Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Primrose School Of Kelliwood

Private | PK-1

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Katy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

October 13, 2013 I am delighted about my children attending Primrose School of Kelliwood. Since they have been here, I noticed immediately how they are progressing academically as well as socially. In addition to that I appreciate the well balanced meals and snacks they are offered daily. I can go to work knowing that my children are in a safe, well managed environment. Ms. A. Bailey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

My experience with Primrose School of Kelliwood is that it prepares your kid to succeed. I see others saying that their kids got kicked out because they did not want to deal with them when they misbehaved. Do you think the rest of the kids/staff should have to use all their time on your bad kids? Not hardly. I will tell you a true story. While I was in the school, a misbehaving child was in the director's office for a time out for hitting another child. After being sent back to class, this bad kid was back in the office for biting another child. Then back a 3rd time for putting mud on others outside. Finally, for dumping a full bowl of cereal and milk on a girls head. When the parents showed up to remove this child, the dad said "You're just giving him what he wants" (not to be in school). The staff explained that the bad child interrupted the entire class and Primrose could not punish the rest of the kids by letting this continue. This was NOT this kids first discipline at the school. Now you tell me if this is a case of bad parenting, dumping an unruly kid on the daycare center. WAKE UP, NO childcare center wants these kids because their parents are irresponsible.


Posted January 28, 2013

I write this as a parent with a child that hasn't been thrown out of the school. My own view on the discipline structure is it great. I don't need my child's formative experience of school to be disrupted by kids that have their bad behavior ignored or tolerated by their parents. Having seen the way some of these kids behave at parties, and the way the parents just ignore it while their kid is misbehaving, I'm not surprised that some of them have been asked to not come back. There is a responsibility on the parent here too. Yes, I think the notice given to parents is on the severe side - I don't think that does anyone favors. Unfortunately, it was all too easy to predict which kids would be the ones to be asked to leave based on the behavior you could watch at parties - I'm talking not knowing how to share, taking toys from other kids, pushing, hitting, things like that. You can either take the view that it is kids being kids or that they should know the basics of right and wrong. I take the latter view, some take the former. If I am paying for private tuition, I personally don't want all the teachers' time taken up by dealing with kids whose parents believe in the former.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

My daughter has attended this school for the past 2 years. It was her first ever school experience. She loves going to school every day. I get regular notes home about her progress and weekly updates of what the class is doing. My daughter struggled to adjust to new teachers and not having mom around and the staff could not have been more helpful. They came up with new ways of helping her adjust and she now skips into school. Regarding some of the other reviews, for me, it's a positive that disruptive pupils are dealt with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

I have noticed a few negative postings on here and I feel those views aren't representative of the school, the teachers, or the curriculum. I was really nervous about leaving my daughter in a preschool/day care setting as she had been with a private nanny since she was 6 weeks old, but it was time she started interacting with other children and learned the world didn't revolve around her! I researched every school in Katy! And I am so glad my daughter is at Primrose Kelliwood. Yes, there was an adjustment period but the teachers helped her come into her own and really care about the students. She hugs every single one of her teachers before she leaves at night. I frequently stop by the school and am very aware of how things go on. Those teachers have a lot of patience and are able to put up with a number of children that I wouldn't put up with so if your child gets dis-enrolled, I think that's a parental issue not a Primrose issue. My daughter is strong-willed, creative, independent, etc. and she does just fine with the "Primrose way". Plus, I love how much they focus on education. This school is a great start for the behavioral and developmental expectations required for Kinder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

The first step to finding a good school for your child is research. My husband and I spent a great deal of time researching Primrose as well as other options. I can assure you that this staff does not want to "deal with" the child that is not conformed to the "Primrose way". This was our daughters first experience with any type of childcare or pre-school setting and I feel that we have made an ill choice. If a child is dis-enrolled because they are not already "trained" it adds more issues for the child to deal with such as rejection or abandonment. Teachers do show favoritism and label children as "problem children". With all of the "qualified" staff on hand there should not be issues like this. I strongly recommend taking them somewhere else. As for the director, Dana, that has been there since the day of opening 9 years ago, she has a strong sales pitch to get you in the door but please remember your child will be out just as fast if he/she does not adhere to the "Primrose rules". Basically, they do not want children that they have to "work" with. Primrose wants the child that has already "been trained". Thus leaving you child labeled as "not Primrose standard" . Accountability
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

In regards to the recent posting, i was also told to find another school a Friday at three pm. I knocked on schools doors trying to find one, that would accept my two children with such short notice. Most of them didnt have spaces for one or the other, so i am left with dropping them off at two locations, and then going to work. But that is much better than leaving him in that place.This just shows how much they care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

I have to agree with the Nov 10th review. I was given a 12 hour notice that my child could not return to the school because he was "too difficult to handle". The administration staff said to me "they had had enough" Two things to rememeber: ALL children are different so treat them as such and working parents can't find proper childcare overnight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I am Anne Emery, the Operations Director for Primrose School of Kelliwood. Primrose Schools exceeds teacher training requirements and mandates set by CITA/SACS accreditation as well as Texas state requirements. Having worked at Primrose as a teacher, interim director and management for nine years, I am proud to be part of an organization that supports staff growth and improvement, partners with our parents and provides a solid foundation for learning for our students. Our director, Dana Terry, has been at Primrose School of Kelliwood since the day it opened and is an exemplary employee. She sets an example every day of leadership and professionalism for her staff and holds them to high standards of conduct.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2011

I noticed that you can no longer retrieve the bad reviews of this school. You had to go back to 2007 to find a good review. Why don't you admit to the bad teaching and management at Primrose Kelliwood and try to fix the problems. You might actually help some childeren and become a better school in the future if you admit to your flaws and correct them. That's the least you could do if you have the best interest of the child in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

I am Dana Terry, the Director of Primrose School of Kelliwood. In response to the posting from a former parent at the school, I can confirm that none of the postings on this site are from our employees. I was made aware by the parents that the response postings were going to be made. Occasionally it is necessary for a school to dis-enroll a child in order to protect the integrity of the program and because it is in the best interest of the other children in the classroom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2011

I happen to agree with the poor rating. I also suspect the last 3 reviews were written by the owner and her staff. While the school does have excellent teachers, especially the Infant and 3 yr old teachers the management staff and upper management leaves a lot to be desired. They do not care what traumatic experiences the child is encountering. All that matters is that the "perfect" children are in their schools. They are quick to kick a child out if that child does not conform to the Primrose Way . I too hope that whoever reads this will post it because parents looking for childcare need to see the positive as well as the negative in the places they are looking to place their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

My children have attended Primrose School of Kelliwood for four years. I am impressed with the quality of teachers and the administration. The school hosted a fun carnival last weekend benefitting the Houston Children's Fund. Many families were in attendance and all enjoyed the event. Their community involvement is outstanding. Love the character development program!


Posted April 12, 2011

I too disagree with the bad rating. We have been at this school for many years and have had nothing but wonderful things with teachers and administrators. The staff is EXCELLENT and does what is best for all children in the group. Controlling behavior should start at home, and not be dependant on the school. Great job Primrose!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I have to disagree with the horrible rating Primrose School of Kelliwood was given. This school has an EXCELLENT well trained teaching staff. The teachers are so patient and always have the children actively engaged in the learing process, this is one of the top preschool programs around. Not to mention they are have the same accrediation as the Elementary schools. The Primrose staff is a group of truly genuine individuals and they are ALWAYS willing to go the extra mile to keep their families happy! I couldn't have placed my children in a better learning environment! Keep up the AWESOME job Primrose!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

I would not recommend this school if your child is going through a tough time in his/her life, i.e, divorce, move, etc. If your child "acts out" or is having difficulty adjusting, they are unaware of how compassion works. They cannot control small children who are having a tough time and have no patience or desire to try to help them adjust. Instead, they call the parent and ask them to be picked up. I have read and agreed to the School Review Guidelines and hope that the person reading this negative review will actually post it. Thank you.


Posted June 12, 2007

Awesome! Top notch! The teachers and owners really care! The best pre-school in the area! 4-yr. old graduation ceremony into Kindergarten is amazing! The kids put on a fantastic show in their caps and gowns for the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 31%
Two or more races 15% 2%
Black 11% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 0%
Hispanic 7% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (281) 828-9897

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2402 South Westgreen Boulevard
Katy, TX 77450
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 828-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT