Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dancing Moose Montessori School

Private | PK-2 & ungraded | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Valley City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2014

Dancing Moose has provided my husband and I with the peace of knowing that our daughter is in good hands. The teachers, facility, and programs are amazing! We enrolled our daughter (two-years-old) halfway through the year when we realized that she wasn't handling another school option as well as we had hoped. The switch to Dancing Moose has been so beneficial! Our little girl is happy and learns so much every day - she never hesitates to say goodbye in the morning and sometimes doesn't want to leave when we arrive to pick her up! Dancing Moose provides not only high-quality academics, but character training that is invaluable. We couldn't be happier with our choice of schools! We have applied for their dual-immersion Spanish preschool program next year and can't wait to work in the community garden this Spring! Our daughter also gets to learn through music, movement, exploration, manipulative, etc. Dancing Moose is truly amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I'm a proud staff member and former parent at Dancing Moose. There is a reason why we call Dancing Moose our second home. There are caring, professional and educated staff members who truly want to provide a loving and healthy environment for children. Dancing Moose provides daily movement classes, a community garden, teaches courtesy and respect... and has a great academic program! There's no better place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2014

When we were considering moving to our new neighborhood, one of the reasons we chose the Lake Park area was because of this school. I am a big Montessori fan and this school has it all--a wonderful building, caring loving teachers, classrooms set up with all the great Montessori materials, and tons of bonus programs like dance, yoga, gardening, and more. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

This school is excellent. My daughter loves her teacher, and I love that her teacher has a Bachelor degree and will finish her Montessori certification this year. I'm glad she came back from a maternity leave to teach my daughter who is 4 years old and already reading. She loves to go to school each day and talks about "my smiling teacher" each night. As a working mom, I am so thankful for Dancing Moose and my daughter's loving teacher. It's no wonder that this school has won best of state metals multiple years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2013

I love Dancing Moose. My son began attending kindergarten this Fall, and he has progressed beyond my imagination. Last summer he was diagnosed with a learning disability, and he has progressed from not knowing all of his letter sounds to reading Level A readers. I am so grateful for his two teachers and their dedication to excellence. He is even learning some Spanish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2012

I am very disappointed with Dancing Moose. I loved it when my kids were preschool age but the part time kindergarten class is a disaster. This class includes kids ages 3-5. Some kids attend 3x a week, some 2x a week and some 5x a week. On top of that, kindergarten kids are there 5x a week. I just do not think it is possible for teachers to properly focus on kindergarten age kids in 3 hours a day with all younger kids around. They just kept working on the same things as in preschool program. Several parents moved their kids to different schools as I did. It seems it did not concern Dancing Moose administration at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

My kids have been attending DMM for almost 2 years now. It was great until about 5 months ago. The school had a very different feel to it, new director, limited staff. There are new teachers almost every month. Teachers being let go for yelling at kids. There is no proactive approach about handling any issues that arise. I had to find out from my daughter instead of seeing a report and seeing what is being done to address violence and kids roaming free around the school. They are not very open to any suggestions or complaints. Very unprofessional in handling any concerns, especially the director who is very condescending to say the least. It is an all inclusive school with inexperienced and uncertified teachers who are left to handle children including those with any special needs. You are not made aware of the possibility of having kids with special needs being the classroom when you are registering your child but when you hear about incidences happening during class time - bullying, disrespect as well as hitting not only towards classmates but towards teachers also. Very unprofessional and unsafe environment, where my daughter learned disrespect and pugnacious words!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

My little ones have been attending DMM for 2 years now! We love everything from the building, the garden, the Montessori method with integrated Utah standards, the healthy food plus snacks, wonderful teachers that care for your child as if they were their own and a great administration who knows each family member by name! They really have made this a fun & cool community atmosphere to be a part of! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Dancing Moose is fantastic! My daughter loves her two teachers and she's learned so much I am amazed every day. I never have to worry when I drop her off in the morning. I looked hard for an outstanding school, and I found it at Dancing Moose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Our child has been attending school at Dancing Moose for over two years, and things were great until the director went out on maternity leave and permanently reassigned job roles for the staff. The current administrator/director is unfriendly and is lacking the necessary communication skills for someone her position. She never smiles or shows kindness to children or parents, and the overall attitude of the facility is has shifted from one of happiness to a purely business environment. Corners seem to be cut when it comes to classroom supplies and activities, and the changes being made are focused on the well being of the staff vs. the children. All in all, there is nothing special about this school. The current administrator (Jessica) has ruined that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I love the school, the teachers and the staff. The atmosphere in the school is very welcoming and both of my children have really enjoyed it. With the variety of things the kids learn, I can not imagine any child on any level not being able to succeed! I do recommend this school to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

My daughter is an artist! Thanks to Miss Haley''s Moose Boost class my 5 year old can draw, paint, and create clay sculptures. I am so grateful for the after-school Moose Boost program that complements Dancing Moose's outstanding school program. I recommend Dancing Moose to any parent who is looking for the very best opportunities for their child, before and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Dancing Moose is the best school in Salt Lake. I have had my child here for a year. He is now 4 years old and reading! He loves to come to school each day, and he shares what he is learning each night. He says he want to be a scientist when he grows up because scientists discover cool things that will save the world. I'm so grateful that the curriculum at Dancing Moose challenges my son in a variety of academic areas. He is getting the best possible start in life thanks to the outstanding program at Dancing Moose. I'm amazed at all Dancing Moose offers, including outstanding food, yoga, and Tae Kwon Do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I have worked at Dancing Moose for over three years. It is the best place I have ever worked. The administration is extremely supportive, and my co-workers are awesome. I love having a co-teacher so that I can work individually with children. Everyone pitches in to keep the school clean and beautiful, and parents are involved and supportive. We do some fun outreach programs to the community, such as our Spring Fling where parents, grandparents, friends, and neighbors all get together for activities and a picnic. These are the kinds of things that help our families know how much we care about each and every family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 14, 2010

My son started here when he was 3 and had been at one other school before then. He attended full-time in the beginning and then went part-time continually until he began Kindergarten at 6 - about 2 1/2 yrs total. The class sizes are small, the teachers are attentive and very caring. One noticed how well my son was doing with his letters and sounds and, true to Montessori Methodology, saw if he was interested in trying to read. And he was! He's now in K and excelling, especially with reading. Dancing Moose helped to build a great foundation with plenty of fun and well-rounded activties - cooking in the kitchen, karate, the beautiful indoor gym, singing, etc. I look forward to taking my 2 year old there next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

I have had my son in this school for well over a year now. I believe that the classrooms that he has been in have really done well to encourage his intellectual development. However, he will be starting preschool in a few months and I do not believe there are any good teachers at this school for the 3-5 age group. I have seen many teachers come and go from this school in the past year. I discussed this matter with a staff who openly informed me that the school pays very poorly with no benefits. I want to send my child to a school that has happy teachers, not broke stressed ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

Dancing Moose has given me everything I could ask for. Besides challenging my child academically, Dancing Moose provides extra programs like movement, karate, and art programs. Everyone at the school shows interest in my child and supports him daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

Besides the early child development, I don't see any difference from this school to another. I have had my child there for over a year now and she has progressed well, but to say they teach Montessori Methods, my child doesn't seem to be challenged but held back. Staff simply doesn't listen at this school. I believe in the Methods used, but it's only as good as the people that are implementing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

I love everything about the school. My child has learned more than I could have imagined. Thank you Dancing Moose!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

I have to say that this school is awesome! We had our daughter there for a year and a half, and not only did it provide a great structor base for her, it gave her a head start on reading. The director is always there to answer questions or concerns, the teachers really listen to any parent and gives a weekly status update on your child's progress. We saw such great results I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 77%
Hispanic 12% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 2%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Black 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Duffield
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4428 Links Dr
West Valley City, UT 84120
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 968-0100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Monticello Academy
West Valley City, UT


Monroe School
West Valley City, UT


Valley Crest School
West Valley City, UT


Hillsdale School
West Valley City, UT


Philo T. Farnsworth School
West Valley City, UT


Jackling School
West Valley City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT