Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Montessori School

Preschool | 60 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Reston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $459,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

Community Montessori School. Before enrolling our daughter back in Pre-school in 2010, we were looking at various preschools within Reston Area. One of our family friend's recommended CMS because his son went to the same school and they very much liked it. So, we thought of visiting the facility and talked to Mrs.Bonnie Redmond. Our first impression of the school was great -- the school premises was clean and the staff were very friendly....and we felt safe and secure. Fast forward three years, our daughter got graduated from Pre-school in 2013. During this 3 year period, there are countless ways on how great the teachers were in terms of developing our child's language, social, intellectual abilities. Our daughter was in Mrs.Rupali and Ms.Sepideh class (we call them "patience" in motion) and we are extremely pleased in how they added the fun part in helping the kids learn and discover letters, numbers, science, and hands-on activities. The cool part is celebrating festivals across the world, which in turn enforces kids to respect cultures across the world. Not to mention enforcing discipline. A BIG HIGH FIVE..overall....and will miss everyone at CMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

My twin daughters attended CMS for two years as students in Ms. Rupali and Sepideh's class. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. During their time at CME, my children flourished both academically and socially and they adored their teachers and their peers. This school does a very good job of instilling good manners/social skills, a respect for others, a natural curiosity about the world around them and how it works, and very strong academic skills all while providing children with a nurturing and loving environment. If I could keep them there forever, I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

We started this school for our child when child was two and half. My child learned eating, routine, being with other children and above all going there to play with other kids. Teachers are caring and loving. My child made so many friends. It became part of family for him. I give immense credit to Mrs. Rupali and Sepideh's. This is a great preschool for young children. I have recommend to my friends and would continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

CMS has been and outstanding school. My twins started there in the fall of 2011 with Ms. Aicha and Ms. Tamara. This was a big transition for my children and CMS was so great. They let us come in prior to them starting to become more familar. Which was a huge help! Both of my children have done so well with their math, reading and writing. They manners they are taught and how to interact with other students is great and done in a loving way. CMS has been the best school possible for our family and we are very sad to leave as our children start Kindergarten in the fall. John at the front desk has always been so great and helpful. Mrs. Redmond who runs the school is amazing too. Wonderful place, teachers and all around enviroment. Top school and another great fact is that they are open year round and very accommodating for working families! We will miss you all CMS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Both my sons attended CMS from the age of 3 to 5 1/2. We have had an excellent experience. Ms. Aicha is so loving, and caring-my kids adore her. I don't have another school to compare to, but I think it speaks for itself that once we joined CMS, we never looked elsewhere. The staff overall is friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

My child just graduated from CMS school, he was in Miss Aicha's class. these past 3 years when we looked into pre-schools; she stood out from all the other teachers because of her warm, kind heart, and believe in my child. she helped my child to transform from a shy toddler, into a more confident boy. We thank you so much for all your love and support with our child. we will miss you terribly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

My son has been studying in Mrs Rupali and Mrs Sepideh's class since Apr 2011. I can not be more happy with his growth and emotional attention that he has been receiving under the able care of the entire staff of the CMS. He is doing excellent in math, and more importantly everymorning he wants to go to school. The school is not only excelling in terms of only eduction, but they are doing great in terms of extra-curriculum activities as well. They celebrate all festivals, and in summer they have two months full of kids learning/entertainment related activities. Community Montessori School, Reston has been the best school that I have come across throughout the upbringing of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

My child attended CMS for 3 yrs (2010-2012) before heading off to elementary school this past fall. Overall, we had a wonderful impression of all the teachers/staff there, but our personal experience in Mrs. Rupali class was phenomenal! Rupali & Sepideh teach from the heart, simply the most patient, loving, kind, and affectionate teachers! They've both enriched my child's life tremendously, providing her with a wealth of knowledge along the way! Our class at CMS has always felt like family. We miss them dearly, still keep in touch, and will always have fond memories of our time there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

Our child had been at this school for nearly 2.5 years before he moved to an elementary school. His teachers - Mrs. Rupali and Mrs.Sepideh were simply superb. They were very caring and had provided our child a wonderful nurturing environment. We always have pleasant memories about our kid's preschool days at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

I have been a parent with two children and love to progress they have made. The staff is well trained and very caring. Mr. & Mrs. Redmond are caring, accomendating and truely care about your childs success and not the growth of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Hi, After seeing so many school when i went first time to visit the school, I felt i am ready to put my kid in this care. My son is there since more than 2 years and I am happy with his care and development. Thanks Ms.Aisha and Mrs.Tamara. Now when i have to move somewhere else I am looking for options and finding so difficult to decide what to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

My children, ages 3 & 5, have been going here for about a year and half. The teachers are great, and the director is very nice and accomodating. Most importantly, I think my kids are getting an excellent eduation here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

Ms. Redmond, Ms. Aicha, and Ms. Renata are amazing. They only need to improve the quality of their school lunches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

This is the best school. My children have been here for 3 years and I would not have them in any other school. The teachers and director are loving and fun. I see the same good school and the teachers who left went to another new montessori school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

We have 2 children at the school and have been impressed with their progress. The teachers are loving and nurturing. The director is very accommodating. In addition to learning our kids have a lot of fun. The school has additional programs on-site such as soccer & creative dance which is a bonus and so convenient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

My children have been at this school for over 2 years. The teachers are caring and nuturing and make you feel like their child is the only one in the class. they present challenging work while still being mindful that they are teaching children. I recommend this school whole heartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Reston Parkway
Reston, VA 20194
Phone: (703) 478-3656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT