Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
121 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The House At Pooh Corner
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
To the staff member who was so highly rude that I was visibly upset that others noticed. Please note where your salary comes from- patrons who want to send their children to learning centers. While your organization resides in River Oaks nothing about your manner displayed finer skill set. The worst experience imaginable since other parents were sympathetic and two actually shrugged at me.

The House At Pooh Corner
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Again, can't comment since my child does not attend this school; he will attend another private school


The House At Pooh Corner
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Again, can't comment since my child does not attend this school; he will attend another private school

The House At Pooh Corner
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Again, can't comment since my child does not attend this school; he will attend another private school

The House At Pooh Corner
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Again, can't comment since my child does not attend this school; he will attend another private school


The House At Pooh Corner
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Again, can't comment since my child does not attend this school. He will attend another school.

The House At Pooh Corner
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
Not sure since my son doesn't attend the school, however judging from what I saw the staff don't hold up to the values.

The House At Pooh Corner 1

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
I recently went to Pooh Corner since I'm applying for programs for my son. I have tried repeatedly calling the number and finally my husband and I went to visit the school. We drove up to what can only be described as a worn down shack, and finally had the opportunity to talk to a staff member. In asking politely- can we gather more information for the program she looked at me up and down ( I was wearing jeans and TShirt) and coldly replied, sorry not the right time and turned her back on me. I waited about 5 minutes expecting her to tell me when would be a good time but to no avail. I have never been treated like that in Houston let alone trying to apply my child to a PreK program. I've attended open houses and applied to Awty, ROBS, Post Oak and also to St Johns. Never once has the treatment been like that, but rather trying to attract new parents to the school. For those wanting to join- beware- they are judgmental- more importantly I learnt my lesson and will be glad to take my son and my business to another one of Houston's great schools.


The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
A mother of 4 children, I wish all my children could have gone to HPC! It was such a great experience for my son. The school's style of teaching and disciplining transformed my son to learn to love learning, focusing, learning new manners and building confidence. It is a well rounded school. He LOVED HPC!!

The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
With three kids, we've experienced four different preschools in Houston and Pooh Corner is by far the best. The teachers are very accessible (there is a dedicated hour everyday where you may call your child's teacher), the playground is phenomenal, and the principal sets very clear expectations for the children. Teaching social skills is emphasized and they manage unruly behavior very effectively. The kids spend a lot of time outdoors and the teachers are very experienced. The school incorporates many Montessori elements while also feeling very traditional. Parents are very welcoming (we came in halfway through the school year) and there is a strong sense of community/camraderie among the families. My son absolutely loves going to school and we wish the school continued on beyond preschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The House At Pooh Corner
2808 Ferndale Street, Houston, TX  77098
(713) 524-4511
Last modified The House At Pooh Corner is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
The House At Pooh Corner Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top