Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Courthouse Academy

Preschool | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 16 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2012

My child has gone here for two years. She has grown and blossomed so much but unfortunately the people running the school have turned it into an entirely different school from last year. The first year was wonderful but this past year, the school has done a major turnaround and I've registered my daughter elsewhere next year. While the teachers are some of the best, the administration is awful. The director and her assistant are concerned only with the money and fees they receive and lack any consideration for the children and families. If your child is attending full-day next year, you'll be required to buy a $35 sleeping bag and pay a credit card fee for any payment you make. There is currently construction going on and last week when I entered the school early, the front door was left wide open with not one person standing watch. In fact, she was several rooms down the hall. While I'm sad to go because I've had such a great experience with her teachers, I'm happy to leave the greed behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

I hope anyone checking on this school will read the reviews and look past the number of stars! My son has been attending Courthouse and I just love it! He has been in 2 other centers in the area and we had major problems with them but when I saw that Courthouse Academy started having an extended day program I went and checked them out. Boy am I glad I did! Go see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

My oldest son started at Courthouse when he was 2 1/2. He immediately embraced the academic structure and social atmosphere. He is now 12 and excelling in advanced classes and still enjoys learning. I fully believe this program helped build the foundation for him to succeed in school. I feel that all of the teachers genuinely love working there also and that is why I enrolled my youngest son who is now 3 1/2 this school year and he wakes up everyday (even on the weekends) wanting to go to school to see his teachers and friends. I recommend this school any chance I get. Sarah K
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

As a Pediatrician, I understand the importance of early education and socialization. Our daughter started at Courthouse Academy when she turned 2, about six months ago. She has grown socially and developmentally by leaps and bounds ever since. We have been thrilled with per programs and have been very happy with the staff and teachers. We have absolutely no complaints and I highly recommend this preschool to many of my patients routinely. Dr. Lisa S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

We started with Courthouse Academy when my oldest son, now 15, was ready to enter the 2 year old program. He attended through Kindergarten and was so well prepared for first grade that his teacher said he was "head and shoulders" above her other students. Interestingly enough, that same teacher now sends her own children to Courthouse Academy! When it was time for our second child to go to school, I didn't even consider anywhere else because I knew the quality education he would receive at Courthouse Academy. The teachers are dedicated, caring and nurturing and the director is hands-on, daily. They have a dynamic curriculum and spend time focused on the particular needs of each child, assessing individual developmental levels regularly. Courthouse Academy sets the stage to help children develop positive relationships, work on language skills and grow in an environment which encourages creativity and builds a foundation for life-long learning. We can t wait to enroll our youngest child! Jennie A
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Courthouse Academy is nothing short of wonderful! The first thing that impressed me was how welcomed I felt when I walked in to ask for information on their programs. The staff, including and especially the director make certain that your concerns are addressed and your questions are answered. The curriculum is so well-rounded. The kids get age appropriate lessons in all the basics as well as in music, computers, Spanish, art, and movement. The teachers are patient with the children, taking the time to teach them their academic lessons as well as lessons that will serve them well in life. The teachers treat the children with such warmth and caring that I have no reservations whatsoever when I leave my child for the day. My confidence is further validated when I peek into his class and he and his classmates are participating with great smiles on their faces. Courthouse Academy is a great school for anyone who wants their child to receive a well-rounded education in a warm and encouraging environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

While I think Courthouse Academy is a nice school, I am concerned about the growing class sizes this year. Each of the class has at least 17 children in it, including the 2 and 3 year old rooms. Even with two teachers per classroom, I am concerned that my student isn't recieving the attention that he needs to be successful. Hopefully the school with return to the smaller class sizes next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Courthouse Academy has done an excellent job with our two children. Both have attended for two years. The genuine caring and patience of these teachers is phenomenal. The kids enjoy going to school everyday. I recommend this school to any parent who is researching preschools/Kindergartens. For what we have received, tuition is definitely fair. Their full day Kindergarten program (they also offer half day) can not be beat. My child has been challenged and stimulated each class day. CA teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I am very pleased with Courthouse Academy! My daughter has been attending CH since she was 2 and will attend Kindergarten there this Fall. My son will begin attending CH this Fall as well. The teachers are all warm, friendly and experienced - and my daughter has soared! She loves going to school. The teachers own children and grandchildren attend school here as well which seems to add to the warm family atmosphere. The director and assistant always have the children's best interest at heart. My only wish is that CH offered up to grade 6!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

My daughter has been attending Courthouse Academy now for two years,and will be entering pre-k after summer.I love this school,and feel completely at ease in leaving my only child there every day knowing she is well cared for and in a safe and clean environment and learning in a fun,and positive manner in a progressively structured program.My daughter loves her teachers,and friends and has now just asked to go five days,which she has been doing for a few months.I have found all the teachers I have spoken to be very approachable and the principal and Miss Kitty are always on hand just to say hi or address any questions.I have and will continue to recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Both of my daughters attended this school for 4+ years each. I was, and continue to be, impressed with the quality of the staff, curriculum and facilities. My girls were able to attend extra activities that they liked (eg. dance) which made the school experience even mor enjoyable for them. The staff truly cares for the children and make them feel safe and loved. Compared to the cost of other private and church schools we looked at, Courthouse Academy was a bargin and well worth our money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

Both of ours sons attend this school, my oldest since he was 2 and is currently in the full day Kindergarten. We love the school, teachers and the director!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

My children and I love this school. The teachers are so caring and are very willing to work with my special needs child. I am amazed at what my kids have learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

Both of my daughters just love Courthouse Academy! For the past two years they have enjoyed wonderful teachers and a safe, loving environment in which to learn and grow. My youngest was so shy when she first came and now she is really coming out of her shell and learning so much. My oldest, in Pre-K now just lights up telling me all of the days events. I can't believe the things she is learning at age 4. She can count to 100! I can't say enough about the director and staff for how well things are run. I would recommend this school to anyone. What a wonderful place for young children to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

My daughter loves the school and I think she has the best pre-school teacher ever. I like that they do a lot of artwork and activities. Last year I would've rated the school a five star but this year there seems to be an odd transitioning going on...might be connected to the down-turn in the economy?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

My daughter started at Courthouse Academy in the 2yr class and stayed until after Kindergarten. My son started there last year in the 2yr old class and I also plan to keep him there through Kindergarten. The individual attention each and every child receives on a day to day basis is amazing. My kids leave there happy everyday and that makes all the difference in the world as a mother. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I have a 3 year old daughter who has been attending Courthouse Academy since summer 2009. I have nothing but good things to say about this preschool. I had 3 criteria while looking for a preschool for my daughter. Clean place, good hygiene practice at school, Academics and Friendly staff. And Courthouse Academy has all three plus more to offer. The director is always on site, and very involved (with children, parents and staff). She is always approachable. All the staff members are very friendly. The class size is great and student teacher ratio is well maintained. They have a very detailed daily schedule, which I like the most. Calenders are handed out each month, with details about what would be covered on a particular day. This way I know what is my daughter learning everyday. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My child has been attending Courthouse for almost two years now, and I have nothing but positive things to say about the teachers, director, and administrative staff. The teachers worked hard to teach my son, and always seemed enthusiastic about their job. I love the focus on education by using fun and crative ways to keep the children engaged and excited about learning. My husband and I decided to enroll our son in kindergarden at Courthouse because we feel he will get the best possible educational experience there. Finally, the director has always been approachable and friendly towards me and always available to address my questions and concerns. I highly reccomend Courthouse Academy to anyone who wants their child to have a positive, fun and educational experience at a preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I have found Courthouse Academy beyond my expectations. From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted by helpful and friendly staff. A tour of the school seems to find everyone busy and the teacher to student ratio is perfect. As far as the Director's attitude - I found her very kind and caring and espically patient with my child who immediately wanted to be a part of the classes as we toured the school. Of course I have heard and read bad reviews but it appears the good seem to exceed the bad by a wide majority. Also-a turn over in teachers is to be expected as the teachers are not obligated to stay forever-change is hard but you adjust-ask any military family-I am perfectly happy with my decision-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

As far as I am concerned, this school was not for me. The teachers were great and now they are gone. Too many changes in one year for any child. I am not sure what happened but my guess it wasn't the teachers. Found an even better pre-school down the road. Change well worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (757) 368-0367

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3217 Monet Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23453
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 368-0368

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT