Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Vista Montessori School

Preschool | 45 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roanoke

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2013

New Vista Montessori School is a wonderful community of teachers, parents, and of course, amazing little people that attend. Located in the Jefferson Center near downtown Roanoke, NVMS has access to both musical and theatrical performances - giving the students the unique chance to learn and explore outside of the classroom setting. The staff is extremely caring, supportive, and ultimately focused on the success and enrichment of every student as an individual. I honestly can't say enough positive things about NVMS. If you desire a compassionate and extremely proficient preschool/Kindergarten education for your child, you need look no further than New Vista Montessori School.


Posted January 26, 2013

Much is lacking from this school. Inadequate training for aftercare staff and inappropriate activities/programs. The location is cramped. The Montessori trained teachers are great, but not everyone has the credentials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I have a 3 year old and a 5 year old @ NVMS and would not consider sending them anywhere else. The staff, director and assistant director are all extraordinary. They are accomodating, professional and incredibly loving towards all of the children. I breathe easy every day knowing my children are safe, well cared for and thriving in a learning environment that provides them an exceptional foundation. My only issue with NVMS is that they do not have grades 1-12! Call or visit this school and you will see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

Our two children have been with New Vista for a year and we are very pleased with how much they have learned and grown socially. The teachers are fantastic and care deeply about the kids. The class sizes are small (about 8-10 children per teacher). The administration is well organized and communication is almost on a daily basis. The kids have many cross activities both in the Jefferson Center and nearby YMCA. If you work in or near downtown Roanoke the location is ideal. The weak link in NVMS right now is the facility. They took it over from an older daycare and slowly it is being made over. In our view the strengths of the staff far outweigh the facilities. Aftercare is run by people who obviously love the kids. The aftercare is not meant to be more montessori (after they have already had a 5 hour school day), but they do art projects, play in a nice secure playground on site, or play with legos, trains, etc. Our children are both looking forward to returning for another school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

Not the worst school, but you can definitely do better. Wouldn't recommend unless you can't afford something nicer, especially since they have moved locations.


Posted July 18, 2011

Both my daughters attended NVMS and we couldn't have been more happy. Once my daughter started kindergarten, she was miles ahead of the rest of the children. Mrs. Wilson and Mrs. Putney (director) are wonderful and the school is great! The before and aftercare were not of as high of quality but in my opinion it is really a nice convenience for those of us working parents and the play time is also very important since they got outside as often as they were able.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

I have had two of my daughters attend NVMS, one of them several years ago and one for the last three years. They were loved and supported by excellent teachers and a loving and supportive staff. They both read before they entered kindergarten and are confident learners. NVMS was most special because of the care that was shown to both of my daughters. I observed all children being treated with dignity and respect. There is a beautiful balance between developing social skills and building an academic foundation. The new facility at the Jefferson Center provides more than just a beautiful space, it also offers opportunities to enjoy the visual and performing arts as part of the Jefferson Center family. This will also include the music lab as well as a partnership with their neighbors at the YMCA. Truly a stellar preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I realize that you cannot hope to please everyone, but our son has had a wonderful experience at NVMS. I am not heavily involved in the school, nor a part of any "political" movement or issues. As an educator I can speak to the schools pedagogy and staff. At NVMS, my son has gone from a shy two year old to a little boy who is happy, well rounded, and a lot more outgoing. All of the teachers and staff have been more than helpful and have taught him skills and educational habits he will use throughout his life. They have helped teach him to read, work on math (to include foundations of multiplication and division) and to acquire other important foundational skills. They have always been flexible, loving and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

I have to agree with the January 24 review of New Vista. We had a horrible experience with the school - "political" is definitely the best way to describe it, without a doubt. Some of the teachers are really good, but for parents who cannot be heavily involved with the school (for example, working parents) to become part of the "in-crowd", I would not recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

Very disappointed with this school. New Vista talks a good game about being welcoming to new children, etc. but the reality is that the school is controlled by a small group of parents that wield a tremendous amount of political clout. Teacher seemed to be lacking knowledge of basic childhood development and very little time is actually spent on the Montessori "work" which was the reason we chose to send our child there in the first place. I would not recommend this school to a friend for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

This school was a lifesaver for us! We were moving to Roanoke with no contacts in the area. I found the school online through a web search. After calling several other schools, NVMS is the only one we chose to visit and ultimately our daughter was enrolled. At 3 years old and having been home with me, she was very comfortable right away. The director and teachers were so wonderful from the start. Also, the flexible schedule was exactly what I was looking for. In addition to the Montessori work cycle, there are also separate art, music and library rotations. We simply love this school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

I had 2 boys attend NVMS and have loved this school! The interest they have in learning is priceless, and exactly what we read that Montessori schools focus on. It's a small school with excellent, caring teachers. It feels more like a family than a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I put my daughter inat age 2 1/2 and she grew socially, and intellectually so muh that first year. Shw was there for 3 years and I cried when it came time for us to move on. Mrs Wilson is the bomb, as are all the teachers there. They love your children and nurture them. You feel good knowing they are there learning, having fun in a safe accepting environment. love love loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

My daughter was enrolled in NVMS last year and is also slated for the fall. She loves this school as well as all of the teachers and director. When she realized she was turning 5 in the fall she became upset that she would not be able to attend her 'big kid' school again this year, after being told she indeed would be back she did her happy dance and started singing about how much she loved school. Not only do the students love them but they (the teachers and director) love their students and it shows, you cannot fake a true bond. We will be very sad when it is time to say goodbye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

Love how welcoming the director is. It feels like a community in which parents are valued. Kids are respectful of others and the education is second to none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

My daughter attended New Vista Montessori for three years. We researched preschools in Roanoke heavily before selecting this school. NVMS has the most highly qualified staff of any preschool in Roanoke. They also pay their staff better than most preschools in Roanoke, where teachers are paid minimum wage or a little more. As an educator myself, I wanted my child to have preschool teachers that are highly qualified and reasonably compensated for their efforts. NVMS is the only place I could find that did both. And it was well worth it. My child entered kindergarten as a reader. She scored the highest score in her school on the PALS test , and by the end of kindergarten was reading on a third grade level. I attribute that to the Montessori education that she received at NVMS. Take a tour; you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

My wife and I researched the Montessori Schools in Roanoke and New Vista is by far the best. The teachers are professional and caring, the school is organized and cheerful, and the class sizes are the perfect size. I highly recommend New Vista Montessori School. My son agrees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

New Vista Montessori has everything that we were looking for in a preschool. The small class size, classroom format and large outdoor playground are all great assets. The entire staff has been very attentive to our needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (540) 342-1169

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

541 Luck Avenue Southwest
Ste 110
Roanoke, VA 24016
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 392-1173

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT