Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 410

3 stars
Based on 81 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


87 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southampton Montessori School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
Southampton Montissori School is a delightful place. The kids are happy, academically challenged and well taken care of by the teachers and staff. Besides the basics of learning to read and write taught using the AMS method, the school teaches the students about good citizenship, sharing, and looking out for each other. The school also offers many "extracurricular" activities such as soccer, baseball, ballet, spanish and piano. The grounds are lovely, filled with flowers and birds. The playgrounds have state of the art facilities, including water misters to help keep the children cool while playing. The teachers are responsive to parental concern and show an amazing amount of care for their students. Parental involvement is minimal.

Southampton Montessori School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
We love Southampton Montessori! Our 3 children have been at this school for the last 4 years and we were very sad to leave. The teachers and most of the assistants are incredible: dedicated, caring and patient. They always find time to communicate with the parents. The classes have about 30 kids, but well organized. Our daughter was very sensitive and emotional when she was 3, so we were concerned is she was a good fit for the Montessori environment. However, Gloria let us observe several classrooms, and help us to find a perfect teacher for our child. We highly recommend this school.


Southampton Montessori School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
We love Southampton! It has such a nurturing, friendly atmosphere. My son is so happy that he doesn't want to leave each day! We are so grateful that we can leave our son each day with confidence that he is in good hands! I am not sure about the comments about 35 kids in a room. Our class has 17 students, and always has 2-3 teachers in the room at any given time-- and a rabbit! Our son talks about "Coco" nonstop. Thank you, Southampton, for giving us peace of mind!
1 person found this helpful

Southampton Montessori School 1

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
This was the worst possible start to our child's learning. I was stunned by the things the teacher was saying about early education. Peer pressure was touted as an acceptable behavior modification technique. I was recommended a book to read that promoted punishing a child by smacking them. The space really is crowded with over thirty children in the small room.
1 person found this helpful

Southampton Montessori School 1

Posted January 22, 2014
- a teacher
Attention parents: Here are some questions to ask before having your child start here. -Where does my over 1,000 dollars a month go exactly? Can I have a breakdown of where the money goes? ( you will find teachers and assistants are not paid what you'd expect) -How long have the teachers in my child's classroom been teaching in this classroom? ( turnover is high here and this effects children) -Are there any benefits, dental, or medical insurance offered to the staff? ( absolutely not) You will pay plenty here.....find out where the money goes because it is not being used effectively here. From what I have seen, much is done to keep a nice appearance up and not much else
1 person found this helpful


Southampton Montessori School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
My daughter absolutely blossomed at Southampton. She had a tough time with fine motor skills and had struggled in another preK previously, but the manipulatives helped her so much--and she discovered that while she might not be a great colorer, she was an awesome reader. She would never have known that if she wasn't in an atmosphere where she was given the opportunity to read at an early age. Her teachers were amazing, and the large classrooms are part of the Montessori philosophy. Children help teach each other. Again, that gave my child so much self-confidence. The one-on-one time my child received with the teacher was priceless, and I felt she received more and better personal attention there than anywhere else she's been. It was an incredible experience with the best teacher my daughter has had (to this day), three amazing assistants, and lots of love. I highly recommend Southampton Montessori.

Southampton Montessori School 3

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
While this school seems to be doing a good job in teaching kids how to read and write, it is crowded, at one point my kid's class had 30 students, and lacks teachers or staff with a good understanding of early child development. If your kids are on the "wild" side, this is not the place for them. In order for this many kids to fit in one room, they need them to be well behaved. The many rules and restrictions may give your kids the wrong impression early on that school is not for fun.
2 people found this helpful

Southampton Montessori School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a teacher
Not everyone is suitable for a Montessori environment, but with that said, we always work around a child's needs and focus on progressing them farther than what may think they are capable of. We foster creativity, personalities, and independence. Teachers are essentially guides in the classroom, which makes us appear lazy, but will give your child the ability to focus on their independence and ability to do things on their own. The previous comment on how the school's lunches are causing eczema in students has no scientific or medical basis, nor can be possible if eczema isn't already present in the child. I'm just very sad to see that some individuals negate the wonderful experience that teachers and assistants encounter with the children. We love our jobs and would not be there (many of us have been there for 5+ year) if we didn't.


Southampton Montessori School 1

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
My experience with this school is VERY disappointing. There is only one Montessori certified teacher in about 35 kid classroom (2 teachers at all time) and she only stays first half of the day. Most of the teachers are young girls who don't have kids of their own. Classrooms are overcrowded and such a mess (i.e. crying kids whenever I walked in) and Montessori education only lasts about one hour out of the entire day. Kids usually play by themselves (they call it "independent toy work" but I would call it "laziness" of teachers) and the main office is full of snobby people who only care about money. Parking is terrible during pick-up and drop-off and foods are just disaster (pasta, sandwich, crackers EVERYDAY) and your kids won't eat healthy vegetables at home ANYMORE. I heard one parent complained his kid developed an eczema from the junk food the child is eating at the school. The biggest disappointment among all is the lack of interaction between teachers and kids. Especially when I pick up or drop-off, teachers usually stand against the wall of the classroom and the only thing they say about your kid's day is "good" and nothing else. Below average quality for the money you pay
2 people found this helpful

Southampton Montessori School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Southampton Montessori is an incredibly special place, and I look forward to every drop off and pick up -- seeing so many friendly, happy and caring faces -- teachers, administrative staff, and even groundskeepers, etc. Southampton Montessori is a family, not an institution - and I mean that in the most positive sense. Without going into details, the Southampton team was there for us and then some during an incredibly difficult time for our family. Their support and genuine concern for our family, as well as their actions, during that time is something that I will never forget. Southampton had our son from age 2-4, at which time he enrolled at Kinkaid ... and it was a bittersweet move as we were so happy with Southampton. Having now moved close to Kinkaid, we happily make a long drive to Southampton in order to afford our daughter the same amazing experience given to our son. I understand that I am not allowed to post teachers or staff members' names. That said, perhaps it is clear who I am from this description. To the three family members in the office, to the two teachers who taught both our kids, and to the teacher who had our daughter first - we love you!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southampton Montessori School
5012 Morningside Drive, Houston, TX  77005
(713) 526-6982
Last modified Southampton Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Southampton Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top