Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Parkwood School

Preschool | 180 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Vienna

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $496,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2011

This is my daughters 3rd year at Parkwood and We love Parkwood! My daughter loves going to school. Last week she was out sick and said, "I miss school, Mommy". The teachers are fantastic, loving and dedicated to the children beyond anything I have witnessed. Mrs. Powel and Mrs. Vickery are incredible leaders for the school. I love their philosphy and wish our Public School system looked to them for guidance. It is a great environment and I wished they went through 8th grade! You won't be disappointed with Parkwood. We will be sad to leave in 2012.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

What a FABULOUS school. Most teachers have been there for 10+ years and that speaks a lot to Mrs. Vickery. Her philosphy about school is right on the money. This is my daughters first year and our only regret is that we didn't sign her up to Parkwood earlier. She is truly happy and goes bouncing into school every single day and misses it when she cannot go. Again, that SPEAKS alot. If kids like school this early on and are not pushed - they will like it forever. I love this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

My children have gone here for two years and it is the best school. The teachers are very caring and Mrs. Vickery - the Principal, has given the school a very strong foundation. I believe this an amazing preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

I went to this school for two years. Kindergarten and one year before that. I absolutely loved this school and it set a wonderful foundation for my education, especially in reading. I remember May Day, our plays (Stone Soup and The Three Billy Goats Gruff), and many other celebrations. I still go back and visit my kindergarten teacher and she is so proud of my accomplishments. All of the staff and faculty are the best people in the world and it is one of the most well run and fun schools ever!


Posted January 21, 2009

My kids have been going for 4 years and my niece has attended parkwood 10 years ago as well as my younger sister much longer than that. Parkwood has always been filled with loving teachers and responsible caregivers. The entire faculty is great and they work incredibly well together and with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

Excellent Place where Kids to be placed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

Outstanding institution that has given a well rounded and strong foundation to my son and daughter. The teachers are very creative in the ways they instill learning thirst in the pre-schoolers......They want to do music, arts, crafts, read books, more books and always want to stay for Lunch Bunch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Both of my children are graduates of Parkwood School. My son went on to graduate from Stanford University his junior year and my daughter is a graduate from George Mason University. I attribute a great deal of their success in life to Mrs. Vickery and her wonderful attitude and tremendous staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

Our daughter attended this school this year. It was the first year to school- full of fun and a great learning experience for her. Teachers of park wood are really doing a great job. We will also enroll her next year. Thanks to park wood school,Mrs Vickery and all teachers. We appreciate the excellent quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2004

My daughter attended Parkwood for pre-K and enjoyed every minute of it. The teachers are great and the school impresses upon the students respect, honesty and integrity. I am getting ready to sign up my other child for the coming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Marshall Road Southwest
Vienna, VA 22180
Phone: (703) 281-3707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT