Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Building Blocks Preschool

Preschool | 132 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Norfolk

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $179,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

This is single-handedly the worst school I've ever sent my child to. Very dirty classrooms with old, broken toys. Teachers dress very inappropriately, are very unprofessional, and never communicate with the parents (only talk to each other). Food is horrible quality. And I've seen teachers snatch students by the arms when they do something bad. Awful, awful place. Very glad to have my toddler out of this nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

All 3 of my children have attended here from 'waddlers' (16 month) up to school aged before/after and summer camp. They all enjoyed it. I strongly disagree with one of the previous reviews that states the children don't learn anything. My youngest will be attending kindergarden there this year because he advanced so well in their pre-k program but isn't old enough to attend kindergarden in public school. His writing skills would not have flourished the way they did had it not been for the diligent work he did in the classroom. It's a wonderful feeling to be able to leave your children somewhere while you work and know that the staff will treat them the same way you do. They provide firm structure but with love and kindness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Building blocks preschool is a great school. I placed my son there as soon as he was old enough to go. The teachers are very nice and he is always comming home with something that he has created in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I sent my son there for 3 years (from 2-5)... He went from a 'baby' class all the way to kindergarten with Building Blocks and he would still be going there if we didn't move out of Norfolk. The teachers were great- the aids were great! They loved my child and you could tell with how comfortable he was there. Education is very important to our family and I would highly recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

When I first moved to Norfolk last spring, I spent several months researching and visiting the preschools in this area. None impressed me more than Building Blocks. I initially planned on taking my daughter only 3 days a week, but she loves it so much that I now take her every day. The staff to student ratio is excellent (there are currently 3 teachers and 15 children in my daughter's class). I've found all the staff to be caring and highly professional. The food was far better than what was being served in other schools I visited (very well balanced). It's been wonderful watching my daughter expand her knowledge with Building Blocks. I HIGHLY recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I am employed by Building Blocks and I can assure you, our children do learn everyday! Our food is home made and tailored to the children and is not terrible. The teachers even eat. I am sorry that one parent had a terrible experience at our center. We have been open for over 20 years. We have had many great families that have chosen our center and have been very happy. We have children come back and visit that are now high school graduates. Our teachers are great. Mrs. Val and Mrs. Lisa work very had to impove the lifes our the children we serve. We hope that our doors are always open to parents that have a complaint like the one written above. As with any business we have complaints and many compliments. Visit the yahoo local page to see one shared by another happy parent.


Posted October 3, 2008

Awful school the children do not learn anything you have a few good teachers but when they are over ratio with kids it is horrible. The director Lisa and her mother Valerie will spread anything you tell them I know more about others personal lives then I should and the food is down right horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My child was very happy there. Staff was wonderful, he didn't want to go home. He still attends summer camp each year
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

844 Jerome Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23518
Phone: (757) 583-6389

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT