Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Courthouse Academy

Private | PK-2 | 230 students

Preeminent Spanish Immersion classes & Quality education in a safe environment.
 
 

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2010

Both of my daughters just love Courthouse Academy! For the past two years they have enjoyed wonderful teachers and a safe, loving environment in which to learn and grow. My youngest was so shy when she first came and now she is really coming out of her shell and learning so much. My oldest, in Pre-K now just lights up telling me all of the days events. I can't believe the things she is learning at age 4. She can count to 100! I can't say enough about the director and staff for how well things are run. I would recommend this school to anyone. What a wonderful place for young children to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

My daughter loves the school and I think she has the best pre-school teacher ever. I like that they do a lot of artwork and activities. Last year I would've rated the school a five star but this year there seems to be an odd transitioning going on...might be connected to the down-turn in the economy?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

My daughter started at Courthouse Academy in the 2yr class and stayed until after Kindergarten. My son started there last year in the 2yr old class and I also plan to keep him there through Kindergarten. The individual attention each and every child receives on a day to day basis is amazing. My kids leave there happy everyday and that makes all the difference in the world as a mother. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I have a 3 year old daughter who has been attending Courthouse Academy since summer 2009. I have nothing but good things to say about this preschool. I had 3 criteria while looking for a preschool for my daughter. Clean place, good hygiene practice at school, Academics and Friendly staff. And Courthouse Academy has all three plus more to offer. The director is always on site, and very involved (with children, parents and staff). She is always approachable. All the staff members are very friendly. The class size is great and student teacher ratio is well maintained. They have a very detailed daily schedule, which I like the most. Calenders are handed out each month, with details about what would be covered on a particular day. This way I know what is my daughter learning everyday. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My child has been attending Courthouse for almost two years now, and I have nothing but positive things to say about the teachers, director, and administrative staff. The teachers worked hard to teach my son, and always seemed enthusiastic about their job. I love the focus on education by using fun and crative ways to keep the children engaged and excited about learning. My husband and I decided to enroll our son in kindergarden at Courthouse because we feel he will get the best possible educational experience there. Finally, the director has always been approachable and friendly towards me and always available to address my questions and concerns. I highly reccomend Courthouse Academy to anyone who wants their child to have a positive, fun and educational experience at a preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I have found Courthouse Academy beyond my expectations. From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted by helpful and friendly staff. A tour of the school seems to find everyone busy and the teacher to student ratio is perfect. As far as the Director's attitude - I found her very kind and caring and espically patient with my child who immediately wanted to be a part of the classes as we toured the school. Of course I have heard and read bad reviews but it appears the good seem to exceed the bad by a wide majority. Also-a turn over in teachers is to be expected as the teachers are not obligated to stay forever-change is hard but you adjust-ask any military family-I am perfectly happy with my decision-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

As far as I am concerned, this school was not for me. The teachers were great and now they are gone. Too many changes in one year for any child. I am not sure what happened but my guess it wasn't the teachers. Found an even better pre-school down the road. Change well worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

So many things changed at the end of the school year that I didn't feel my child could continue there. Between teachers leaving and the director's attitude I felt it was best to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

I wish Courthouse Academy went through middle school... we'd keep our kids here throughout their entire education. The one-on-one focused attention our children have received is the best in the area and the skills they've learned and friendships they've made are taking them through their elementary years right now. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I have been a teacher at Courthouse Academy for the past 13 years. My son, a 5th grader, and my daugher, a high school senior both attended Courthouse Academy. As a parent and a teacher, I am very happy with the school and the director. I have seen many changes over the years, always in the best interest of the school and the children who attend. Clara Husted
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 28, 2008

Courthouse Academy is a wonderful place for children. The staff is very knowledgable and caring. The academics far exceed what is learned at other preschools. My 9 hear old had a rock solid foundation for elementary school. My two younger children currently attend the school. They absolutely love going to school every day! This will be their second yer at the school. They have learned more than their peers who attend other preschools in the area. This school is well worth visiting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I've seen so many different schools in the VB area and Courthouse Academy exceeds all of them! My daughter is so happy here-- the teachers, who have been at this school for years-- are wonderful and caring. The parents are always welcome here and there are so many opportunities to share in our children's education. We'll be here for a few more years and we have no doubt our daughter is receiving the best preschool education around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

I have two of my children currently enrolled at Courthouse Preschool and I plan to enroll my third as soon as she's old enough to attend. Not only is it a quality educational program with great emphasis on the basics, but it's a wonderful, socially enriching environment. The teacher/student ratio is low, thereby giving my children the one-on-one attention they need and deserve. This is my son's third year and I can't recall a single day where he hasn't had a huge smile on his face going to or coming from school. The teachers are warm to parents, and patient and calm with the kids. Just about every day, the director is in the halls greeting the kids and parents and ready to answer any questions we may have. I trust Courthouse Preschool with our most important investments in life, I can't imagine a better place for them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Got Sole Project (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Spanish Immersion classes are available.
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Julia Salmon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Drop by, no appointment necessary!
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (757) 368-0367

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Speech and Language therapy
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Spanish Immersion classes are available.
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
230
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
230

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
NAACRA

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Elementary
Christopher Farms
Princess Anne
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3217 Monet Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23453
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 368-0368

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Landstown Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



New Castle Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Parkway Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Rosemont Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT