Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Reston, VA
Students enrolled: 216
 

5 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
Visit LANK to discover a unique play-based approach to learning: the children think they are going to school just to play, but they are actually receiving a solid academic foundation in language arts, math, science, and social studies. From constructing simple machines to sequencing story pictures to making patterns, the kids have a blast while becoming prepared for elementary school. LANK s philosophy of meeting the child where the child is means that every child has the opportunity to be enriched in a way that meets the child s particular needs. LANK offers enrichment programs in music, Spanish, and gymnastics, all at no extra charge. LANK also has a top-notch full-day kindergarten. The teachers are qualified, experienced, warm, and loving. LANK offers several social events for the kids as well as an adults-only spring event. There are lots of ways to get involved and help shape your child s preschool experience. We visited many other preschools and found that the only ones that compared academically were substantially more expensive. LANK was also the only place we visited where we felt our children would receive a perfect balance of fun and learning at a reasonable price.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
When choosing a preschool for our daughters, we wanted to make sure this first experience would be positive; in a place where learning was fun, challenging and rewarding. We immediately knew we had found that place in LANK, and have been absolutely thrilled with how our girls have thrived there over the last 5 years. LANK has given our girls the most wonderful first school experience and has allowed them to start their journey in education feeling happy, confident and loved. LANK has also been a very positive experience for us as parents. Very soon after starting at LANK, we could see that dedicated, enthusiastic parents play an essential role in making the school a wonderful place for children and families to be. We were immediately impressed by the commitment to and love for LANK that families feel here. This atmosphere of dedication and involvement from the parent community is just another reason why LANK is such a Reston gem!


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with LANK; not only do our children come home with smiles on their faces and eager to share about their day but the community of families and support is immeasurable. The teachers are sincere and genuine and communicate readily with parents. The environment is positive and extremely conducive to learning for children as young as two through Kindergarten; this preschool comes highly recommended!

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
We enrolled our 2 1/2 year old in LANK's Junior Preschool program a few years ago and were very pleased how well he did there. I was initially thinking it was crazy to send a 2 year old to preschool but it turned out it was so much fun and he loved leaving to go to school each week. The teachers have been there for years and they enthusiastically love what they do and the children in their care. I regularly received email updates on what the class was learning, they shared photos and even did conferences to outline their curriculum goals and my son's progress. The curriculum is play-based, which is what we wanted. Learning through play has many benefits and we wanted this to be a fun and engaging experience for our little guy. And it was! In addition to LANK being a fantastic educational experience for my son, it's a close-knit community of caring parents and caregivers. My husband and I have met so many families that we have now become friends with through the many activities for families throughout the year. An added bonus!

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
My children have loved their time at LANK. It is a fun, warm and caring environment that truly encourages children to come into their own. The teachers and directors are wonderful about recognizing and nurturing each child's individuality. LANK's curriculum is a play based curriculum, which studies have shown is the best way for young children to learn. Literacy and languages, math and science and a healthy lifestyle are all part of the curriculum. The family community at LANK is a very close knit community. We have met friends at LANK who have become some of our closest friends and have continued to be so even after aging out of LANK. My oldest child's transition to elementary school has been seamless and I truly credit LANK for preparing her socially, emotionally and academically for elementary school.


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at LANK for 4 years (she's in the Kindergarten program) and this is my son's 2nd year. I am confident that we made the absolute best preschool choice with LANK. I have been so impressed with the age-appropriate curriculum that promotes development in all areas. It's a wonderful mix of child-initiated play and teacher-guided projects, both of which support socialization and learning. The chidren recieve gymnastics, Spanish and music classes, in addition to the regular curriculum. Early literacy, math, and science development is built into fun activities that engage the children. The teachers are warm, energetic and creative. Class parents create opportunities tor playdates outside of the classroom experience which enhances socialization and builds bonds between parents. We have made friends at LANK that will surely last a lifetime. Parents have many opportunities for volunteering, although volunteering in the classroom is limited to special events and occasionally reading to the class. The Board of Directors is made up of mostly parents with a few teacher reps, Our main goal for preschool is that our children learn to love school. They absolutely do.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
We have been part of the LANK community for 6 years and look forward to each one to come. LANK has nurtured, educated, inspired and brightened all three of my children's minds, bodies and spirits. Incredible staff, superior Directors, fun-loving and involved parents, and a great curriculum that fosters play and academics are a winning combination for all children who attend. I cannot imagine a better preschool experience for my entire family...and we'll be so sad when our youngest moves on.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
My kids love Lank! they have a big smile every time I drop them or pick them up. The teachers are truly involved in their development. I am so happy i found this place, it really is unique. The director has been there for a long time and knows what she is doing. I have been part of their community for the last 3 years; my kids play and learn everyday.


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
My son has just finished his first year at LANK. He absolutely loved it. The teachers are fantastic and the administration is helpful and caring. My son has learned so much and has made so many new friends. I am so proud of him and the effort the teachers put into the kids education at this school. They will be seeing my son next year and he already can't wait.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
I am thrilled that the industry has renewed its coverage and support of play-based education. Children learn much more through structured play than by sitting doing worksheets and memorizing. LANK's play-based approach coupled with its emphasis on pre-literacy and pre-math skills development have always been strong and have been taken to the next level in recent years. In addition, the Kindergarten program build fabulous academic and social skills as well as a child's self-confidence. My older two children, who have quite different personalities, each thrived there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten
12021 North Shore Drive, Reston, VA  20190
(703) 437-0035
Last modified Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top