Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Courthouse Academy

Preschool | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 16 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2008

I have found Courthouse Academy beyond my expectations. From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted by helpful and friendly staff. A tour of the school seems to find everyone busy and the teacher to student ratio is perfect. As far as the Director's attitude - I found her very kind and caring and espically patient with my child who immediately wanted to be a part of the classes as we toured the school. Of course I have heard and read bad reviews but it appears the good seem to exceed the bad by a wide majority. Also-a turn over in teachers is to be expected as the teachers are not obligated to stay forever-change is hard but you adjust-ask any military family-I am perfectly happy with my decision-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

As far as I am concerned, this school was not for me. The teachers were great and now they are gone. Too many changes in one year for any child. I am not sure what happened but my guess it wasn't the teachers. Found an even better pre-school down the road. Change well worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

So many things changed at the end of the school year that I didn't feel my child could continue there. Between teachers leaving and the director's attitude I felt it was best to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

I wish Courthouse Academy went through middle school... we'd keep our kids here throughout their entire education. The one-on-one focused attention our children have received is the best in the area and the skills they've learned and friendships they've made are taking them through their elementary years right now. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I have been a teacher at Courthouse Academy for the past 13 years. My son, a 5th grader, and my daugher, a high school senior both attended Courthouse Academy. As a parent and a teacher, I am very happy with the school and the director. I have seen many changes over the years, always in the best interest of the school and the children who attend. Clara Husted
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 28, 2008

Courthouse Academy is a wonderful place for children. The staff is very knowledgable and caring. The academics far exceed what is learned at other preschools. My 9 hear old had a rock solid foundation for elementary school. My two younger children currently attend the school. They absolutely love going to school every day! This will be their second yer at the school. They have learned more than their peers who attend other preschools in the area. This school is well worth visiting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I've seen so many different schools in the VB area and Courthouse Academy exceeds all of them! My daughter is so happy here-- the teachers, who have been at this school for years-- are wonderful and caring. The parents are always welcome here and there are so many opportunities to share in our children's education. We'll be here for a few more years and we have no doubt our daughter is receiving the best preschool education around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

I have two of my children currently enrolled at Courthouse Preschool and I plan to enroll my third as soon as she's old enough to attend. Not only is it a quality educational program with great emphasis on the basics, but it's a wonderful, socially enriching environment. The teacher/student ratio is low, thereby giving my children the one-on-one attention they need and deserve. This is my son's third year and I can't recall a single day where he hasn't had a huge smile on his face going to or coming from school. The teachers are warm to parents, and patient and calm with the kids. Just about every day, the director is in the halls greeting the kids and parents and ready to answer any questions we may have. I trust Courthouse Preschool with our most important investments in life, I can't imagine a better place for them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (757) 368-0367

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3217 Monet Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23453
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 368-0368

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT