Advertisement
Advertisement

Circle School

Private | PK-8 | 86 students

We are best known for culture and co-op community.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $279,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

This school is exactly what we wanted for our children. They are nurtured, encouraged, and loved throughput the day. The multi-age community provides ample opportunities for learning and cooperating with peers and adults, alike. Our kids are excited to learn and not pressured to master skills faster that they are ready for. The learning is paced for the students and the teachers have the flexibility to adjust lessons to offer more help if necessary. Learning is a life long process and we wanted an environment where our children would love school and be thirsty for knowledge. We have found it here and hope to be here for many more years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

My child thrives at this school! She looks forward to every school day and she comes home with little dirt under her nails and a big smile on her face. The faculty are amazingly committed, warm, wonderful people. I get weekly email updates on what is happening in classroom and teachers are easily reached in person or by email. I see my kid's teacher almost every day. Since the school is not burdened with the bureaucratic bloat of public school we are free to schedule frequent field trips, in-school performances / demonstrations and participate in greater community events. This is not lecture based instruction but a true hands-on experience - my kid knows firsthand about things that other kids do not. I've noticed that she is also developing reasoning and thinking skills beyond her years. Other things I love about Circle School... *Small class size - half that of public school - discussion not lecture *Co-op model - parental involvement is built in, decisions by consensus, strong sense of community *Affordable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

Great school! My child has flourished here, where a "whole child" approach to learning is embraced. There is a lot of parental involvement which helps create a true sense of community. I cannot recommend this school enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

The Circle School is centered on a family co-op model with amazing teachers, staff and families committed to creating an unparalleled learning environment for students. The artistic element is woven throughout the curriculum and imaginative play is encouraged--cultivating a life long love of learning, empowerment and creative thinking. When I moved to San Antonio, I was looking for a Waldorf type educational program and was excited to find the Circle School. It isn't a Waldorf school but shares many of Rudolf Steiner's ideas, as well as those of Reggio Emila. Our child's progress over the past two years has been remarkable. The community is very warm, diverse and open minded. Please note that substantial time and involvement of each family is required.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The parent involvement.The lessons of peace, using your voice and respecting others and tolerance of others and cultural differences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Circle School teaches children about diversity, social justice and the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

it is a wonderful school that helps students interact with each culture by the activities they constantly provide
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Circle School provides a warm and caring environment that focuses on the whole child. Academic curiosity, creativity, and responsibility to self, to others, and to society are nurtured at this wonderful school. Parent involvement is amazing and all members of the community (administrators, teachers, parents, students, and alumni) are fully engaged in the learning and successful development of each child. Here diversity is celebrated and all children learn about different cultures to promote peace and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Its truely about learning at the Circle school, not just teaching!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school is exemplary in that it teaches peace and tolerance for all things different. The parents, teachers and administrators all model this philosophy. They walk the talk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The Circle School is the most loving place for children. They are taught to love themselves, others, and their community. It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It's a great school, more like a family of friends who cooperate and support the common cause of a healthy, nurturing environment for the children, providing them with the skills and experience they'll need to contribute to a healthy, diversified, cooperative society later in life. The Circle School is the real thing - Very positive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This is the best community of people and evreyone cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Children who attend Circle School know a community of loving creativity and personal empowerment through intelligent self awareness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

the proof is in the kids - you will never find a more well behaved, helpful, creative, funfilled, intelligent, group of children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The Circle School teaches peace through culture and the arts. They teach to the whole child, not just the academia. Social skills and imagination are also very important. We are globally focused and a tight knit community of parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

The Circle School is a wonderful community. Students, parents, and teachers work together to create an accepting and welcoming environment. I like the small community -- about 50 families. Stories are told from many different cultures. Kids learn Yoga, composting, French and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

The Circle School is a family-owned cooperative in which each family dedicates 10 hours per month to helping the school. Parents are given significant leeway in how they volunteer. The teachers are fabulous and diverse: out of the 5 teachers, there are 2 men, an African-American woman, a graduate of UC-Berkeley, a former entomologist for the British Museum, and a hula-dancing minister's wife. The eclectic and talented teachers well represent the school. My daughters have excelled here, surpassing their peers at the public schools. Things can be a bit too funky for some (there was a peace march that some parents objected to), but everyone has a big heart and does their best to make others feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

The school has a warm and caring family environment. Everyone makes you feel welcome. The teachers challenge the kids to learn. It is ungraded, but the curriculum is not lacking. Parents receive written progress reports and conference with the teachers. Yoga, French and Spanish are part of the curriculum. I am impressed that they teach my child to be responsible for the Earth and all living things. The whole school comes together at the beginning and end of each day to share culturally diverse stories, songs and announcements. Families are expected to volunteer 10 hours per month in various capacities to offset school costs There are camps offered over holiday breaks. Field trips frequently include art, music and theater performances. I wish they offered classes through Grade 8!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

This school is like a family. It is a cooperative, so parents are very much involved at the school and they can drop in whenever they wish (they can hang around all day if they want to). It is also affordable. The kids are very different from public school kids (we've been there, too); their spirits haven't been broken by the system. This is a great school for sensitive kids or parents who feel Art is central (at CS it's taught by artists), peace should be taught, and your child's day should be spent in a relaxed, non-judgmental invironment where parents are welcome. However, academics are not as important here. (No grades, tests). An mixture of alternative teaching philosophies are used with mixed results. But reading is very important, and creativity is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 37%
Hispanic 41% 47%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Blanca Luna
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NCACS
Fax number
  • (210) 822-6989

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • The circle school is a parent run school. on top of tuition, families accrue monthly co-op fee. fees can always be waived with family participation. every hour of work equates to $10. co-op participate in building and grounds work days, hold co-op jobs, serve on the board of directors, organize fundraisers, organize field trips and visitors... among other things.
More from this school
  • The Circle School is a small family co-operative school. We have small classes and enthusiastic teachers, staff and parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

217 Pershing Avenue
San Antonio, TX 78209
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 822-0461

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lamar Elementary School
San Antonio, TX



Sunshine Cottage School
San Antonio, TX


Hawthorne Pk-8 Academy
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT