Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Vista Montessori School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
New Vista Montessori School is a wonderful community of teachers, parents, and of course, amazing little people that attend. Located in the Jefferson Center near downtown Roanoke, NVMS has access to both musical and theatrical performances - giving the students the unique chance to learn and explore outside of the classroom setting. The staff is extremely caring, supportive, and ultimately focused on the success and enrichment of every student as an individual. I honestly can't say enough positive things about NVMS. If you desire a compassionate and extremely proficient preschool/Kindergarten education for your child, you need look no further than New Vista Montessori School.

New Vista Montessori School 1

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
Much is lacking from this school. Inadequate training for aftercare staff and inappropriate activities/programs. The location is cramped. The Montessori trained teachers are great, but not everyone has the credentials.


New Vista Montessori School 5

Posted September 27, 2012
- a parent
I have a 3 year old and a 5 year old @ NVMS and would not consider sending them anywhere else. The staff, director and assistant director are all extraordinary. They are accomodating, professional and incredibly loving towards all of the children. I breathe easy every day knowing my children are safe, well cared for and thriving in a learning environment that provides them an exceptional foundation. My only issue with NVMS is that they do not have grades 1-12! Call or visit this school and you will see for yourself!

New Vista Montessori School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
Our two children have been with New Vista for a year and we are very pleased with how much they have learned and grown socially. The teachers are fantastic and care deeply about the kids. The class sizes are small (about 8-10 children per teacher). The administration is well organized and communication is almost on a daily basis. The kids have many cross activities both in the Jefferson Center and nearby YMCA. If you work in or near downtown Roanoke the location is ideal. The weak link in NVMS right now is the facility. They took it over from an older daycare and slowly it is being made over. In our view the strengths of the staff far outweigh the facilities. Aftercare is run by people who obviously love the kids. The aftercare is not meant to be more montessori (after they have already had a 5 hour school day), but they do art projects, play in a nice secure playground on site, or play with legos, trains, etc. Our children are both looking forward to returning for another school year.

New Vista Montessori School 2

Posted September 10, 2011
- a community member
Not the worst school, but you can definitely do better. Wouldn't recommend unless you can't afford something nicer, especially since they have moved locations.


New Vista Montessori School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Both my daughters attended NVMS and we couldn't have been more happy. Once my daughter started kindergarten, she was miles ahead of the rest of the children. Mrs. Wilson and Mrs. Putney (director) are wonderful and the school is great! The before and aftercare were not of as high of quality but in my opinion it is really a nice convenience for those of us working parents and the play time is also very important since they got outside as often as they were able.

New Vista Montessori School 5

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
I have had two of my daughters attend NVMS, one of them several years ago and one for the last three years. They were loved and supported by excellent teachers and a loving and supportive staff. They both read before they entered kindergarten and are confident learners. NVMS was most special because of the care that was shown to both of my daughters. I observed all children being treated with dignity and respect. There is a beautiful balance between developing social skills and building an academic foundation. The new facility at the Jefferson Center provides more than just a beautiful space, it also offers opportunities to enjoy the visual and performing arts as part of the Jefferson Center family. This will also include the music lab as well as a partnership with their neighbors at the YMCA. Truly a stellar preschool.

New Vista Montessori School 5

Posted June 30, 2011
- a parent
I realize that you cannot hope to please everyone, but our son has had a wonderful experience at NVMS. I am not heavily involved in the school, nor a part of any "political" movement or issues. As an educator I can speak to the schools pedagogy and staff. At NVMS, my son has gone from a shy two year old to a little boy who is happy, well rounded, and a lot more outgoing. All of the teachers and staff have been more than helpful and have taught him skills and educational habits he will use throughout his life. They have helped teach him to read, work on math (to include foundations of multiplication and division) and to acquire other important foundational skills. They have always been flexible, loving and kind.


New Vista Montessori School 2

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
I have to agree with the January 24 review of New Vista. We had a horrible experience with the school - "political" is definitely the best way to describe it, without a doubt. Some of the teachers are really good, but for parents who cannot be heavily involved with the school (for example, working parents) to become part of the "in-crowd", I would not recommend the school.

New Vista Montessori School 2

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Very disappointed with this school. New Vista talks a good game about being welcoming to new children, etc. but the reality is that the school is controlled by a small group of parents that wield a tremendous amount of political clout. Teacher seemed to be lacking knowledge of basic childhood development and very little time is actually spent on the Montessori "work" which was the reason we chose to send our child there in the first place. I would not recommend this school to a friend for their children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Vista Montessori School
541 Luck Avenue Southwest, Roanoke, VA  24016
(540) 392-1173
Last modified New Vista Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
New Vista Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top