Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sunnybrook Day School

Preschool | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

This is a good school / daycare overall. I definitely felt my child was safe here. The rooms are clean, the teachers are friendly, they are organized, and all is professional. I had issues with the price and teaching style of one of the teachers. We have moved to a different classroom due to the first teacher's inability to keep control and discipline over young children. I first hand witnessed children hitting, taking toys from others, yelling, etc. and the teachers were chatting with each other not handling the children. For some parents, this relaxed, "let children be children" attitude is okay, but not for us. My child was coming home complaining of being hit by others very often. I expect my children to respect others and others to respect them and for adults to enforce this. We moved to another classroom and all was great. I asked my child how his first day was in his new classroom and he said: "It was good, nobody hit me today". So, I feel this school is very overpriced and would definitely choose somewhere else if you do not need full time care. BUT, for full time care, this is a good place. Good curriculum too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Both of my daughters attend Sunnybrook. My 6 year old has been there for 2 years and my 3 year old has been there for about a year and a half. My oldest daughter is in the Kindergarten program there and I LOVE how they strive to exceed VBPS standards. The teachers are great, the administration is great. My 3 year old was going through a very rough spot and having issues in class (tantrums, fits etc) and had to be sent home multiple times because she couldnt function in class as the other children did. Her teachers and the administrators worked so hard for and with me to get her to a great place. She is now a shining star in her class. I cannot say enough great things about Sunnybrook. Even though they are more expensive than some other schools....I would rather pay more to know that my girls are in the hands of people like them. They arent just our teachers and administrators....to us they are family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

at first glance very good school, with own cook, many playgrounds, licensed. However the high price does not mean high quality. 1 of our 2 teachers (2 teachers build a team) is a total loss - very unfriendly and from our perspective unqualified and too old. She (#2) does not know basic rules politeness and is bad support for teacher #1. We are very disappointed. Teacher #1 is overextended because of poor support from teacher #2 which impacts on overall child care. We witnessed teacher #1 playing with smartphone several times during class, not observing kids. Center of gravity is definitely licensing, but not with providing a warm and friendly environment for the kids. Did see the principal several times already with little success. Our neighbor #1 is also discontent with school, neighbor #2 has better luck with the teachers. There are very good teachers at this school, but we are less fortunate with our team. We definitely cannot recommend this facility. High price, poor service, and much room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

The early year are critical in a childs development and the preschool you choose is one of the most important decisions you will make for your child. Sunnybrook is the absolute best preschool in Virginia Beach, your child will blossom under the experienced guidance of the loving teachers and staff. You will be very happy you chose Sunnybrook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

As soon as I took my first tour of Sunnybrook I loved it, and I haven't been disapointed in the least. My daughter loves going to school. Her teacher Mrs. Campo is amazing, I don't know how she manages to balance order with fun so well. She really seems to love children. Sunnybrook uses the 'Creative Curriculum' and the children love learning in a low pressure, fun environment. Sunnybrook understands how young children learn and develop best. Sunnybrook is NAEYC accredited, NAEYC is the most respected and recognized association for early childhood education and only the best preschools are NAEYC accredited. By the way I am also an early childhood education major so I have a better insight into what makes a good preschool than the average parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

Excellent experiences; they often have speakers from SPCA, zoo, library, etc. and great field trips to local farms, theatre too. Caring staff. My son is finishing his third year there, and his kindergarten reading is terrific because of the small classes and attention he gets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I used to work at Sunnybrook... It was my Disneyworld, my happiest place on earth! I really enjoyed working there. However, I had to move on. Leaving Sunnybrook really broke my heart. I wish I can find a school like Sunnybrook where we are now, so my husband and I can send our little one to school worry free. I love my Sunnybrook experience... thanks to the people I work with.


Posted March 14, 2008

Absolutely a fantastic school. The teachers are wonderful and care about every child. They not only know the children in their own class but in all of the other class. Teamwork, friendship are equally imortant as the academic comcepts they are teaching. We will continue to send our son through kindergarten, we love Sunnybrook so much, I only wish they went up to grade 5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

Sunnybrook is the best! The teachers, staff and administration have it all! The school has so much to offer, from a tremendous curriculum, loving teachers, safe school environmenet, great field trips.. it is one stop shopping! I was sad when our time there had ended last year. I wish I had another child to send through!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

My son has enjoyed attending Sunnybrook from the first day. Activities are varied throughout the day to hold the child's interest. Music and art projects teach little ones while they have fun. Recess is held in a fenced in, safe play area where children are free to be themselves. Snacks are provided each day, as well as breakfast and lunch for those arriving for a full day at Sunnybrook. Parents can rest assured that their child will be safe throughout the day, as the front door can only be opened with a security code, thus preventing unauthorized people from being on campus. Children are escorted to their parents' vehicle by staff members each day to ensure that the safety policy is followed. Sunnybrook is located in a low crime neighborhood in Virginia Beach. My wife and I are very happy with Sunnybrook and recommend this school for all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3380 Edinburgh Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
Phone: (757) 340-2266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT