Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
84 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ha'penny Montessori School 3

Posted July 08, 2016
- a parent
I feel a little generous giving 3 stars, but the school gets that purely because of the infant and toddler classes. I liked the teacher/student ratios in both the infant and toddler classes and felt that my child got a lot of love and attention. The teachers also keep the children engaged throughout the day, even in aftercare. In the Primary classes the ratios are not as great, but still standard I suppose. The classrooms seem very small for the number of students. If you're looking for a full-day program, I would suggest you look elsewhere because the aftercare program is a joke and simply glorified babysitting. I once heard a parent question a teacher about the lack of learning in aftercare and the response was that the Montessori education ends at noon!. The kids learn nothing and the teachers sit around. At pickup I saw teachers on there phones numerous times and on several occasions I picked up my child (other kids still present) in the hallway because the teachers had cleaned up and were ready to leave, even though it wasn't 6PM yet. I had to move my child from this school because my child was miserable in primary and it would take an extremely long review to describe how miserable. When my child started at a new school, there was an instant change and I mean from day one. We had prepared ourselves for a rough transition but what we experienced was a seamless one.The school has a high teacher turnover and while we were at the school, we noticed the English of the teachers' assistants was quite questionable. We couldn't communicate too effectively with a couple of them, but they still seemed loving. The administrator was friendly and always helpful, however I didn't trust the director and also thought she was all about the bottom line. I would give 4 stars based on infant and toddler programs (less 1 star because of the English/communication issue), however, I would only give the primary program 1 star.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
It's a great school. My daughter loves her teachers and looks forward to go to school everyday.


Ha'penny Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
Thankful to Ms. Shoshana, Ms. Sujan, and Ms.Ally. My daughter loves them and looks forward to see them everyday.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Ha'Penny since January. Even before she started, the staff was so helpful in getting her ready and helping answer our questions. From day one, everyone at the school has been so welcoming. They know us, all know our daughter by name, and truly care about her. We love that it's a small school with a community feeling, and love the Montessori approach. We are constantly astounded by what our daughter is learning and have seen great strides in her language and development since she started attending. The Montessori Compass makes communicating with the teachers and keeping up to date on her progress very easy. We feel like she has never received anything but superb care here. The environment is clean, nurturing, and very much geared towards the children learning as individuals and making progress on their own time.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year with Ha'Penny Montessori and we could not be happier. Our son is thriving both academically and socially. The teachers are all wonderful, loving and truly caring. We love the Montessori Compass that provides us with monthly progress reports and a clear explanation of the skills/content taught. We highly recommend this school!


Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
We have had nothing but great experiences at Ha'Penny. They are , hands down, the most caring and nurturing school we have attended. The whole school works as a team and every employee knows every child. The director is there everyday with an open door and truly listens to parents. Our kids are confident, smart, above average children and we attribute that to their time at Ha'Penny Montessori School. We love the family spirit at the school and could not think of a better start to our children's education, they continue to Love to Learn.

Ha'penny Montessori School 2

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We had a very poor experience with the school. The teachers were laregly disengaged and let their assistants do all the work. The school cares much more about their bottom line than doing the best for the families and children. The end result is a sad mix of students entering Kindergarten, scrambling to catch up with their peers. There are better Montessori options in the area that haven't had the large number of families and teachers leaving in droves. My advice, if you are considering the school, is to keep looking.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
I highly recommend Ha'penny Montessori school. My family is very blessed to be a part of this school. I am so thankful for the teachers especially in primary classroom as they continue to not only teach excellent academics, but also have a wonderful emphasis on strong character, which is so extremely important. It is a great comfort to me to know that my child is in a safe and peaceful and nourishing environment. The teachers are so kind, compassionate, and understanding. We are so blessed!


Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I would like readers to know my husband and I have had three children attend Ha penny Montessori School. My review is based on over five years with this school and I have first-hand experience with almost every classroom teacher currently working at Ha penny Montessori School. Contrary to other reviews, Ha penny Montessori School has provided my children with a wonderful and enriching educational experience that is second to none. The director as well as the teachers are extremely loving and very dedicated to the school and parents. I only wish that Ha penny Montessori School would extend its program through Elementary so that my older children could continue to benefit from the amazing learning environment they provide. I highly recommend that any parent who is interested in high quality early education seriously consider Ha penny Montessori School.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at HMS, one in the toddler class and another in the primary. I have been extremely happy with this school. The teachers are very well versed in the Montessori system and keep up with yearly trainings. Since enrolling, my kids have exuded a high level of confidence as well as academics. I toured a lot of schools prior to enrolling and this is the best decision I have made so far. I have had the opportunity to observe both classes while in session and I have nothing but high praise for their teachers and the individual interactions they have with all the children. The Director's number one priority is the children and this is clearly shown in how my kids as well as the other children completely light up and tell her about their day. She is welcoming and very easy to deal with on all levels. The school operates on Loudoun county school closures and openings when it snows. With the numerous snow days that we have had this year she has had so much compassion for working parents and has kept the school open even when loudoun county was closed. HMS gives me a high sense of security and academic excellence for my children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ha'penny Montessori School
20854 Stubble Road, Ashburn, VA  20147
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (703) 729-5755
Last modified Ha'penny Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top