Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Crest Academy - Bellevue Campus

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bellevue

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $407,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2014

Our son attended pre-k at CCA - Bellevue and we have nothing but fantastic things to say about the school, management and teachers. In less than a year , we have seen phenomenal growth in our son's ability to read and write. His overall progression from a shy/quiet kid to a confident/outgoing one was a delight. If you are looking for an academically oriented school in a fun/nurturing environment , this is a great choice. Overall we STRONGLY recommend CCA - Bellevue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Anyone who knows anything about early childhood education knows that in a preschool environment, sitting at a table doing "paperwork" is detrimental to a child's acquisition of language and literacy skills. Furthermore, children being pushed to learn above their level of comprehension can be demotivated and left behind. The building blocks are established for a reason. I'm not sure Cedar Crest has any awareness of the value of education more than the substantial paychecks the owners earn as a result of the minimal staff pay. Cedar Crest built their model on the "paperwork" they use to teach their students and starting children off at "higher levels" for advanced academic achievement. If you choose to admit your child to this institution, be sure there may be repercussions.


Posted November 8, 2013

I am impressed with the resources of the school and the child-centered approach they offer. The staff are professional and dedicated without complaints about not having material. The expansion of the school to upper level grades and away from the "sweet spot" of being a pre-school only was driven by parents that sought the continuation of a wonderful education for their kids. As with any expansion of an business/school/operation/organization you can imagine the difficulty. As of now the Bellevue (Bellewood Campus) is the newest branch in the campus locations and has thus far has made the transition in a very positive manner. The staff in my sons class have a positive attitude and he is growing dramatically. The parent community that I encounter are encouraging and supportive. The physical building is beyond impressive and in the upper grades the access of Smartboard/Promethean boards as a teaching tool is really noteworthy. I am happy with the value for money my child is receiving!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2013

I am a CCA parent and this is my 4th year with the school. The first three years were at the Bellevue campus and this year was at the Redmond campus. I have good things to say about the school. At the pre-school level, my daughter has had awesome teachers. At the Pre-K level, the teacher was good, but we came her across as cold. She wasn t exactly a people person when it came to communication. My daughter is now in Kindergarten, and her teacher is nothing short of FANTASTIC. We decided to continue her in 1st grade next year. The staff and the management are fantastic. Any time I have had an issue, I have approached the management, and they made sure they addressed it. They are very pleasant and nice people, and that is including the director of the Redmond campus. I do not believe the review that says that the curriculum is falsely advertised. The school uses Bridges and Singapore math (Math) and Imagine It and handwriting worksheets for reading/writing. Some of the reviews are disturbing. I feel bad that those parents have had bad experiences. Not sure what happened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

Management is rude and doesn't care about anything but money. Redmond campus is worst with the director there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

My eldest child has attended Cedar Crest Academy, Kirkland campus for two years now. We loved all four teachers that my child has had. I was really excited to continue at Cedar Crest; they are opening an elementary school. That was until I heard of the high teacher turn over rate at all three of their campuses this year! Of theses teachers, it includes my child's teacher from this year who we were really looking forward to have as a teacher for our youngest child next year. Also, I am not sure of either of my child's Kindergarten teachers for next year (this is the end of June!) Management changed this year; making it feel a little cold and not as warm as it did the first year my child was there. Kindergarten will be my child's last year at Cedar Crest. We will also be able to find better technology at public schools in the area. My wife and I really love the teachers at the school and that's why my child will be there for Kindergarten. We are really upset and concerned about the turn over rate, it is a huge red flag.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

First of all, I will say that this school is overhyped. A lot of the people who say it is "multicultural" miss the fact that it is at least 70% Asian, 20% Indian, and probably 10% other cultures - in my dictionary, that is NOT mutlicultural at all. Because of this and the focus on academic excellence in these cultures (no offense to other cultures, I am Indian myself), it is academic, and tends to cater to the kids who probably are having remedial academic lessons at home anyway, so needs for 1-1 attention for my daughter were not met. I needed to spend at least an hour evey day "catching" her up because her teachers used to complain she was not paying attention, and therefore could not understand lessons. If I am paying close to $1400 in tuition a month, my understanding is that is precisely why I am paying extra to get the additional expertise to cater to a child who does not fit the mould of a compliant kid with extra academic lessons at home, so that I pay to subsidize smaller classrooms and hopefully better trained teachers who know how to customize learning methods to all sorts of kids. Bottomline - if your kid is easy, it's a good fit. If not, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

My son has been attending Cedar Crest for the past three years. I am continually amazed by the loving nature and quality of the teachers. He has had 6 teachers total, as they team teach in groups of two and each of them seem more amazing then the other. I love the extracurriculars which are a part of the program (music, Dizzy's Tumble Bus, Art, Science, Spanish) and are at no additional cost to me. My son is 5 1/2 he is currently doing kindergarten grade level curriculum (school's curriculum for his class). He loves his teachers, loves his school and more importantly, loves to learn. I can't say enough good things about this school. But they do have a waitlist to get in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

I feel this school like the kids who can make the teachers feel more relax and do not make any trouble. From other reviews, it seems Kirkland campus is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

My daughter goes to the Kirkland campus and she really loves the school. The school focus on academy as well as other activities. The curriculum is well structured. Kids learn new things every day. Parents get the emails from classroom teachers every day (yes, every day). So you know all the things happened at school before picking up your kid. A lot ot social events for kids and parents such as the mother's day, father's day, grandparent's day, Thanksgiving, Valentine's Day, Chinese new year etc. And they are all free with school gifts. All the staffs are really nice and know every kid's name even not in her classroom. The tuition includes the breakfast, snacks and lunch, which are prepared by the school chef and have different items every day. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

My son started here in Early Leaners(2.5yrs) and will continue till K. We love the school with its great mix of academics and extra-curricular activites. Lots of parent involvement, teachers are very involved, great directors looking to build a school community. Cons are the extra holidays that works out to almost 3 weeks a year. Another con is that you pay half your monthly fee in summer if you want to reserve your spot for the next school year. Both these make it very expensive. But all in all-highly recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

I am very impressed with the CCA school that my 3 year old has been going to. Let me start by saying, he used to go to a home day care and spoke no English almost. In less than 8 months, he has started reading books (he understood English and was always into books and always ahead for his age- as a caveat). The teachers and schools make teaching very engaging and fun with experiments, games, projects etc. The school definitely focuses on academia but at the same time, has lots of extra curricular activities such as gym (tumble bus), spanish, music, art, dance class, etc. Kids follow all kinds of holidays and learn all about the traditions, history and do so with little parties in their class rooms with food, which involves parents too (voluntary). For a working parent, the meals provided make my life a lot easier. Would recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

We got on the waiting list for this school when our daughter was 1.5 years old and she started at age 3. We learned about the school from a Microsoft family and were impressed by the tour. CCA is a very multi-cultural school with an incredibly warm, family oriented environment. They are known for being quite advanced academically but do so in a way that our child found invigorating versus demanding. Our daughter will be starting her 3rd year at CCA next year- (Kindergarten) In addition to core academic areas, she has also already been exposed to yoga, music, art, stage performances, public speaking, Spanish and Mandarin. The teachers we've had are top notch. I highly recommend CCA in Bellevue or South Kirkland- get on the waiting list early. We will most definately have our younger child attend CCA as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 71% 7%
White 24% 60%
Two or more races 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 118th Avenue Southeast
Bellevue, WA 98005
Phone: (425) 455-1211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT