Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School Of Fairfax

Preschool | 79 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chantilly

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $348,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

This is such a wonderful school the director and staff care deeply for each child and work to see them thrive. The rich environment and child directed methodology is teaching my kids a love of learning and exploration that will lay the groundwork for the rest of their lives. I'm so glad the school has expanded into Elementary so my children can continue there for the next phase of their education too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

Montessori school of fairfax is the best school in the area. My child is 2 years old and is a challenge to deal with. He has a very difficult demeanor, doesn't speak yet or communicate like children who are his age. My child was so unhappy and had so many temper tantrums when he was in the previous day care. After searching around in the area and touring over ten daycares, I immdediatly felt that Montessori school of fairfax is gonna be my son's second home. I can't even describe how wonderful and great the principal and the whole staff are. Most importantely, his teacher (Ms. Noora) is the most passionate, wonderful, and great educator that you can ever find. My son has been here for only one month, he's already learning how to say bye to us when we leave him, his temper tantrums are already gone, and he's already learning how to eat solid food which he never did before. Ms. Noora and all her assistants and the rest of the teachers are just basically THE BEST! they can understand that each child is different and unique and they have the patience, the passion, and the traning to do keep their children so happy. I can't thank you all enough for being so AMAZING with my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

Montessori school of fairfax are one of the best schools . before i enroll my daughter in the school , I went to too many schools and there was nothing like this one . may be you find other schools have good website and adds but its all business for them . In this school they care . all school staff are amazing . the elementery class is something new , the teacher Mr.Pontea doing such a mazing job . always take the time to explain . the kids are so happy and you see real progress . Thank you for all that you do . nothing can repay a teacher . parent of class E student .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

I have my two kids studying in the school. I would say, that it is my blessing to send my kids there. It is hard to see schools, where all the teachers, believe in same principles, and treat kids with lots of care. This school, is one such place, where all the teachers, including Principal, treat kids with love and care. I had observed this, my own kids in toddlers class, preschool, kindergarten and elementary classes. With education,I would say, they are doing best. Effortlessly, kids are taught, equipped with math, reading skills, lots of discussions about science, history, geography, includes hands on science learning. The school focuses on sports, arts and creativity. They provide the facility for free to outsiders for organizing these classes for kids, and savings is passed on to the parents, as benefit. I can't resist saying, the founder is very fond of kids and love them, ensures the entire school works the same way. She loves all kids as God's children and cares. This year, they started primary classes, and they are excelling in their performance, providing excellent hands on opportunities for kids. Everyday, my kids love to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

We have been through several Montessori Schools over the lives of our three kids due to family moves. We're very happy with Montessori of Fairfax - it's a traditional Montessori with a dedicated staff. The Directress is so passionate about caring for the kids, and the teachers are true believers in the Montessori approach. The school has a homey feel and truly diverse student body. Our youngest is so happy there. She looks up to the older kids who help her so willingly. I would suggest a visit to the school to see for yourself what a community Montessori feels like. It's a home away from home for the kids with great academic focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

Really good school. Had my older attend MSOFX from age 2 to 5 and then my younger one is currently in the age 3-6 class. Have good experience with teachers who teach at high standards of academics and activities. The lunch served is fresh and nutritious and priced well. Overall, really good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

Our daughter has attended this school for the past three years starting with the Toddler class. Our experience as parents has been nothing but excellent. We have engaged the directress and various teachers at length throughout these years and it has always been a positive experience. In fact, she is extremely patient with parents, and the children. This school is the epitome diversity, and as such, they have managed to be sensitive to everyone's culture. It seems to me the parent below who gave this school, the staff, and the directress herself only one star, was probably having a bad day the day they wrote this review. The directress puts her entire heart into the school and the children. During the recent flag raising celebration and the Thanksgiving celebration, she spoke from the heart and had tears in her eyes as she spoke about her devotion to the children, the school, and God. She is all heart!! When we drop off our daughter, we know that she is in a great loving place and she is learning a lot. Her vocabulary and knowledge is much more advanced than any other children that we know around us. We know that Montessori School of Fairfax has a lot to do with it..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

It deeply saddens me that anyone would write something negative about this school and its teachers. I have had my children attend this school for the past five years. I have two children, both of whom went through an incredibly supportive and stimulating toddler environment. The teachers in the toddler classroom go above and beyond what you can expect from another 'daycare' situation (which is what most other schools offer for 2-year olds). The teachers exposed my two year old to challenging lessons, and helped to support his growth and development in a pace that was individually geared towards his success. My other child 'graduated' from kindergarten last year working on concepts that the local schools are focusing on in the second and third grades. She also cares about other students' well-being, helping struggling classmates in the true Montessori fashion, which was always encouraged at this school. This is a kind, supportive and enriching environment, where every child and parent gets individual attention. I highly recommend this school, and in fact, have two of my neighbors' children now attending-both of whom love it. Maria Montessori would be proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

My daughter has been attending this school for the last 2+ years, starting in the toddler class and recently moving up to a primary class. So far, our experience at this school has been nothing but positive. The toddler class teachers are absolutely amazing and have always treated my daughter like one of their own. Her new teachers are just as great, providing a safe and nurturing environment that fosters her growth as a student and as a young child. It is evident that the entire staff at this school dedicates themselves to the children. The Directress is warm and inviting, and always takes the time to make us feel welcome and that our child is secure. The rest of the staff upholds that standard at all times. Our child recently had a health emergency at the school due to a medical condition and the staff responded amazingly. I would recommend this place to all those considering sending their child to school. In fact, i will be sending my son here when he is old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2012

I have been working at this school for the past ten years and I can vouch that the owner/directress puts her heart and soul into the school. This is not a business to her, but her life. Unfortunately sometimes it is diffult for some parents to accept that their child is a unique individual and may not meet their own preconcieved perceptions. It is difficult for some parents to allow us to recommend their child to be examined for certain learning development curves so that we can teach that child accroding to his special needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 26, 2012

Very low standards. too many students for one teacher, the teaching quality is low, the play ground is unsafe and not well equipped, the director does not know how to treat parents. Overall I do not recommend this place, you can find much better schools for the amount of money you pay to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Safe environment but toddlers are not learning as much as they should. Classes are too large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

A wonderful, safe, clean, and nurturing environment for your child to build their early developmental foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3411 Lees Corner Road
Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone: (571) 323-0222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT