Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Buttons N Bows

Preschool

 
 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $243,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

My daughter has been in an in-home daycare and buttons N bows made the transition so easy, She loves the teachers there and the staff is always super friendly. My daughter is learning something new every day and always comes home happy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

Buttons 'N Bows is a great daycare/pre-school. My daughter enjoys going to school. The environment is safe. Most education is embedded in play, which allows students to develop a critical mind through exploration. Teachers are friendly and constructive. Discipline is in the form of redirection and/or asking about whether good choices have been made. Teachers also talk a great deal to students, which is key to word acquisition. Teachers review a checklist of goals with parents at the start and end of each year, plus parents receive a binder of projects at year-end. Administration is organized and responsive. The cost is reasonable and it is often easy to change schedules or use make-up days. The school offers two free weeks per year for vacation (1 during academic year, 1 in summer). Nap time is provided for children up to age 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

I adore Buttons 'N Bows. My daughter loves her teachers and her friends at school. I feel like she is getting everything she needs socially, and academically for her age. Any issues are discussed and resolved immediately. They resolve conflict with redirection so even the roughest of kids don't feel like the naughty one in the corner. Little brother can't wait till he gets to go too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

My daughter loves going to school everyday. The teachers are great and the facilities excellent. I would definitely recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

Great school for early childhood social development and learning to think constructively and creatively in a caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

I enrolled my now 8 year old there when he was two and he attended through Kindergarten. He received amazing care and is doing great in school now thanks to the foundation they provided. I have since enrolled my 2 year old there and plan to keep him through Kindergarten again. We love their program, the teachers are great and I appreciate their attentiveness to my son. He gets lots of one on one time and I love to see him happy and not wanting to leave when I pick him up at the end of the day! I would recommend this program to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

My two year old son recently began attending Buttons'n'Bows this fall. He is enjoying the program and loves the his teacher. All of the staff know him by name and stop what they are doing to say hi to him each morning. He loves the attention he gets. I found this program through personal recommendations but still checked into the program. They have a great record on file with the Dept of Health. I'm looking forward to seeing him grow and learn here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

Our two boys have been at Buttons n Bows since April 2011 It is one of the best decisions we have made for our family. They had been enrolled in another program but, once our younger son turned two & was eligible to attend B n B, we checked it and were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we entered the school, we had a sense that it was exactly what we were looking for. The class sizes are small, the activities are intellectually & developmentally stimulating, they get a lot of time to play & explore, & the kids have so much fun learning. We like the emphasis on an educational curriculum with hands on learning, field trips, & that the school is accredited. The teachers know our children very well & our boys simply adore all of them, as do we. Our older son attended kindergarten there & we could not be more pleased. We will definitely have our younger son stay at B n B for kindergarten as well. As a result of the strong background the boys have gotten, they are ahead of their peers in language and math skills, & have had the opportunity to explore the world around them, growing into well rounded, happy children. As a local pediatrician, I highly recommend them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

I have run the gamut when it comes to child care. Daycare centers, family members, in-home child care. I can say without a doubt Buttons and Bows is the absolute next best thing to family. I've always had the kind of schedule where I can drop in unexpectedly wherever my kids are. Buttons and Bows is the ONLY center I have ever encountered where the workers are ALWAYS being attentive. Many centers I've popped into in the past clearly put on a show during the high traffic hours parents are likely to drop in but aren't so on top of it when you pop in outside of those times. I live 30 seconds away and can tell you no matter when I show up, my children are being supervised, spoken to correctly and enjoying their time. As for the comments regarding the staff being young, I suppose it is how you look at things. I'd much rather have a young staff of individuals who are perhaps working their way through a child development degree and want the experience, than older individuals who might only there because they'll take any job where they can bring their kids along. Youth does not guarantee inadequacy any more than age guarantees competence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

I absolutely LOVE B-n-B! My daughter attended a few years back and did great. Unfortunately, when I had my son, due to financial circumstances, I had to put my kids in another school. Each time I dropped them off or picked them up, it was chaos. And each day my kids would beg not to go or be picked up early. So once circumstances improved, I enrolled my son in B-n-B and have never looked back. Now, when I pick up my son, it is calm and there is active and engaged learning going on. My son is happy and has actually told me to please pick him up late. I cannot say enough good things about B-n-B. The staff is amazing and they actually care about my children. My son s writing and communication has improved. They are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

It's a good school overall, teachers are great, administration is great, activities/field trips/outside play is good. My one complaint is that they aren't as academic as I expected from my qualification visit. I was under the impression academics were strongly encouraged but really it's a lot of learning play (art, music) but not much letter and number work. We visited Challenger as well and felt that though very academic there, it was too structured and demanding for a preschool. To balance it, we work with our 5 year old at home on letters/numbers so I view the pre-school as a good social and art/activity time. But I can't help but wonder why I'm paying so much for some crafts and activities. We have considered moving him but already halfway through the year, we think it will be less disruptive for him to finish than switch again before Kindergarten. It's also awesome they have longer and flexible hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

Not a lasting positive experience - pulled out. bad rapport between teachers and administration-little or no school policies.facilities need updating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

They used to be great but now there have been big changes and it's not the same. Big turnover in families and staff. Young people in charge with little experience. STaff seems unhappy with their low pay and no benefits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

My two kids have attended the Holladay Buttons 'n Bows. My daughter is now 8 and is doing very well in 3rd grade thanks to the foundation of learning she received at BnB. She attended the the school from age 3 and continued there through the private kindergarten. The one on one attention the kids receive is amazing! My son is now attending Buttons 'n Bows and has also loved his experience there. The teachers are kind and loving and the activities are fun and age appropriate. They learn so much in this loving and safe environment! The school is also a great bargain! We had tried two other preschools that were much more expensive and claimed to have an advanced curriculum with experienced long term teachers. Our experience with both of those schools was very negative compared to our experience at Buttons 'n Bows. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

My 3 kids (5 years old and 3.5 years old twins) spent almost 2 months at Buttons' n Bows during this summer and they loved it !! Heather the Director is efficient, welcoming and very professional. The teacher are very dedicated to the kids. Everything is made easy for the parents to follow their kids activities. A lot of field trips are organized. What a relief when you see happy kids in a safe and friendly environment !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Great school. My Duaghter loves the school and the teachers are so great, she was 5 and could was doing double digit math!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 77%
Hispanic 11% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 East 3900 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84124
Phone: (801) 278-8223

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT