! Of theses teachers, it includes my child's teacher from this year who we were really looking forward to have as a teacher for our youngest child next year. Also, I am not sure of either of my child's Kindergarten teachers for next year (this is the end of June!) Management changed this year; making it feel a little cold and not as warm as it did the first year my child was there. Kindergarten will be my child's last year at Cedar Crest. We will also be able to find better technology at public schools in the area. My wife and I really love the teachers at the school and that's why my child will be there for Kindergarten. We are really upset and concerned about the turn over rate, it is a huge red flag.

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus 3

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
First of all, I will say that this school is overhyped. A lot of the people who say it is "multicultural" miss the fact that it is at least 70% Asian, 20% Indian, and probably 10% other cultures - in my dictionary, that is NOT mutlicultural at all. Because of this and the focus on academic excellence in these cultures (no offense to other cultures, I am Indian myself), it is academic, and tends to cater to the kids who probably are having remedial academic lessons at home anyway, so needs for 1-1 attention for my daughter were not met. I needed to spend at least an hour evey day "catching" her up because her teachers used to complain she was not paying attention, and therefore could not understand lessons. If I am paying close to $1400 in tuition a month, my understanding is that is precisely why I am paying extra to get the additional expertise to cater to a child who does not fit the mould of a compliant kid with extra academic lessons at home, so that I pay to subsidize smaller classrooms and hopefully better trained teachers who know how to customize learning methods to all sorts of kids. Bottomline - if your kid is easy, it's a good fit. If not, look elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus
308 118th Avenue Southeast, Bellevue, WA  98005
(425) 455-1211
Last modified Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top