Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Virginia Beach, VA
Students enrolled: 135
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Hi, my name is Rita Strijker and I am the Franchise Owner of the Primrose School of Virginia Beach South. I want to respond directly to the posted on October 28th by the parent of a former student, and to another one posted on Nov. 18 by the grandparent. We take reviews like these very seriously, but also want to clarify the situation. Our school's highest priority is always the health, safety and well-being of all the children entrusted to our care. I recall this instance and regret that the parent decided to dis-enroll her son. The Director had addressed her son's continuous and extreme biting in the past months and decided to send him home for breaking skin two weeks before dis-enrollment. Following this, the parent and grandparent requested a meeting with the owners, citing a communication issue with the Director. We addressed both issues in the conversation. We highly respect the privacy of our parents and students and do not discuss any specific details regarding incidents on social media. Our parents place an incredible amount of trust in us every day, and our goal is always to partner with parents to provide the best possible learning experience for the children in our care. We have an open-door policy and I encourage anyone reading these reviews to please come talk to me and visit our school to see firsthand how we keep the children safe, happy and learning in order to provide them with the right foundation for success in learning and life. My email is rstrijker@primrosevirgin , if you would like to contact me, or please feel free to call the school at 757-721-2200. Read less
November 26, 2014

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! My 4 year old son has been there for a year now. He is thriving! His Pre-K teacher is AMAZING!!! She really tries to find what works for each individual child. I would definitely recommend this school.

Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Stay as far away from this school as you can! Not a safe or secure location for your kids. Teachers are set-up to fail and unable to properly look after the children.
2 people found this helpful


Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a teacher
As a former teacher at Primrose I know first hand they do not set up the teachers to fail. I have observed the teachers and they are always interacting with each child. What I loved about teaching at Primrose was the curriculum. It really made me excited to teach the children everyday. I felt Primrose was a very loving environment. The owners and director made me feel appreciated. I can't wait for the day when I can enroll my own child in their preschool program.
2 people found this helpful

Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
We are very pleased with the Primrose School of Virginia Beach. My son has never been in a school before, so this is his ( and our) first experience. He loves his teachers, the daily activities, and his friends in the class. I have seen him grow from a little bit of a shy boy into a more social person. The Director and owners were very receptive to our hesitation about putting him in a school and have worked with us to make him feel comfortable in a classroom setting. The building is clean, the rooms are spacious and they teach the kids some manner too!
2 people found this helpful

Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
I was beyond shocked at how the owners responded to me. From an outward glance they always seemed nice and kind, but I was very wrong about them. I thought meeting with them would help to make things better but I immediately pulled my son from the school as they are horrible people, worse than the director. I know they will try to make excuses for why this post is on the internet and twist the story but anyone is welcome to contact me at any time day or night. There is far more to tell then what I was able to put down in words. I pray that no other parents have to go through what I did.
2 people found this helpful


Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
My child loves attending primrose school. His teacher greats him every morning with a smile and always has an activity ready for him to explore. Today when I picked him up she made a comment about our plans for the evening which I knew my son must have shared with her. This left a warm feeling in my heart knowing not only does she teach him but she also shows interest in all the children do.
2 people found this helpful

Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a teacher
This Primrose school is amazing! The management really cares about their students and staff! They go above and beyond each day to make this school a success! The staff is warm and welcoming, and you really look forward to coming to work! The children come first, and we are all about helping to mold and make a positive, loving difference in their lives! That difference will enable your child to have a soaring future with infinite possibilities! Come check us out! You'll be pleased that you did! :)
2 people found this helpful

Primrose School of Virginia Beach South 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a teacher
Expensive day care with a flashy "curriculum" if u look at the schedule they do the same things 2xs a day and 4 xs a week. The director doesn't know anything about running a "school" and the owners have no idea what there doing ! Do your research on who is in charge before buying in to there fancy curriculum and building
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Primrose School of Virginia Beach South
1989 Fisher Arch, Virginia Beach, VA  23456
(757) 721-2200
Last modified Primrose School of Virginia Beach South is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Primrose School of Virginia Beach South Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top