Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
132 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a community member
My daughter has attended this school the moment she turned two and there has been no turning back since. The minute she sets foot into the door she is greeted by smiling faces, hugs and so much warmth weather she is in a good mood or not (and if anyone has had a two year old you know bad moods are a common occurrence). She has been spoilt and frankly so have I since she has now progressed all through their classrooms and has now started kindergarten. Positive remarks from her teacher on her readiness for kindergarten makes me know I made the right choice.

Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
I would like to first state that the negative is always established by unhappy people and the positive is never addressed by the parents that are greatly satisfied. My two children have been enrolled at Building Blocks since they were 16months, we love it here. My oldest is now off to first grade and returns for the summer for an adventurous fun filled summer camp. My youngest has now started pre-k and is excited to begin another year with Building Blocks. My children enjoy walking in the door in the morning and hate to leave in the afternoons. Building Blocks has been a huge impact on my children's lives and we are grateful for the love and support that they show us on a daily basis. The teachers and staff are great. I would highly recommend this Pre-School to anyone that needs care for their child. We love it here and I hope that you will too.


Building Blocks Preschool
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff have always made us feel welcomed and acknowledged when entering the center. They have been supportive and encouraging of my children and their learning. These teachers need a pat on the back. The teachers and staff are all great and love what they do for our children.

Building Blocks Preschool 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
My two children have attended this school from 16 months, my oldest is now in elementary. I am now looking to switch my youngest out of the school. Many of the teachers that cared have left and upon asking them it has been due to the changing atmosphere at the school. The bathrooms are no longer kept really clean like they used to, now they wreak of urine and the classrooms are mediocre at best. Both of my kids have come home from there with bleach stains all over their shirts from the lack of proper use of a bleach bottle. Many of the teachers are on their phone during the day and while outside and more than once there has been SCREAMING matches between the staff just outside the classrooms while I am there picking up my children. I USED to love this school and so did my oldest but toward the end he stopped wanting to go.

Building Blocks Preschool 1

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
This is single-handedly the worst school I've ever sent my child to. Very dirty classrooms with old, broken toys. Teachers dress very inappropriately, are very unprofessional, and never communicate with the parents (only talk to each other). Food is horrible quality. And I've seen teachers snatch students by the arms when they do something bad. Awful, awful place. Very glad to have my toddler out of this nightmare.


Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
All 3 of my children have attended here from 'waddlers' (16 month) up to school aged before/after and summer camp. They all enjoyed it. I strongly disagree with one of the previous reviews that states the children don't learn anything. My youngest will be attending kindergarden there this year because he advanced so well in their pre-k program but isn't old enough to attend kindergarden in public school. His writing skills would not have flourished the way they did had it not been for the diligent work he did in the classroom. It's a wonderful feeling to be able to leave your children somewhere while you work and know that the staff will treat them the same way you do. They provide firm structure but with love and kindness.

Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Building blocks preschool is a great school. I placed my son there as soon as he was old enough to go. The teachers are very nice and he is always comming home with something that he has created in class.

Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
I sent my son there for 3 years (from 2-5)... He went from a 'baby' class all the way to kindergarten with Building Blocks and he would still be going there if we didn't move out of Norfolk. The teachers were great- the aids were great! They loved my child and you could tell with how comfortable he was there. Education is very important to our family and I would highly recommend this school to other parents.


Building Blocks Preschool 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
When I first moved to Norfolk last spring, I spent several months researching and visiting the preschools in this area. None impressed me more than Building Blocks. I initially planned on taking my daughter only 3 days a week, but she loves it so much that I now take her every day. The staff to student ratio is excellent (there are currently 3 teachers and 15 children in my daughter's class). I've found all the staff to be caring and highly professional. The food was far better than what was being served in other schools I visited (very well balanced). It's been wonderful watching my daughter expand her knowledge with Building Blocks. I HIGHLY recommend this school.

Building Blocks Preschool
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a community member
I am employed by Building Blocks and I can assure you, our children do learn everyday! Our food is home made and tailored to the children and is not terrible. The teachers even eat. I am sorry that one parent had a terrible experience at our center. We have been open for over 20 years. We have had many great families that have chosen our center and have been very happy. We have children come back and visit that are now high school graduates. Our teachers are great. Mrs. Val and Mrs. Lisa work very had to impove the lifes our the children we serve. We hope that our doors are always open to parents that have a complaint like the one written above. As with any business we have complaints and many compliments. Visit the yahoo local page to see one shared by another happy parent.

Nearby schools

Building Blocks Preschool
844 Jerome Avenue, Norfolk, VA  23518
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (757) 583-6389
Last modified Building Blocks Preschool is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top