Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
A mother of 4 children, I wish all my children could have gone to HPC! It was such a great experience for my son. The school's style of teaching and disciplining transformed my son to learn to love learning, focusing, learning new manners and building confidence. It is a well rounded school. He LOVED HPC!!

The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
With three kids, we've experienced four different preschools in Houston and Pooh Corner is by far the best. The teachers are very accessible (there is a dedicated hour everyday where you may call your child's teacher), the playground is phenomenal, and the principal sets very clear expectations for the children. Teaching social skills is emphasized and they manage unruly behavior very effectively. The kids spend a lot of time outdoors and the teachers are very experienced. The school incorporates many Montessori elements while also feeling very traditional. Parents are very welcoming (we came in halfway through the school year) and there is a strong sense of community/camraderie among the families. My son absolutely loves going to school and we wish the school continued on beyond preschool.


The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
Every thing about this school is special. My son went from a timid and shy kid to a confident boy who actually wants to go to school every day. Every aspect of the curriculum and activity is well thought out. Teachers are nurturing and very qualified.

The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
This is the best preschool in Houston. We have experienced other preschools, and the quality of the education is a level above anything we have experienced. They have a good mix of play and school type activities. Our child was much happier when we switched to this school.

The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted March 19, 2007
- a parent
Pros: Curriculum is VERY thorough (reading, writing, math, music, art, etc.) Many Montessori elements. Teachers are very accessible to parents, caring to the students, and are passionate about teaching. School places kids into many of Houston's desired private schools. Cons: School's schedule is not conducive if both parents are working and you do not have additional help to pick up kids or summer activities. It is VERY exclusive and who you know helps to get your foot in the door. Very, very little ethnic diversity. Overall, the school is very good and you will be happy if you get in. At the same time, even with its academic reputation and fantastic teachers, it's not for everyone. (i.e school's personality doesn't fit with your child or your scheduling needs, then there probably is a better school for you.) Houston has many other great schools.
1 person found this helpful


The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted July 07, 2006
- a parent
One of the best schools in the nation -- the principal is tops and instills a love of learning through her positive teaching methods!

The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted June 04, 2006
- a parent
This is truly the finist school in the city. They are honest, loving, realistic and build independent thinkers. If you want touchy feely fluff, this is not the place for you. If you want your child to grow and think independently, the school is #1. Mrs. Vietor is amazing. Her method is what schools today are missing!

The House At Pooh Corner 5

Posted September 14, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


The House At Pooh Corner 3

Posted March 26, 2005
- a parent
This school is over rated. You are paying for the name. If you want your child to grow up only getting ahead because of politics and paying your way to success than this is the school to send them to. The education taught here is just as equal to any other private learning facility but for triple the amount of money. The over all mannerism of the staff is rude and almost degrading.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The House At Pooh Corner
2808 Ferndale Street, Houston, TX  77098
(713) 524-4511
Last modified The House At Pooh Corner is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
The House At Pooh Corner Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top