Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Courthouse Academy

Preschool | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 16 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

Would not recommend this school at all! My child went there for Pre-K and K. We loved it for Pre-K but during her kindergarten year, they increased prices in the MIDDLE of the year, they removed all the enrichment classes (such as art, dance, gymnastics), her kindergarten teacher i was not happy with most of the time, they send soo much homework out but do not do any of it during afterschool care. The new "board of directors" do not have the children's best interest in mind. After talking to most of the parents in my daugther's class, and in other classes, we all feel the same and will be sending our children to another school. Courthouse is NOT worth the money they charge for tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Courthouse Academy is going downhill fast, especially with the new director. The front office staff is very rude and unprofessional. The new "board of directors" is a complete joke! This school has turned into nothing more than a money making business. The class sizes are ridiculous too, but they do have some amazing teachers! I loved my childs teacher for the two years we were there.. They need all new front office staff or I see this school losing a lot of enrollment in the very near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Horrible! 16 children in the 2 year old room, teachers can't keep track of student lunches and snacks and can't determine where the mixup happened and which kid got the others food, teacher taking pic of children on PERSONAL cell phones! No care or action taken on the part of "administration". They increased rates and established a "board of directors" to make it look like someone cares but it's still the same owners and same junk service. I wouldn't send my dog here.


Posted September 10, 2013

My child has been attending Courthouse Academy for two years now. She has been enrolled in the Spanish Immersion classes and I am in awe! She is not only excelling in her regular subjects, but she has learned so much Spanish too! When I try to say words in Spanish she tells me,"Mommy, that's not how you say it". I am so pleased that Courthouse is now offering a Spanish Immersion first grade; I know where my daughter will be next year! Couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

My daughter and I had the opportunity to have our one year old spend the day at the school. It was the very first time we had ever left him. While we were both in tears when we left our hearts were lifted when we returned to see him having the time of his life. The teachers were incredible and so loving. We had a detailed account of his day and it sounded like he had a great time. Miss Julie and Miss Vicky couldn't have been nicer to us. We were treated so kindly by everyone. I was amazed at the cleanliness of the school and especially the rooms in which my grandson was staying in. Many thanks for the love and caring you showed to us and to our baby.


Posted September 18, 2012

For 4 years we have sent 2 children and will be sending our 3rd preschooler soon. we have had wonderful experiences and are very pleased with the level of excellence in teachers and their programs. great job Courthouse Academy! the larger sized school/programs is exciting to be a part of for our 3rd child. LOVE the parent night outs for our 3 sweeties!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

Don't be fooled by all of the recent positive reviews (also note they are right around the same dates). This WAS a great school until this past 2011/2012 school year. I had two children there and were quite unhappy with the class sizes (22 kids in one class and almost 20 kids in another). The construction that went on during school was a huge safety issue for the kids while they were there. Constant emails and corrections of emails by administration were quite frequent and quite frustrating after a while. Not what I would expect from a "professional" organization. Money is the primary concern of the administration and not the children. Sad because it used to be a great school. I can quickly name 15+ families not returning next year for a lot of the same reasons. Please ask people who have gone there or go there their opinion- don't solely base your choice on the reviews.....anyone can write these glowing reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Growing at a great rate!!! My little one has grown into such a smart happy little person since starting school at Courthouse Preschool. I was looking at some of these negative reviews and I have to say it is a shame that some people get a 'mission' of negativity in their minds and ignore all of the positive experience they have had. We, as a family have had great communication, and understanding and my child is moving forward in her learning and social skills by HUGE strides. We have had an issue here and there,as with any relationship, but it has always been addressed quickly, and in a kind, compassionate manner by the owner, director and the teachers, and to everyone's satisfaction. I recommend this environment for anyone looking for a well balanced, happy place for their child, and would enroll my kid again if I had to do it all over again. That is the best accolade I can give:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Great program and Great teachers! All of my children have gone here and Love it! Awesome Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

We love this preschool! We have searched all over the Hampton Roads area for a reasonably priced yet well rounded program for our children. I can send my children to any daycare but I really feel like our kids are being prepared for Kindergarten but also having fun! Thanks Ladies for doing an Excellent job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

We have been attending Courthouse for many years now. My daughter has started in the two year old room and is now in Pre-K. She has grown by leaps and bounds in the prek class, it was a great year, so much so that I am putting her in the kindergarten program in the fall. I love the idea that she is in a safe and nurturing environment where she is able to learn and have fun at the same time! Whenever I have a question or a concern I am able to go to the office and have them answered. Never have I felt that I am just a parent at the school, instead I feel like a big family, that is eager to help anyone out- they even have nap mats that I was able to buy from the school store! I love the nap mats, my daughter takes them on trips with us, uses it at school and brings it camping. I wish they sold one in my size. I would and have recommended this school to many families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

We've been extremely pleased with the quality of the teachers and the school and are so happy we chose Courthouse Academy as our "first" school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

Courthouse Academy is our second family. When my son turned two in 2007, I researched many schools. When i walked into Courthouse Academy I had no doubt this was the school for us. I love this school, is truely a preschool, from the way it is set up to the teachers. I didnt want a daycare for my son, I wanted a school and that is what i got. We stayed with courthouse all the way through kindergarden which was the best years of our lives. My son now tells me he misses courthouse. This year I enrolled my daughter who is two and she has learned so much its amazing. I feel the staff is always there for me and will work with me on any of my needs or concerns.There are so many good things i can say about this school. The academics and extra activities this school offers, no child won't succeed here. Courthouse Academy has so many originalities to them, they even share their mascot with us. The kids love him and he is so great with them. He sits and greets the families every day. Courthouse Academy is an amazing school when we are there I feel at home and I know and see how much my kids are learning. I know my kids are safe and very loved. I recommend this school to everyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

As an older mother of a two year old, I was afraid of putting my son in school being that he came to work with me every day until he was two. After looking at many schools I came across Courthouse Academy and fell in love. It was a clean, well-kept and very organized school. After choosing Courthouse Academy at the end of his first year ,his two teachers Ms. Kylie and Ms. Joji have made awesome progress with my son. My compliments too you on your wonderful staff, who on a daily basis greet my son everyday by name....who does that!? He looks forward too going too school everyday and petting Scout, the friendly dog. I used too bring my dog too work everyday and my customers loved her! It's a very friendly, loving atmosphere at Courthouse Academy and they make you feel like you are family. I can't wait too watch how my son will progress next year learning Spanish! Next year has many new things too come and I couldn't be happier with my decision here at Courthouse Academy!!!!! Good luck with the construction! Sincerely, The McCarthy's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!! My Daughter loves everything about place. From the director to the teachers to the aides. Everyone is friendly and encouraging and is always happy to see her. I have only had good communication with everyone and feel that each time my little girl leaves the building she is a happier person. I hope anyone considering this school for their pre-schooler realizes what a wonderful environment they provide!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Fantastic programs at this pre-school. I looked at a lot of different schools in the area before making a decision to enroll my child in one. Our main concern was finding an environment with different programs for us to try as well as a good solid curriculum so our child would be more then ready to start school when the time comes. Courthouse Academy fulfills all of those requirements and more. The staff has been open and friendly, the facility is very nice, and is currently being expanded to be even better, and above all I felt like everyone really cared about the kids. I am very happy with our choice and would and have recommended this school to any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

My youngest daughter is completing kindergarten at Courthouse. She started at age 2. My older daughter is now in grade school having completed kindergarten two years ago. The care and education provided by the teachers at Courthouse has been superlative. If the school offered higher grades, I would certainly enroll them instead of public school. To my mind, the school offerers just the right mix of age appropriate education, fun and structure for the children. In my experience, ALL of the teachers and staff have the best interests of the children at heart. The enrichment classes such as Spanish emersion, dance, etc. were outstanding and are a big plus over other local private preschools. The facility is great. It's bright and cheery, and more important, clean! To be honest, I'm hard pressed to find anything wrong with school. I guess the parking is an issue for some, but they are in the process of expanding that now. I cannot recommend this school too highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

This school has a wonderful curriculum, wonderfull staff and programs. I've seached high and low for the right one and now I've finally found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Based on my own preschool experiences, I wish Courthouse was around back then. With my dealings with the staff at this school, I can say I am thoroughly impressed.


Posted May 22, 2012

BEST PRESCHOOL IN VIRGINIA BEACH!!!!!!!!!!!! The teachers and directors are so nice. We are excited about the new infant and toddler center and Spanish Immersion classes coming in Sept. 2012. They even have a school mascot "scout", this is great for children that don't have pets at home. All the children seem to love "Scout". The school offers so many different programs, part time, full day, and extended day, 2 day,3 day and 5 day. You get so many extras included in the tuition. This is a great school for children to learn and feel safe. I have told all my friends about this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (757) 368-0367

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3217 Monet Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23453
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 368-0368

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT