Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Building Blocks Preschool 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
My two children have attended this school from 16 months, my oldest is now in elementary. I am now looking to switch my youngest out of the school. Many of the teachers that cared have left and upon asking them it has been due to the changing atmosphere at the school. The bathrooms are no longer kept really clean like they used to, now they wreak of urine and the classrooms are mediocre at best. Both of my kids have come home from there with bleach stains all over their shirts from the lack of proper use of a bleach bottle. Many of the teachers are on their phone during the day and while outside and more than once there has been SCREAMING matches between the staff just outside the classrooms while I am there picking up my children. I USED to love this school and so did my oldest but toward the end he stopped wanting to go.

Building Blocks Preschool 1

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
This is single-handedly the worst school I've ever sent my child to. Very dirty classrooms with old, broken toys. Teachers dress very inappropriately, are very unprofessional, and never communicate with the parents (only talk to each other). Food is horrible quality. And I've seen teachers snatch students by the arms when they do something bad. Awful, awful place. Very glad to have my toddler out of this nightmare.


Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
All 3 of my children have attended here from 'waddlers' (16 month) up to school aged before/after and summer camp. They all enjoyed it. I strongly disagree with one of the previous reviews that states the children don't learn anything. My youngest will be attending kindergarden there this year because he advanced so well in their pre-k program but isn't old enough to attend kindergarden in public school. His writing skills would not have flourished the way they did had it not been for the diligent work he did in the classroom. It's a wonderful feeling to be able to leave your children somewhere while you work and know that the staff will treat them the same way you do. They provide firm structure but with love and kindness.

Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Building blocks preschool is a great school. I placed my son there as soon as he was old enough to go. The teachers are very nice and he is always comming home with something that he has created in class.

Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
I sent my son there for 3 years (from 2-5)... He went from a 'baby' class all the way to kindergarten with Building Blocks and he would still be going there if we didn't move out of Norfolk. The teachers were great- the aids were great! They loved my child and you could tell with how comfortable he was there. Education is very important to our family and I would highly recommend this school to other parents.


Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
When I first moved to Norfolk last spring, I spent several months researching and visiting the preschools in this area. None impressed me more than Building Blocks. I initially planned on taking my daughter only 3 days a week, but she loves it so much that I now take her every day. The staff to student ratio is excellent (there are currently 3 teachers and 15 children in my daughter's class). I've found all the staff to be caring and highly professional. The food was far better than what was being served in other schools I visited (very well balanced). It's been wonderful watching my daughter expand her knowledge with Building Blocks. I HIGHLY recommend this school.

Building Blocks Preschool 0
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a community member
I am employed by Building Blocks and I can assure you, our children do learn everyday! Our food is home made and tailored to the children and is not terrible. The teachers even eat. I am sorry that one parent had a terrible experience at our center. We have been open for over 20 years. We have had many great families that have chosen our center and have been very happy. We have children come back and visit that are now high school graduates. Our teachers are great. Mrs. Val and Mrs. Lisa work very had to impove the lifes our the children we serve. We hope that our doors are always open to parents that have a complaint like the one written above. As with any business we have complaints and many compliments. Visit the yahoo local page to see one shared by another happy parent.

Building Blocks Preschool 2

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
Awful school the children do not learn anything you have a few good teachers but when they are over ratio with kids it is horrible. The director Lisa and her mother Valerie will spread anything you tell them I know more about others personal lives then I should and the food is down right horrible.


Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
My child was very happy there. Staff was wonderful, he didn't want to go home. He still attends summer camp each year

Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Building Blocks Preschool
844 Jerome Avenue, Norfolk, VA  23518
(757) 583-6389
Last modified Building Blocks Preschool is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Building Blocks Preschool Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top