Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
My daughther went to this school and learned alot,yes they are very disiplined but if you think about it this will help them improve in the longrun my daughther every day woke up excited to attend to class she love it they have a very playfull way of learning and i thank Ms.Meza for been a great caring teacher with my daughther she loved and cared for each and everyone of her students i wish she would of been my daughthers teacher for ever .... I reccomend this school is strict but its a GREAT place to be at!!!

Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Excelente escuela gracias a miss Elizondo excelente maestra Buena y carinosa muy pendiente de sus alumnos estoy Feliz !gracias a dios x la escuela me gustaria k incluyeran la oracion en todas las escuelas .dios bendiga a todos Los alumnos y maestros de hisd .


Mistral Center For Early Childhood 1

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Rude, awful, staff! First day of school I tried to walk my son up to the aids and got yelled at my the principle! You aren't allowed to use the sidewalks inside the school fences! You have to walk you and your child on the sidewalk on the street outside the school grounds to get to the school after parking in the school parking lot! They are so rude that they bark orders at all parents, no asking or politely saying anything. Hate to think how they treat the kids if they'll treat grown people like this! I pay for the after school care bc I work. No phone number for the after care program, and I was late 3mins! Just 3 mins and had to sign a form stating so. Really? come on! Next year my son will not attend this school. Prison Compound isn't the word for this place. not nurturing at all!

Mistral Center For Early Childhood 1

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
Dreadful school. The principal runs it like a prison. She masks her incompetence with hostility. Lunches were served to the children more than half an hour late on the first day. She stomps around the campus like an angry, nervous wreck creating arbitrary rules & offering no valid explanation as to why these rules exist. Anyone who feels this is a good school has never seen a good school. A little girl (maybe 5 years old) was crying in the cafeteria and saying, "Mommy", to which her teacher responded, "I'm not your Mommy. I don't answer to crying." This is the general attitude of these people. It's a very cold place. If you want to pick up your child at the end of the day be prepared to wait 45 minutes in the August heat in a line of maybe 200 sweating parents. Their system is inefficient and shows no regard for the parents or students. On day 2 I was walking my 4 year old autistic son to class but was stopped by one of the teachers. This is not allowed, apparently. Why? I didn't get an answer. I spoke with the vice principal and still didn't hear a good reason as to why. I took my son and left. I'd sooner drop him off at a detention center.

Mistral Center For Early Childhood 3

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
My son attended this school & I if your looking for a great school I wouldn't recommend this school. Its good but it doesn't go beyond that. The principle here acts like a sargeant & seems unfriendly & unapproachable. IDKW -She only has one grade level to be responsible for. My son's teacher was absent a whole lot, too. They send home a whole lot of papers on memos & notices instead of homework activities. This school is a Pre K only level only. Yet, they didn't even organize a proper special graduation ceremony. My son's pre k certificate was sent in his school folder along with his other class work. So tacky. - Gabriela Mistral is not what it brags to be . Not a great experience just passable.


Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
NOW THAT THE YEAR IS OVER I CAN SEE THE DIFFERENCE MS.GONZALEZ MADE ON MY SON WE ARE REALLY IMPRESSED ON HOW GREAT THIS SCHOOL IS. I HOPE MY SONS NEXT SCHOOL WORK IN SUCH A GREAT TEAM AS ''GABRIELA MISTRAL'' I HAVEN'T SEEN ONE LIKE IT.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. =)

Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
Love this school!! The teachers are so amazing. My daughters loves coming to school every day. She has learn so much with Ms. Zapater. I highly recommend this school. Theres so many wonderful actives at this school for pre-k. This school is growing stronger every day.

Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
I am very impressed! The teachers and staff are very helpful and friendly, true educators that take great pride in what they do.


Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school.She loves it and so do I. I don't like the location though. It is located right off a super busy street and the apartments directly across are known for its drug activities. Other than that I highly recommend!

Mistral Center For Early Childhood 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Es un colegio muy bueno, tienen una organizaion increible, son super atentos a cualquier nivel y los ni os APRENDEN de verdad, no van solo a jugar. Ojala el HIDS seguiera las pautas de este colegio en todo el distrito. M.J.O.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mistral Center For Early Childhood
6203 Jessamine Street, Houston, TX  77081
(713) 773-6253
Last modified Mistral Center For Early Childhood is a Public school that serves grades PK-K
Mistral Center For Early Childhood Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top