Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mothers Day Out Pre-School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Love this school! The kids are truly loved here, and they come out ready for first grade like my son and daugher were....

Mothers Day Out Pre-School 3

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
Your experience will truly depend on the teacher(s). I've been exceptionally happy 3 out of 4 years, and exceptionally unhappy with 1 year. The school has some really wonderful teachers, and some who are unsatisfactory. The classrooms are small, and the school area of the church is in dire need of updating.


Mothers Day Out Pre-School 5

Posted January 20, 2012
- a parent
I have put two kids through this school and have one more currently attending. All three of my kids have loved the school and the two that have stayed through kindergarten were more than prepared for 1st grade. I would fully recommend this school. There is a great mix of academics, and play time.

Mothers Day Out Pre-School 2

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
I have mixed reviews about this school and the teachers. I agree with the other parents that the director is not at all an inspirational element of the school. It all starts with the top and trickles to the bottom. I have had mixed reactions about the teachers. There are some good teachers but this year, the teachers my kids have are very incompetent. Just for example, when I asked the teachers to challenge my kid, they posted a note on the board saying do not teach kids ahead of the class. The kids are young and hyper and they need to be challenged and there are various ways and methods to do that. Not all kids are same; they all have their areas of strength. Maybe I am expecting too much but the job of the teacher is to understand the potential and exploit it. Another thing I found out is that the teachers have no general knowledge (knowledge outside the box) so everything they teach is within the box. I have the same feeling about the director. My recommendation is to take your kid to a public school because they way if you are disappointed, you are at least happy not paying for it.

Mothers Day Out Pre-School 4

Posted July 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in the 3 yr old class and loves her teachers. I love that they actually teach here and its a school not just a daycare. My daughter has grown academically so much in one year. The director is wonderful, she is so good with the children you can tell she really loves and cares about them.Will be returning next year. The only thing I wish is that they had extended care till 5;30 or 6pm so I dont have to pick her up take her to a sitter then go back to work. Since she gets such great care and academics its worth the hassel and I dont worry about her safety I drop her off in her room and pick her up in her room.


Mothers Day Out Pre-School 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
I have never been more disappointed in a school...There is too much focus on worksheets & writing even if the children are not ready, my 4 year old had a accident and missed lunch because he could not change himself 40 minutes later. The doors to the school are never locked...There is a closed door policy and you are not welcomed without an appointment. Parent involvment is not welcomed. This school comes acroos and being more of a bootcamp.

Mothers Day Out Pre-School 0
no rating

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
I spent 2 years there and feel it was a waste. By comparison to some of the other preschools it is economical but in this case you get what you pay for. The director is rude and not helpful. The teachers were nice but the classrooms were way overcrowded and I think they did the best they could. I consider this pre-school to be more like a day care. T

Mothers Day Out Pre-School 2

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in the low 3 class at this school and I'm extremely disappointed. The teachers seem to be more concerned with chatting among themselves to even say hello when the child comes into the classroom. Today the teacher even tripped over me but did not acknowledge us other than to say excuse me. While I can't say completely that the school is awful I can certainly express disappointment with the teachers of her class. We are on the waiting list elsewhere and can't wait to leave. I would pull her out today but she wants to be around her friends. I would not recommend this school to anyone. It is just a glorified babysitter.


Mothers Day Out Pre-School 2

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
I was very disappointed in school. The director was very rude to say the least, the office staff was very unorganized and there are no safety standards that keep the children safe. I was told when my daughter started that only one door in and out that remained unlocked, this was completely false. I counted at least 5 that anyone could just walk into. The teachers were very nice, but appear to be overwhelmed. I think they try very hard to do a good job with the kids, but lack the resources or support to a great job. I would never recommend this program. My daughter spent one year there and I feel it was a year wasted.

Mothers Day Out Pre-School 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
The MDO Preschool and Kindergarten is an excellent school. I highly recommend it. The teachers here are wonderful; they love children and it shows. I am a public school teacher and my children have grown leaps and bounds academically and emotionally thanks to the tireless efforts of the ladies who teach here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mothers Day Out Pre-School
1072 Old Kempsville Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23464
(757) 495-6531
Last modified Mothers Day Out Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Mothers Day Out Pre-School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top