Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

A World Of Children

Private | PK-4 | 55 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chesapeake

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $301,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2014

My 2 sons have attended AWOC in Chesapeake since 2008. The staff there truly treat them like they are family and I know that my boys are always taken care of whenever they are there. I would recommend AWOC to anyone with a child 2-12 without any hesitation. I love Ms. Vicki and her entire staff!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

I adored my son's time at AWOC! Ms. Tiny and Ms. Vicki were so caring and patient. My son was there from preschool as a 3 year old, straight through kindergarten. This year, he graduates from high school and is heading out to an Ivy League university. I credit AWOC with instilling in him a sense of wonder when it comes to education. I would recommend AWOC to anyone looking for a loving environment where children can flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Amazing daycare at an affordable price, with lots of diversity! My son has been attending nearly 2 yrs now and is learning so much! He loves the staff- Ms. Michelle, Ms. Shirley, Ms. Courtney, Ms. NayNay, & especially his teacher Mrs. Kathy! This is a learning center, they give homework, report cards, etc- he is more than prepared to enter kindergarten in sept! He can even tell time on an analog clock! The staff is like family- I hug them every time I see them, they are flexible, and they are supportive. They feed the kids meals & snacks, have celebrations constantly, and have a structured schedule that isn't overwhelming for young children. You would be crazy to pass up this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

A World of Children is the perfect place for our 3rd child. It is a real life, hands on, academic and situational prep school. They teach children to take responsibility for their own behavior by owning their consequences. (real life ethics class) I am equally impressed by the character of all of the employees, who do not consider themselves employees but rather embody teamwork and consider themselves as an extension of your family. The school takes a holistic approach when teaching your child. This diversified teaching is important, as each child learns a differnt way. I whole heartedly reccommend A World of Children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

Judging from other experiences with my son and other preschools as well as family and friend care, this is the best experience we have ever had!!! The faculty and staff there are on the ball with providing the best education possible and I have never seen My son thrive so well and want to be so enthusiastic about learning! He couldn't wait for the next day! We went through some really tough times him and I....and they were the ones that stepped up and made sure he didn't go hungry nor without! They took it upon themselves to go the extra miles by all means necessary! Any time there were accidents from kids just being kids they never hesitated to keep me posted! Unfortunately I had to take my son out of this wonderful preschool that he and I fell in love with! fortunately if was to move on to bigger and better things for our future! I wish I could pack them all up and move them where we go because you will not find the most reliable, educated, kind, and caring people anywhere else! Thank you AWOC faculty and staff! You are amazing passionate people and I wish all yous guys the best! Xoxo we miss you all! K&G
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

My son still loves AWOC! He went to AWOC at the age of 2, is now 10 and continues for after school care. Even on school holidays he requests to go to AWOC for the day because he loves it there so much. My son attended AWOC through kindergarten and when he entered 1st grade at the public school the teacher commented on how well students from AWOC do in her class. As an educator myself, I couldn't be more pleased with my son's pre-school/kindergarten experience at AWOC. They have a rigorous curriculum and by that I don't mean more worksheets/busy work. Their curriculum embodies creativity, and higher order thinking which is the educational definition of rigor. My son was more than prepared for 1st grade. We credit AWOC 100% for establishing his strong foundation in reading, math, and science. There is minimal staff turn around and they have to be the nicest group of educators we have experienced. My son has always felt taken care of, supported, and loved. It's a nice feeling for a parent knowing your child is in a safe, loving environment when you drop off in the morning. AWOC cares for the "whole child" & I give them my highest recommendation as a parent and as an educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

A world Of Children is a great school. If I could give them a higher rating I would in a heartbeat. My daughter has been going there for 4 years now. Next year she will be leaving there to go to the second grade and we will miss the family atmosphere provided by the staff. The one on one attention provided by the staff to the children is exceptional. The head start giving to my daughter will be an advantage to her throughout her school years. All of the children that I know that have attended in the past are all enrolled in advanced classes in their current schools and are on the honor roll. I am glad that this opportunity was given to my family to provide my daughter with the head start on her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My eldest daughter, who is now 15, had an excellent experience at AWOC! She enrolled when she was two, and she stayed until she began Kindergarten at a different private school. In order to attend that particular school, my daughter had to take a test--she passed WAY ABOVE expectations! Now, ten years later, my twin girls are also attending AWOC. To the testament of the longevity of the staff: my girls were taught by the SAME teachers who taught my 15 year old! Ms. Tiny and Ms. Mel are WONDERFUL, and Mrs. Vicki loves each and every child who attends her school! We have lost a few teachers this year but NOT due to any fault of the owner; rather, one teacher retired, one got married, one made a career change, and one was released because her unpleasant attitude towards the parents and children were not deemed acceptable by Mrs. Vicki. My girls adore their Kindergarten teacher, their classmates, and the rest of the staff. Their teacher is enthusiastic and encouraging! She updates us via e-mail on the twins' progress, and she is always available to answer questions we may have (as is the rest of the staff). AWOC is a WONDERFUL school and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

Losing approximately 50% of your faculty in a year is neither "immature" nor "vindictive." It's what most people call "a fact." I'm delighted that some people have had a positive experience but my child did not. Please refrain from personal attacks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

This school is absolutely amazing. As a military family, we looked for a school environment where our children could grow and at the same time have the support of a loving extended family during the long deployments. After moving to Chesapeake, we were scrambling to find a new facility for our 2 children. I was also 6 months pregnant with our third. It was a 3-day marathon to find a school. After a teary panic, I saw this cute little building with a colorful A WORLD OF CHILDREN sign. I decided to stop in. They were in the middle of a tornado drill and I was amazed by their organization! I knew immediately, this was going to be a wonderful experience. 5 years later our 4 year old still attends. These children have had an exceptional education with fantastic teachers. I am so proud of the advanced skills they have acquired while attending AWOC. When a 3 year old can recite the alphabet understanding that L, M, N, O, P are individual letters and count to 50, you have truly found what so many parents have been looking for. AWOC encompasses the true meaning of education to nourish the unique and unfathomable possibilities that each child introduces into the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

This school is amazing. From the minute you walk in you can feel the love. It's a home like place. My oldest son who is now 7 started going there when he was 2. He love's it. When it is time to go home he does not want to leave. He has learned so much. From his ABC's and 123's to reading and writting, math etc. Now my youngest son attends. We are so excited for him. This is a great school it has everything you could ever want for your child. As a mom I feel like this was the best decision I could have ever made. It's so nice to know that when I am not around my boy's are with people who love them and will take care of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

fantastic! ms vicki is the most loving caring person and her teachers are the like! my child talks non stop about her teacher and i wouldnt have it any other way! i highly recommend!! finally child care where i am not worried to leave my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

This is a WONDERFUL school. My oldest daughter attended during the summer and my middle daughter has been attending since she was 2, she is now 6 and in the 1st grade. My youngest daughter will begin in May. The Director (Miss Vicki) has a true passion for the needs of each child and can tell you a story about all of them. The teachers are fabulous and build strong bonds with each child while fostering independence. I look forward to another 5 years with AWOC!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

Do not judge by the cover. The school is wonderful academically and overall teachers are phenomenal. My children are 3 and 5 and love it. I never have to worry about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

Wonderful school. Loving teachers, and staff. Very caring director. What I love the most about this school is the diversity. It is truly A WORLD OF CHILDREN at this school. If you are not ready to put your child on the BIG YELLOW BUS...the school has certified staff to transition your child straight into the state academic curriculum. My child went to this school only to get assistance with potty training, and 3 years later....not only can I share the potty success, but how well prepared my child is for kindergarten. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

752 Cedar Road
Chesapeake, VA 23322
Phone: (757) 436-6967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT