Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a community member
Wonderful school,great structure,excellant teachers,children are really loved and cared for.What more could you ask for? I've watched children as they grew up and moved from Montessorion to to higher levels of their education and what they were taught and what they learned played a major role in their advancement. Their teaching methods are the the best and each child is taught to respect each other and their elders.They learn how to share,participate and be "part of".They do a lot of "hands on"learning skills. You want be dissappointed in letting your child be part of such a great school.

Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a parent
Blacksburg Montessori is an absolutely FANTASTIC school. My daughter attended the past two years there, and the positive changes Lynne and Marilou inspired in her absolutely blew my mind. You would be hard pressed to find two more caring and dedicated individuals than they are. The classroom is set up to inspire the children to make choices exploring things that interest them and expand on those interests in the form of individually tailored lessons. Materials are high quality, and though they are all fun, each serves a purpose intended to hone later skills. The teaching methods used promote a love of learning and assist in obtaining a sense of independence and self confidence.The school and teachers are truly amazing, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a truly wonderful preschool experience for their children.


Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted June 17, 2010
- a parent
My son has been enrolled since 3 and he will be going into his last year there this coming fall (a total of 3 years) before Kindergarten. I have had a wonderful experience. I have gotten to know the teachers well and they ALWAYS have great advice on how to handle certain things that come up with my preschooler. They are kind and caring but direct with their approach and respected by the children and parents. I still have one more child to send to them so I am honored to be apart of their lives 3 more years. Thank you Blacksburg Montessori School!!!

Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
My son attended BMS for 3 years and now my daughter is in her first year. The staff is phenomenal and the facility is perfectly arranged to encourage young learners.

Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted May 22, 2010
- a parent
BMS is an academic preschool, keeping a great balance of learning, fun, and socializiation for the children. The mixed-age classroom is a great learning environment. Children are able to make their own choices of "work" from many areas of interest. Everything they do is engaging, hands-on learning; no busy work, no worksheets, no fluff. My first and second children loved attending BMS and left there extremely well prepared for Kindergarten. My third child will begin in the fall and cannot wait!


Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
Our son is in his second year at BMS, and we could not be happier. The teachers set high expectations for the children and help them to learn independence, self confidence, and personal responsibility. The teachers care very deeply about each student and his/her family, and the community of parents is supportive to one another. We are so grateful for our experience here!

Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
My son attended BMS for 3 years and now my daughter is finishing up her 3rd year there as well. BMS is structured and follows a daily routine, which my kids found to be very comforting. They both liked choosing their own work. If ever a problem arises between the kids, the teachers encourage the kids to work it out themselves (i.e., go tell Joe that you don't like that and ask him to please stop). Both my kids thrived there and learned invaluable skills.

Blacksburg Montessori School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
We love BMS. Our son has attended for the past two years and has been so happy. The teachers are very respectful and the kids just love learning to do things by themselves.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blacksburg Montessori School
Po Box 684, Blacksburg, VA  24063
(540) 953-1449
Last modified Blacksburg Montessori School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Blacksburg Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top