Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
98 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Prep School of McKinney
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
After a lot of thinking and discussion we decided to withdraw our son from PREP School of Mckinney starting April 2016. A couple of months ago we started noticing a change in his behavior and started to get complains from his teacher on almost a daily basis. Although, when our son came home with scratches and bites we never got any reports from school. I decided then to make unannounced visits to the school in different times and days to observe the class on the monitors. I rapidly realized that many times my son was only replying, or responding to the provocative behavior from his peers. I asked for meetings regarding watching videos from my son's class starting in January 2016. Several weeks passed and nobody contacted me. Again, I went to the school showing my concern about my son's behavior, and at this point he'd started refusing to go to school in the mornings. He was coming back from school unhappy and complaining, and his teachers insisted saying that my son didn’t know how to express himself. He never stopped expressing his emotions or talking with his friends outside the school, he just lost the interest to go to PREP.As you can imagine, our concern was growing day by day since our son always loved going to school since he was a baby. My husband and I were always participant parents, and didn't understand the lack of regular parent-teacher meetings about the children's progress, like we were used to at the prior school. When we were able to talk with the teacher at the classroom, we almost always only got complains about my son. The last meeting I requested regarding watching the videos about my son's agressivity was March 9th. Both teachers and the director were present at this meeting, and I had a friend with me to prove that nothing was explained and no video was shown to me, once again. This alone made us insecure enough to let him continue in his class. After that meeting we made the decision to withdraw our son.We can now happily report that he is back to his normal behavior, enjoying school and all activities. Also, that his new teacher is very excited about how much he can express himself and participates in the school's activities.I wish you all well and hope that no other parent has to go through the emotional roller-coaster as we did.

The Prep School of McKinney 1

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
After a lot of thinking and discussion we decided to withdraw our son from PREP School of Mckinney starting April 2016. A couple of months ago we started noticing a change in his behavior and started to get complains from his teacher on almost a daily basis. Although, when our son came home with scratches and bites we never got any reports from school. I decided then to make unannounced visits to the school in different times and days to observe the class on the monitors. I rapidly realized that many times my son was only replying, or responding to the provocative behavior from his peers. I asked for meetings regarding watching videos from my son's class starting in January 2016. Several weeks passed and nobody contacted me. Again, I went to the school showing my concern about my son's behavior, and at this point he'd started refusing to go to school in the mornings. He was coming back from school unhappy and complaining, and his teachers insisted saying that my son didn’t know how to express himself. He never stopped expressing his emotions or talking with his friends outside the school, he just lost the interest to go to PREP.As you can imagine, our concern was growing day by day since our son always loved going to school since he was a baby. My husband and I were always participant parents, and didn't understand the lack of regular parent-teacher meetings about the children's progress, like we were used to at the prior school. When we were able to talk with the teacher at the classroom, we almost always only got complains about my son. The last meeting I requested regarding watching the videos about my son's agressivity was March 9th. Both teachers and the director were present at this meeting, and I had a friend with me to prove that nothing was explained and no video was shown to me, once again. This alone made us insecure enough to let him continue in his class. After that meeting we made the decision to withdraw our son.We can now happily report that he is back to his normal behavior, enjoying school and all activities. Also, that his new teacher is very excited about how much he can express himself and participates in the school's activities.I wish you all well and hope that no other parent has to go through the emotional roller-coaster as we did.


The Prep School of McKinney
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
I don't feel they are teaching kids the basics. Simply good manners as they don't practice them themselves.

The Prep School of McKinney
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
The teachers lack the basics which is simply greeting your child with enthusiasm. They see tired and frustrated most of the time. Samehing with the front desk staff.

The Prep School of McKinney
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
I feel that all they care about is your money. They say the provide healthy food and they don't.


The Prep School of McKinney 2

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
My son attended The Prep for a couple months. As a mom that wants the best for her son I tour almost every school in McKinney and even though the Prep was NOT the best option the location was very convenient. I now regret my decision. Thanks to my experience at The Prep I have decided to stay home with him. First of all the environment is not warming, the staff was several times rude to me/son, I didn't really like the way they would treat the kids and a lot of their so called "Healthy food" is from the walmart brand "Great value". I wasn't given all the information I needed to have and I feel as if all they cared about was my money. I feel very disappointed!

The Prep School of McKinney 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
The Prep school is new, modern, and clean. The school uses tadpoles which is a system where you receive daily reports and photos all day. This is perfect for helicopter parents such as myself. My son is 11 months old as in the infant room. He struggled to adjust at the beginning but after a month he adjusted well and does not cry when I drop him off. We like it and feel like the teachers take adequate care of the children. It is still a daycare and the school is understaffed. There is the state requirement of I think 1 adult for every four children. Parents if you want to have one on one attention at a daycare with your child..it is not going to happen- it is a daycare and attention must be shared between other children. Overall we are very happy and looked at other places such as Primrose Eldorado,Merryhill, The Goddard School, Top of The World, and Primrose Stonebrooke. I would consider Primrose Eldorado as my second choice. The school has a nature center area and age appropriate playgrounds as well as a splash pad. I see the staff use sanitizer diligently as well as gloves. I feel good about this place and hope that you do too! My doctor brings her kids here.

The Prep School of McKinney 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
The school is beautiful and clean. t could be a fabulous place for children to kearn. And i will say the baby room teacher seemed very nice when i met her in passing. HOWEVER- Both of my children had an awful experience here. There are violations in child safety that they never reported, including teacher once told me they dont feel like they can call a second teacher when they need help?? i clearly heard teachers yelling at the children in my child's classroom several days at drop off. The teacher in my other childs class never had a smile and always seemed as if i was bothering her when i asked a question or needed to let her know something. My younger child cried every day for 6 months at dropoff (which she does not do at her current school) saying her teacher was "mean". do not recommend this school due to the staff issues. 3 teachers and 1 directer left within a few months of us enrolling.


The Prep School of McKinney 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
The Prep School of McKinney is one of the best, if not the best preschools my family and I have experienced. My daughter has been attending this school since their grand opening (November 2013). She loves this school and enjoys going everyday. She is learning so much. The facility is always spotless, teachers, staff, and the director are very welcoming. I enjoy the pictures I received throughout the day of my daughters activities and my little one loves the splash pad. It's just a great school all around and is definitely worth the price. I would recommend this school to anyone.

The Prep School of McKinney 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter has been in a couple different pre-schools, and The Prep is by far the best experience we have had. The staff is fantastic and communicative with any issues that arise with our child, and they truly do love and care for the children and provide a stimulating environment. We receive photos throughout the day of her activities so we feel like we get to share in what she did that day, a great amenity. They are great in teaching individual responsibility to make good choices. My daughter has grown leaps and bounds in their curriculum. For total peace of mind knowing your child is well cared for and treated like an individual and not just one of twenty kids, consider this school! The only draw back is it is higher on the price scale, but I gladly pay knowing I'm getting the best possible environment for my child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Prep School of McKinney
5317 W. University Drive, McKinney, TX  75071
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (469) 215-7737
Last modified The Prep School of McKinney is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top