Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Ashburn, VA
Students enrolled: 84
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Ha'Penny since January. Even before she started, the staff was so helpful in getting her ready and helping answer our questions. From day one, everyone at the school has been so welcoming. They know us, all know our daughter by name, and truly care about her. We love that it's a small school with a community feeling, and love the Montessori approach. We are constantly astounded by what our daughter is learning and have seen great strides in her language and development since she started attending. The Montessori Compass makes communicating with the teachers and keeping up to date on her progress very easy. We feel like she has never received anything but superb care here. The environment is clean, nurturing, and very much geared towards the children learning as individuals and making progress on their own time.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year with Ha'Penny Montessori and we could not be happier. Our son is thriving both academically and socially. The teachers are all wonderful, loving and truly caring. We love the Montessori Compass that provides us with monthly progress reports and a clear explanation of the skills/content taught. We highly recommend this school!


Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
We have had nothing but great experiences at Ha'Penny. They are , hands down, the most caring and nurturing school we have attended. The whole school works as a team and every employee knows every child. The director is there everyday with an open door and truly listens to parents. Our kids are confident, smart, above average children and we attribute that to their time at Ha'Penny Montessori School. We love the family spirit at the school and could not think of a better start to our children's education, they continue to Love to Learn.

Ha'penny Montessori School 2

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We had a very poor experience with the school. The teachers were laregly disengaged and let their assistants do all the work. The school cares much more about their bottom line than doing the best for the families and children. The end result is a sad mix of students entering Kindergarten, scrambling to catch up with their peers. There are better Montessori options in the area that haven't had the large number of families and teachers leaving in droves. My advice, if you are considering the school, is to keep looking.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
I highly recommend Ha'penny Montessori school. My family is very blessed to be a part of this school. I am so thankful for the teachers especially in primary classroom as they continue to not only teach excellent academics, but also have a wonderful emphasis on strong character, which is so extremely important. It is a great comfort to me to know that my child is in a safe and peaceful and nourishing environment. The teachers are so kind, compassionate, and understanding. We are so blessed!


Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I would like readers to know my husband and I have had three children attend Ha penny Montessori School. My review is based on over five years with this school and I have first-hand experience with almost every classroom teacher currently working at Ha penny Montessori School. Contrary to other reviews, Ha penny Montessori School has provided my children with a wonderful and enriching educational experience that is second to none. The director as well as the teachers are extremely loving and very dedicated to the school and parents. I only wish that Ha penny Montessori School would extend its program through Elementary so that my older children could continue to benefit from the amazing learning environment they provide. I highly recommend that any parent who is interested in high quality early education seriously consider Ha penny Montessori School.

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at HMS, one in the toddler class and another in the primary. I have been extremely happy with this school. The teachers are very well versed in the Montessori system and keep up with yearly trainings. Since enrolling, my kids have exuded a high level of confidence as well as academics. I toured a lot of schools prior to enrolling and this is the best decision I have made so far. I have had the opportunity to observe both classes while in session and I have nothing but high praise for their teachers and the individual interactions they have with all the children. The Director's number one priority is the children and this is clearly shown in how my kids as well as the other children completely light up and tell her about their day. She is welcoming and very easy to deal with on all levels. The school operates on Loudoun county school closures and openings when it snows. With the numerous snow days that we have had this year she has had so much compassion for working parents and has kept the school open even when loudoun county was closed. HMS gives me a high sense of security and academic excellence for my children.

Ha'penny Montessori School 1

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, our experience with Ha'Penny was sadly and hugely disappointing. I would highly recommend to anyone contemplating this school to also carefully consider other site reviews (Google, etc.), as well as certifications and class size. The school has requested referrals in its newsletters so bear that in mind as you review. We were tremendously concerned and disappointed by a teacher's and the director's interactions with our small child and our family as a whole. In addition, the primary class was not what we perceived as Montessori-like at all and instead was often noisy and appeared to us quite chaotic instead of the serene environment often found in montessori schools. Perhaps this was due to the high numbers. I don't think all classes there are that way but I can offer nothing good in regard to our experience in this particular primary classroom or at this school.


Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at HMS for 9 months and we're very happy with the school. They welcome every child in the morning personally and they make you feel like your child is important. Even teachers who are not in my son's class always greet him by name. The administrator is great! She's loving and has worked with us when we've needed anything. He's developing wonderfully and learning so much. I always said i would only put my child in a school that has cameras, so i can keep an eye on him, but i felt comfortable with HMS from the moment i visited and still feel comfortable when i drop my son off. Great school!

Ha'penny Montessori School 5

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been at Ha'penny for a year now and my husband and I feel like it's the best decision we ever made. We started her on a part-time basis but she loved it so much we quickly had to enrol her full time! She has learnt a whole lot this past year in her toddler class and we are looking forward to her primary year. Muiride and staff make us feel like family!! They are right there with you when your child is sick to when you the parent need a hug if you a bit knackered. She is always available to listen to concerns and being a mother herself, she takes the nurturing of the kids to another level! You will not regret choosing Ha'penny for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ha'penny Montessori School
20854 Stubble Road, Ashburn, VA  20147
(703) 729-5755
Last modified Ha'penny Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Ha'penny Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top