Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
139 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
Tysons Corner Children Center is a fantastic place to send your child and I would recommend it to anybody in the area as the best solution to your childcare needs. Before my wife and I moved down here I was responsible for finding a place to send out infant daughter. I visited and interviewed over 12 facilities and none of them compared to Tysons Corner Children Center. Most of the places I visited had the standard toys and instructors but none of them felt as clean, coordinated and loving as TCCC. Miss Marge sat with me personally and answered all of my questions even though I didn't have an appointment and it was clear that she ran a tight ship with a heavy dose of hugs and encouragement. Her passion extends to the staff as well...all of whom have impeccable credentials and, more importantly to me, longevity! They have been working there for over a decade which tells me they love what they do and where they are. I find that my daughter is making lasting friendships, expanding as a person, and gaining valuable experiences that I wish I had when I was her age. If you are in the area and considering a childcare center then you should absolutely choose Tysons Corner Children's Center!

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
My older son joined Tysons Corner Children's Center (TCCC) McLean location when he was six months old. We put TCCC at the top of our tour list because of the infant room teacher/child ratio (1:3 versus 1:4 as VA standard). During our tour, we felt comfortable sending our kid there almost instantly when we were greeted by the center director, saw the smiling faces of infant room teachers, toured the center for its facilities, and talked about the programs/activities they were offering. Throughout the years, my son had some ups and downs, and we've been through some difficult times with his behavior and other issues. No matter what happened, the center directors and teachers had been extremely patient, supportive, and caring with my kid and tried everything they could to help us through those difficult times. It's been almost five years now and I've seen how much my older son has thrived and how happy he is everyday in this loving environment, so we never hesitated one second when we decided to send our younger one to the infant room as well last year. The younger one was with an in-house nanny for a year and a half, but he transitioned to daycare environment and started loving it within days, which again proved what a great child center TCCC is and how lovely those teachers are. I highly recommend Tysons Corner Children's Center to all the parents seeking child care services in Tysons area and it'll be a start of great experience if you're sending your kids there.


Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
TCCC is an excellent daycare center. Our children have received outstanding care, formed lasting bonds with their teachers and friends, and have gained knowledge and skills. Through the years, we have had a child in every classroom in the center, so we can speak to the high quality of the teachers, the staff, and the environment across the board. The teachers have an average tenure that far exceeds other centers and that's because they are treated really well and have such a great working environment. This is beneficial to the kids because they have continuity in who their teacher is - and their teacher knows all of the families that attend the center. Since the center is not for profit, all extra money goes back into the teachers' salaries and supplies/toys/activities/programs for the kids. We even got a small refund one year because the budget allowed for it - how many other centers would do that?! Bottom line: this is a fantastic center and one visit would show you how amazing and reasonable the staff are, how intellectually stimulated all the kids are, and how loving, caring, and competent the teachers are.

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
The best daycare you could ask for!!! I love the teachers so much! They care about my daughter and teach her a lot!

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children started attending TCCC (McLean site) when they were 12 weeks old. One has now graduated and the other is still there, now in Preschool. I would not put them anywhere else! We found TCCC to be the most loving, supportive daycare out there and our kids adored being at "school". The teachers are like family who have watched our kids grow up. They challenged our kids when they needed it and were amazingly supportive when the kids faced issues. Plus, you know the quality of the school is amazing when our big "complaint" is that my daughter endlessly talks about how she's bored in Kindergarten because she learned all this already in TCCC's Junior K. The only bad thing about TCCC is that it's expensive, but all daycare in Tysons is, and it was worth every dime to know my kids were being both taught and nurtured while I was at work. I would recommend this place to anyone (and often do). PS - The waitlist is long for infants, get on the list early!


Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
Both of our children have gone to TCCC since they were 4 months old. I could not be happier with the quality of care and love that they get there! The teacher turnover rate is incredibly low, because the school appropriately prioritizes making sure they have the best teachers for the job - and ensuring that they are treated with respect and compensated fairly. This makes a world of difference - I've heard from others in the area where the teachers are constantly changing. The teachers they have at TCCC really truly love the children! The curriculum is fantastic as well - my daughter is in the preschool class and is well ahead of where she should be for her age. They also made the potty training process a breeze for us - which was really helpful because we had an infant at home! It's so comforting knowing how happy my kids are when they are there - they love it and I know they are safe!

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
I love TCCC! My daughter has gone to school there since she was 2mths old. In every room she has progressed to she was met with great love and attention by all her teachers and staff. She has grown and developed so much by all that she was taught there and has turned out to be an amazing, intelligent and outgoing little individual. From infant to school age the programs are excellent. My daughter has enjoyed every day there and I have felt good knowing she is happy and in good hands. This year my daughter will be going off to Kindergarten and we are sad to be leaving TCCC but we know that we can always come back next summer.

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 5

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
my son was in the infant classroom since he's 5 month old, and now in the per-toddler room since 13 months. so far, we are pretty happy with everything the school provides! The teachers are very nice and patient; I can tell he had a great time in the school by his excitement when send him to the school in the morning , and by his smiling face when I pick him up in the afternoon. Especially that he would ask for a hug when we encounter his teachers (including the teachers from the previous classroom) in the school hallway! And the classroom is clean, the schedule is full and fun, what can I ask for more:) I cannot say for pre-school/pre-kindergarden class... but for young children care, I think it's a top choice in this area!


Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 2

Posted June 11, 2011
- a community member
Good, except for the kindergarten assistant. I think she should get some type of training how to teach children math. My child could not even do the math homework. It makes me wonder how she teaches math.

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean 2

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
My 4 years old son is kicked out after 2 months in tysons corner childrens center in spring hill for being too active, running around too much and need too much attention. He just came to this country for 3 months and still have struggle for English. I am sure that at least some of these behaviros are from frustration. Very disappointed that instead of getting help for his transition, he is simply kicked out. It is actually shocking to know that a school with good reputation will do this to your kid. As parents, we will expect good teachers have more patience and love.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean
8260 Greensboro Drive #135, McLean, VA  22102
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (703) 761-1123
Last modified Tysons Corner Children's Center-McLean is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top