Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Anne Nursery Kindergarten

Preschool | 216 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Reston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $340,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2013

My children have loved their time at LANK. It is a fun, warm and caring environment that truly encourages children to come into their own. The teachers and directors are wonderful about recognizing and nurturing each child's individuality. LANK's curriculum is a play based curriculum, which studies have shown is the best way for young children to learn. Literacy and languages, math and science and a healthy lifestyle are all part of the curriculum. The family community at LANK is a very close knit community. We have met friends at LANK who have become some of our closest friends and have continued to be so even after aging out of LANK. My oldest child's transition to elementary school has been seamless and I truly credit LANK for preparing her socially, emotionally and academically for elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

My daughter has been at LANK for 4 years (she's in the Kindergarten program) and this is my son's 2nd year. I am confident that we made the absolute best preschool choice with LANK. I have been so impressed with the age-appropriate curriculum that promotes development in all areas. It's a wonderful mix of child-initiated play and teacher-guided projects, both of which support socialization and learning. The chidren recieve gymnastics, Spanish and music classes, in addition to the regular curriculum. Early literacy, math, and science development is built into fun activities that engage the children. The teachers are warm, energetic and creative. Class parents create opportunities tor playdates outside of the classroom experience which enhances socialization and builds bonds between parents. We have made friends at LANK that will surely last a lifetime. Parents have many opportunities for volunteering, although volunteering in the classroom is limited to special events and occasionally reading to the class. The Board of Directors is made up of mostly parents with a few teacher reps, Our main goal for preschool is that our children learn to love school. They absolutely do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

We have been part of the LANK community for 6 years and look forward to each one to come. LANK has nurtured, educated, inspired and brightened all three of my children's minds, bodies and spirits. Incredible staff, superior Directors, fun-loving and involved parents, and a great curriculum that fosters play and academics are a winning combination for all children who attend. I cannot imagine a better preschool experience for my entire family...and we'll be so sad when our youngest moves on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

My kids love Lank! they have a big smile every time I drop them or pick them up. The teachers are truly involved in their development. I am so happy i found this place, it really is unique. The director has been there for a long time and knows what she is doing. I have been part of their community for the last 3 years; my kids play and learn everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

My son has just finished his first year at LANK. He absolutely loved it. The teachers are fantastic and the administration is helpful and caring. My son has learned so much and has made so many new friends. I am so proud of him and the effort the teachers put into the kids education at this school. They will be seeing my son next year and he already can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I am thrilled that the industry has renewed its coverage and support of play-based education. Children learn much more through structured play than by sitting doing worksheets and memorizing. LANK's play-based approach coupled with its emphasis on pre-literacy and pre-math skills development have always been strong and have been taken to the next level in recent years. In addition, the Kindergarten program build fabulous academic and social skills as well as a child's self-confidence. My older two children, who have quite different personalities, each thrived there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Our family is entering its 7th year at LANK and we all love it. The directors and teachers are top-notch (many have or are currently working toward graduate degrees in education) and the parent community is enthusiastic and welcoming. Their focus on emergent (age-appropriate) literacy this year is particularly good and my son is having a fantastic time! My two older children, both LANK 'graduates', adore visiting the school and seeing their former teachers-all of whom remember my kids and their interests. We can't say enough wonderful things about LANK-it's really become our second family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

This is my daughter's second year at LANK and I am so excited to be a part of this tight-knit, supportive, and caring environment. I am always amazed when almost every teacher knows her by name, not to mention the wonderfully warm interaction given by the two directors. LANK's play-based approach to learning keeps my daughter excited and motivated to get to school, learn new facts to share, improve her art and writing skills, and grow in a nurturing, fun environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

This is my 7th year at LANK and I couldn't be happier. I thought about switching my children at one point because there are other schools that are more convenient for me. However, I didn't want my younger children not to get the same advantage going into elementary school that my older ones had received from LANK. My own comfort level of knowing that my children are in such loving and capable hands, the well trained and remarkable staff, the strong parent community and the first rate program all made it impossible about thinking of going anywhere else. Their focus on learning through play allows for the development of the 'whole child' as learning occurs by continually building upon new experiences to further enhance the cognitive, social, emotional, physical, fine and gross motor development
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

My son went to LANK 2 years & this will be my daughter's 3rd year. I chose LANK out of 3 schools I visited because it is a kind & nurturing environment & they emphasize socialization & learning through play as opposed to sitting still through lessons. No, my son did not know how to read when he entered Kindergarten because neither LANK nor I forced the issue (he didn't want to learn yet). But at the end of Kindergarten in public school, he got a perfect score on his reading assessment. At the end of first grade, he was tested at a 6th grade equivalent. I feel that learning how to interact, share, play well, listen, etc. all prepared him best for school. If he had been forced to sit through formal instruction in preschool, he would have been disruptive, unhappy and wouldn't love school as he now does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

This will be my daughter's third year at LANK. It is a warm, nurturing environment and a great place to start a child's formal education. It is not a co-op, but there are many opportunities for parent involvement. They have many programs in place to involve the entire family during the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

As a mom with a child at LANK for the second year, I am disappointed in the lack of curriculum taught there. i feel there is way too much playtime and not enough structure. I have seen a lack of professionalism with the staff and the directors. I don't feel they are keeping up with what is being offered in other schools and are floating by on their old reputation in the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Many parents that have had our children at LANK have become unhappy with new staff and lack of any real instruction of literacy or math skills being introduced. The atmosphere seems loud and hectic. The open classroom approach has not been a comforting atmosphere for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My two daughters are currently at LANK and I cannot say enough good things about the school. Both of my daughters had never been away from me before attending LANK, and I was quite nervous about their adjustment. They started there when they were 2 and 2 1/2 years old and after meeting the two Junior Preschool teachers, I wouldn't have chosen any other preschool. They are incredibly supportive, caring, and patient with the kids and made me feel like my children would be a valued part of their classroom. Needless to say, my girls love going to school every day and joining their LANK family. The two directors are also incredible women who obviously love their school and their 'little friends'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

LANK is a great school where the children have room to grow in a positive, loving educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Our oldest son went to LANK and we currently have a 4 year old daughter in the 4-day preschool program. During this time, LANK has truly become a second family for us. After our daughter was in the hospital for a few days after a bad fall at home, the amount of support we received from the LANK community was unbelievable. Parents and staff were literally bringing us dinners every night for a week, and get well cards, phone calls, and gifts just kept coming. We were truly blown away by all the warm gestures and acts of kindness and support, and I just can't say enough about the school. We were very fortunate that our daughter was okay, and she is very excited to get back to LANK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

My 3 children attended LANK starting with the mother's morning out program throught the wonderful Kindergarten. LANK has been a really incredible experience for them and us. The environment is warm, nurturing, loving, safe and fun. The parent involvement is amazing and the teachers are talented and experienced. The staff doesn't change much, meaning they are happy to be there. The children have a wonderful experience at LANK, lots of art, music and creative play. As far as a learning experience, my son attended the Kindergarten and I am convinced that one of the reasons he is now at Stanford goes back to his kindergarten education. My daughter is now in the kindergarten program at LANK and is not much has changed. This is a good thing. Of course they are offering more technology and other updated programs, but the core of LANK is still there. It's almost a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12021 North Shore Drive
Reston, VA 20190
Phone: (703) 437-0035

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT