Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
My children have loved their time at LANK. It is a fun, warm and caring environment that truly encourages children to come into their own. The teachers and directors are wonderful about recognizing and nurturing each child's individuality. LANK's curriculum is a play based curriculum, which studies have shown is the best way for young children to learn. Literacy and languages, math and science and a healthy lifestyle are all part of the curriculum. The family community at LANK is a very close knit community. We have met friends at LANK who have become some of our closest friends and have continued to be so even after aging out of LANK. My oldest child's transition to elementary school has been seamless and I truly credit LANK for preparing her socially, emotionally and academically for elementary school.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at LANK for 4 years (she's in the Kindergarten program) and this is my son's 2nd year. I am confident that we made the absolute best preschool choice with LANK. I have been so impressed with the age-appropriate curriculum that promotes development in all areas. It's a wonderful mix of child-initiated play and teacher-guided projects, both of which support socialization and learning. The chidren recieve gymnastics, Spanish and music classes, in addition to the regular curriculum. Early literacy, math, and science development is built into fun activities that engage the children. The teachers are warm, energetic and creative. Class parents create opportunities tor playdates outside of the classroom experience which enhances socialization and builds bonds between parents. We have made friends at LANK that will surely last a lifetime. Parents have many opportunities for volunteering, although volunteering in the classroom is limited to special events and occasionally reading to the class. The Board of Directors is made up of mostly parents with a few teacher reps, Our main goal for preschool is that our children learn to love school. They absolutely do.


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
We have been part of the LANK community for 6 years and look forward to each one to come. LANK has nurtured, educated, inspired and brightened all three of my children's minds, bodies and spirits. Incredible staff, superior Directors, fun-loving and involved parents, and a great curriculum that fosters play and academics are a winning combination for all children who attend. I cannot imagine a better preschool experience for my entire family...and we'll be so sad when our youngest moves on.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
My kids love Lank! they have a big smile every time I drop them or pick them up. The teachers are truly involved in their development. I am so happy i found this place, it really is unique. The director has been there for a long time and knows what she is doing. I have been part of their community for the last 3 years; my kids play and learn everyday.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
My son has just finished his first year at LANK. He absolutely loved it. The teachers are fantastic and the administration is helpful and caring. My son has learned so much and has made so many new friends. I am so proud of him and the effort the teachers put into the kids education at this school. They will be seeing my son next year and he already can't wait.


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
I am thrilled that the industry has renewed its coverage and support of play-based education. Children learn much more through structured play than by sitting doing worksheets and memorizing. LANK's play-based approach coupled with its emphasis on pre-literacy and pre-math skills development have always been strong and have been taken to the next level in recent years. In addition, the Kindergarten program build fabulous academic and social skills as well as a child's self-confidence. My older two children, who have quite different personalities, each thrived there.

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Our family is entering its 7th year at LANK and we all love it. The directors and teachers are top-notch (many have or are currently working toward graduate degrees in education) and the parent community is enthusiastic and welcoming. Their focus on emergent (age-appropriate) literacy this year is particularly good and my son is having a fantastic time! My two older children, both LANK 'graduates', adore visiting the school and seeing their former teachers-all of whom remember my kids and their interests. We can't say enough wonderful things about LANK-it's really become our second family!!

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
This is my daughter's second year at LANK and I am so excited to be a part of this tight-knit, supportive, and caring environment. I am always amazed when almost every teacher knows her by name, not to mention the wonderfully warm interaction given by the two directors. LANK's play-based approach to learning keeps my daughter excited and motivated to get to school, learn new facts to share, improve her art and writing skills, and grow in a nurturing, fun environment.


Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
This is my 7th year at LANK and I couldn't be happier. I thought about switching my children at one point because there are other schools that are more convenient for me. However, I didn't want my younger children not to get the same advantage going into elementary school that my older ones had received from LANK. My own comfort level of knowing that my children are in such loving and capable hands, the well trained and remarkable staff, the strong parent community and the first rate program all made it impossible about thinking of going anywhere else. Their focus on learning through play allows for the development of the 'whole child' as learning occurs by continually building upon new experiences to further enhance the cognitive, social, emotional, physical, fine and gross motor development

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
My son went to LANK 2 years & this will be my daughter's 3rd year. I chose LANK out of 3 schools I visited because it is a kind & nurturing environment & they emphasize socialization & learning through play as opposed to sitting still through lessons. No, my son did not know how to read when he entered Kindergarten because neither LANK nor I forced the issue (he didn't want to learn yet). But at the end of Kindergarten in public school, he got a perfect score on his reading assessment. At the end of first grade, he was tested at a 6th grade equivalent. I feel that learning how to interact, share, play well, listen, etc. all prepared him best for school. If he had been forced to sit through formal instruction in preschool, he would have been disruptive, unhappy and wouldn't love school as he now does.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten
12021 North Shore Drive, Reston, VA  20190
(703) 437-0035
Last modified Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top