Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


BC Crossroads Preschool 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
I love BC Crossroads Preschool and will be attending this school for the third year in a row. This year I will be attending with my second child and he is so excited to go to his big brother's preschool. The sense of independence and creative thinking fostered at this school is what really makes it special. By the end of his second year my first son was able to design and complete his own projects. I was at the preschool the same year that the previous review was written and I have a different perspective than the other reviewer. The child in the review had challenges getting along with other children, adults, and the teachers in the classroom. For a period of time the family was required to have a parent present on the premises in order to help him control himself. I actually thought about leaving the co-op during this period because of the challenges it presented by having this student in the classroom, and I am sure I am not the only one. I am very glad I continued with this school because my son has thrived in this co-op environment since the other student has been gone.

BC Crossroads Preschool 1

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Extremely disappointing! There are many reasons the enrollment is way down and they are desperate to cover up rather than address the fundamental problems. We were very disappointed when we were told by other parents that our son was being bullied by one of the PARENT. When we wanted to address this issue with Gayne we were told the person the person in question wasn't coming back next year (she found a different school she liked better) and we should just let it go and not make an issue). She was very unprofessional and yet leads the parent classes, a bit of an oxymoron. She was accusatory toward the child and parents rather than have a mature dialogue to address and fix the situation. It seems like an attractive school from a tuition standpoint but with this school you absolutely get what you pay for unfortunately. It may be a good school if they stood behind their "philosophy" but unfortunately it doesn't seem they've read it in a number of years.


BC Crossroads Preschool 4

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
We go 3 times a week here - to the mixed class, the pre k class and the enrichment class. I love that there wasn't a waiting list to get in and that the 3-5's get the experience of playing with each other. Because we go 3 times a week, I work 3 days a month. I also have another job around the preschool that can be up to 2 hours a month, and attend a parent ed class for 2 hours. We use the sibling care on site, which means I also take a turn working there once a month or so. My kids love the freedom to chose the activities that suit them best and I love that they get to play outside on the playground nearly everyday. While it looks unstructured, Maura makes a point to work with every child and there is a 20 minute circle time with songs, stories and sharing. Maura works to build independence, social and critical thinking skills in the way disputes are handled and the way kids tackle tasks. I enjoy learning from her while I work. Most of all my children adore her.

BC Crossroads Preschool 5

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
I currently have my third child attending this program. We are enrolled for next fall as well, making it our sixth year at the Crossroads Co-op. I cannot say enough good things about this program. The preschool teacher Maura and the parent educator Gayne are both highly educated, and each have been with the school for over a decade. These women are devoted to the children they work with and they have made a difference in the lives of our family in a lasting way. Crossroads is a great place to participate in your childs early learning education in meaningful way while creating a community for yourself as well. You owe it to yourself and your child to go in a take a look at the facility and meet the teachers and families of Crossroads Co-op.

BC Crossroads Preschool 1

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
Thank you Co-op board members for the previous canned reviews of this school. Now for a real parent review. Lets start, co-ops require parent work, you will be working ALOT. Every week in the class (bring snack, overseeing art room,etc) then to top that you will ALSO have a job that you will also have to do which is more work per month. Not to mention school cleanups that you are asked to attend. PLUS the monthly Parent Ed, the longest required 2-3 hours ever! And at every meeting, a Board member will inform you how to wipe down a snack table, or preach about how they do not allow make-up days for sickness. In the classroom, the parents that are supposed to be watching the kids, are just talking with eachother - the kids are just left to play and ride around in circles on skut bikes. Do yourself and your child a favor, pay a little extra go to another preshool...or go to Overlake co-op down the street that has a waiting list to get in. Submitted by a REAL parent


BC Crossroads Preschool 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
I have had the most incredible experience with this co-op preschool. It was exactly what I was looking for when enrolling my first, who was interested in going to school, but not ready to be left alone completely, He is now a successful Kindergartener, thanks wholey to the teachers and the flexible programming of Crossroads. I now have both my second and third enrolled at Crossroads. The program is working equally as well for my outgoing second child, and this year, the new sibling co-op, allowed my 19 month old to come along as well. I can't say enough great things about the families, the teachers, the parent education and the friendships that both my children and myself have gained from the Crossroads Co-op experience!

BC Crossroads Preschool 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
The child-directed curriculum at Crossroads Co-op has helped my two kids learn to make friends and explore the world around them. My oldest, now in fourth grade, entered Kindergarten ready and eager to learn. My youngest is ready to start 'big kid school' next fall after two years in the Co-op. At preschool, she has created wonderful paintings, cooked snacks, made up great stories with puppets and costumes and made lots of friends. The teachers form great bonds with each child, and the parent ed component is fantastic for those moments when you're not sure what to do!

BC Crossroads Preschool 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
I have had two childen attend the Crossroads Co-op Preschool. I will absolutely be back again next year. A co-op offers the unique opportunity to be a part-time participant in your preschoolers classroom. Parents are always welcome and the school becomes a community. I have seen an amazing boost in confidence in my oldest child who will be off to kindergarten next year. We are reassured that she is fully socially and emotionally ready for 'big kid school'. The children's teachers are both wonderful with the children and have extensive early childhood education backgrounds. The school is also affiliated with Bellevue College which provides a Parent Educator to assist the school. Parents receive a monthly lecture on a child development topic and have the parent educator available as a resource for child behavior and development questions. I love this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

BC Crossroads Preschool
16330 NE 4th St, Bellevue, WA  98008
(425) 696-3703
Last modified BC Crossroads Preschool is a Private school that serves grade PK
BC Crossroads Preschool Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top