Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Golden Pond School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been with Golden Pond since 2010. Our sons have had the best experience and I can't say enough good things about the school. The environment is family-oriented and even teachers who haven't had my kids, still know them by name! A Nurturing, safe, great education and a fun place for all. My oldest son also attended full day Kindergarten which was worth every penny and then some. I am looking forward to my youngest son attending next year when he is old enough to start. Some of my best mommy friends are from previous classes and we still keep in touch. :) Love love love this school!

Golden Pond School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
Golden Pond School was the perfect solution for both of my children. The teachers are so well-trained, energetic, creative, friendly, and probably the hardest-working preschool teachers I have ever seen. They truly care about children and believe in their ability to learn even at a very young age. Golden Pond's mission is that learning can be both fun and meaningful, and every single activity they create for the children is done so with this thought in mind. In addition to the academic education, which is wonderful and unlike any I have ever seen in this area, my children truly felt cared for by their teachers and the entire staff. I appreciated that the students were assigned classroom "jobs" on a rotating basis, as I believe it helped instill a sense of pride and ownership in their classroom as well as emphasized individual responsibility. The teachers are equally respectful of the parents and never hesitate to share their expertise and communicate openly about all aspects of the child's day. I highly recommend this school to anyone who would like to see their child enter kindergarten academically prepared, with self-confidence, and with a love of learning.


Golden Pond School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went to Golden Pond for full day kindergarten for the 2012-2013 school year. It was a wonderful experience, and I am so happy we chose Golden Pond. It is a place of sunshine and creativity. Each month they studied different themes and all of their curriculum work related to the theme so that the children were subject matter experts by the end of the month. The field trips to places like DC and Great Country Farms were fabulous. Everything about the school is incredibly well run and organized. The car pool line is super organized, and each staff member helps get the children in the cars. By doing so not only do you get to know them all, but the whole school ends up knowing your child. My daughter is currently in first grade in public school and while there is now a heavier dose of institutionalization than sunshine, she was well prepared and doing great. I also want to agree with another reviewer that while I definitely knew we were having a wonderful experience while we were enrolled in Golden Pond, I appreciate the experience even more now with hind sight. Thank you Golden Pond!!

Golden Pond School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
My son went there for 3 years. He went to all day kindergarten. His teachers where Ms. Sikora and Ms. Dudley, they where amazing!! I accredit his successful start in education to them and the school!!!!! I recommend GPS!!!!!!!!

Golden Pond School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
Golden Pond School was just what our family was looking for when choosing a full day kindergarten program for our daughter! The small class size, hands on activities and exciting themes made learning fun!!! We enjoyed weekly newsletters that gave us an inside look into her classroom and pictures posted to Shutterfly. Our family would highly recommend Golden Pond School to other families!! The outstanding education definitely prepared our daughter for first grade!


Golden Pond School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
My son has gone to GPS for 2 years now... and by far we think its the best SCHOOL around.... my son started at age 3 years. The amount of things he learned was amazing. My wife and I searched/toured over a dozen schools nearby and they all seemed like overpriced daycare rather then a learning facility. All the staff and teachers were fantastic. The teachers are very good at understanding the child's specific needs and strengths. I noticed a post about not checking baked goods that were brought in by parents and I know for a fact this is not true.... they were very thorough in checking EVERYTHING we brought in as parents. Our friend noticed how well our son was doing and moved their son into the school as well.... and noticed a significant change and are very pleased. Those who think it is overpriced.... so be it.. .but you pay for what you get. Great school... Great teachers.... well worth it. This is not DAYCARE... so you can not compare it to DAYCARE price... Its as SCHOOL... you pay for the education.

Golden Pond School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
GPS is highly overrated.This pre-K evaluates & grades your child for placement the next year as opposed to going by age.They will make their current customers camp out to enroll for the upcoming year in order to secure a spot.The school claims their process to b on a "first come first serve" basis & parents are told that the child can b placed in the level of the choosing. However we learned the school can decide to alter placements @ their own discretion based on these assessments. For new customers, there is no evaluation that can be performed on the child yet, so parents actually can have their child placed in the level of their choosing.This essentially gives an illogical advantage 2 the new customer over the current customer.GPS is not even an accredited school,so it doesn't make sense why the school puts so much emphasis on child placement since it has no bearing on the child eventually moving on to kindergarten.The school does have a nut-free policy 2 protect children with food allergies.However,they allow parents to bring in baked goods in which they do not monitor or label ingredients.This is alarming 4 the safety of those children.I don't recommend this school 2 anybody.

Golden Pond School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
Well overpriced, stuff unprofessional and rude. The ladies running the front desk rude and unprofessional and just not friendly. I know, before I signed up they were very nice, after I signed up they really showed their face. they make me feel like they mind parents coming into the school and checking on the kids. It is a Little old building behind a Lido Chinese supermarket. Carpool is a nightmare, they have parents park behind that Chinese suermarket and other stores. there are angry pizza drivers trying to get out in that traffic...There are delivery trucks coming in- it does get ugly. They pretend they are so good, but they are not.


Golden Pond School 2

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Overpriced for what it is. Golden Pond has a good curriculum as another poster mentioned, but teacher turnover is pretty high, and the staff is less than professional. Their policies on refunds are ridiculous, and the deposits are some of the highest we have encountered in any preschool. The only thing that we were very impressed with was the artwork (though the art teacher has since left since our daughter graduated). Wish I could recommend it but our experience was less than stellar.

Golden Pond School 5

Posted January 30, 2011
- a parent
Great School! My daughter is in the full time KG program and my son is in 5 day pre school program. We are 100% satisfied in all aspects of our childrens' education at the GPS. This is our 3rd year at GPS and we love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden Pond School
43940 Farmwell Hunt Plaza, Ashburn, VA  20147
(703) 723-7663
Last modified Golden Pond School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Golden Pond School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top