Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK
Private
Falls Church, VA

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough wonderful things about Rodef. We enrolled our child into the 2's program and have been extremely happy with the school. Specifically, the opportunities to be involved are fantastic! From regular school wide play dates, mom's night out, parents committee and volunteering in the class. I love our child's teacher and the teaching assistants. Most importantly, my daughter loves going to school.

Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
Rodef parent here. I couldn't disagree more with the "parents be cautioned" post. Rodef is a loving and caring community. The staff are top-notch and have many, many combined years of professional teacher training and experience. They foster a nurturing classroom culture where every child is valued and their individuality appreciated. The specialists on staff are a valuable resource that are the envy of other schools. Kindergarten readiness? Ask any area K teacher. The Rodef kids are known to be some of the best prepared anywhere. It is hard to be a parent, and hard to face the notion that your child isn't perfect. Nursery school is often the child's first experience being out of the home. It can be hard to believe something about your child that you haven't seen yourself. It was hard for me to be told that my oldest child was shy, since she ruled the roost at home. Well, school isn't home. My children are grown now but we are still in touch with their Rodef teachers, and they still have friends from when they were two! Over the years we have been to weddings, baby namings, bar and bat mitzvahs, and sadly funerals, of members of our Rodef school family.


Temple Rodef Shalom 1

Posted May 11, 2012
- a parent
Parents be cautioned! The school touts itself on fostering creativity, independence and uniqueness yet they will quickly stifle and subdue any child displaying such traits. Our daughter was happy, calm and without issues when she started this year. Since her enrollment, we have noticed a decline in her behavior and the school has even brought in a psychologist to examine her. The physiologist found no issues with my daughter, yet the teachers still label her as "not normal" and are constantly separating/excluding her from other activities. In talking with other parents from the same classroom, we have learned that other parents have been told the same thing about their children and have been referred to the same psychologist. Our stories are similar and we parents feel that the teachers are ill prepared/not fully trained to work with and understand young children. The difficult part of dealing with such an ineffective teacher is the staff and principle will not find fault with the teacher, but have labeled all of our children as the source of the problems. Hard to believe that almost every child in a small class of 12 is the problem, and that it's not the teacher. Horrible!

Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
My children (I have three) have been attending Rodef since 2009. We have been extremely happy with each of their teachers. They have an OT and Speech person on staff. It is a play based program, but come on, what else should the kids be doing at two, except playing and learning to socially play? It is a Jewish preschool and my two year old is saying the prayers for Shabbat and is familiar with all of the Jewish holidays. November 29th post - says that the teachers are hit or miss - but I feel like that is the case here - they're is a mixture of seasoned teachers as well as new ones! At the Kindergarten readiness panel I attended, the Kindergarten teachers from each of the surrounding counties each individually stated that the children who come from Rodef are always more than prepared for Kindergarten - please check facts before you post!

Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
I have had such a positive experience at TRS Nursery School! I have three children, an 8 year old, a 6 year old and a 3 year old. All of my children have had wonderful, caring, and communicative teachers at TRSNS. The school does a great job preparing the kids for kindergarten. The play based curriculum allows the children learn a huge amount without being drilled with academics. I would highly recommend. The community of teachers, staff and families can't be beat!


Temple Rodef Shalom 1

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
The first year program is good- a lot of play & caring teachers. But, beyond that they do not keep up with the current kindergarten standards and many children are not kindergarten ready. The play focus is really dominant and very little traditional learning take place. The teachers, like most schools, are hit and miss.

Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
excellent preschool. my son has been so happy at this school although we have not attended for long.

Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
This is the most amazing preschool. The teachers are caring, energetic, and knowledgeable. The director is superb, and is often seen in the classroom. The 'learn through play' approach is wonderful. Most importantly, my child is learning to love school!


Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
My son and daughter attended this wonderful, caring, tremendous preschool. The classrooms have a 1:5 teacher:child ratio--every class has one teacher and two assistants. Two formal parent/teacher conferences go into detail about the age-appropriate milestones (from a documented source) that are worked on throughout the year and measured so parents know exactly how their child is doing relative to others his/her age. The Pre-K teachers have 13+, 20+ years experience. Children graduating from this school are more than prepared for Kindergarten. The strong parent involvement and community put this school over the top.

Temple Rodef Shalom 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
From the director to the teachers and the staff, our family's experience at the Rodef Shalom Nursery School has been terrific. Our daughter had a wonderful two years there. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this caring, nurturing preschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Temple Rodef Shalom
2100 Westmoreland Street, Falls Church, VA  22043
(703) 532-2227
Last modified Temple Rodef Shalom is a Private school that serves grade PK
Temple Rodef Shalom Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top