Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mae Stevens Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Ms. Wagner and Mrs. McCombs! I don't know if they truly know the impact that they have had in my life and my daughter's life. They have truly become a big part of my daughter's life. My daughter has come to love them, like family. The last day of school was so bittersweet. I entrusted them with my life (my daughter) and they have definitely earned my trust. They are amazing and I hope they know that. Teachers don't get the recognition they should. They do a job many could not do. I know I couldn't. I appreciated them so much!

Mae Stevens Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
Very effective. At the end of the year conference, I was able to see my daughter's progress from the beginning and she has definitely progressed. I have also noticed changes in her at home.


Mae Stevens Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
For my daughter's age, I think the amount of homework was perfect. She's too young to get a lot of homework.

Mae Stevens Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
I definitely believe this. They have many after school activities and programs to help parents and students develop better educational skills.

Mae Stevens Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
Yes, I believe that. They are very professional and never have shown any forms of disrespect to their students.


Mae Stevens Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
I think this school definitely shows compassion, caring, and empathy. Every time I called about my daughter not being able to go to school a certain day, they made a point to be understanding and kind during the phone call conversation. Also, my daughter would tell me how she loved Mrs. McCombs because of how kind she was. Autumn is very shy but I know she is one of the reasons Autumn became so comfortable. Autumn would say how she never got mad. Autumn would also tell me that she loved to hug her. Which is very surprising to me because it's a struggle to even get her to hug her own grandpa and grandma.

Mae Stevens Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
I have never witness nor seen them not show honesty, integrity, or fairness to their students or parents.

Mae Stevens Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
This was my daughter's first time going to any school or even day care for that matter so I was really nervous. She is so shy and usually just wants me. She didn't even cry on the first day or any day for that matter. She fell in love with school. She would ask me every day if she was going to school today. Her teachers, Ms. Wagner and Mrs. McCombs, were amazing! My daughter is definitely going to miss them.


Mae Stevens Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
its like a reform school. kids are never allowed to be happy or talk in the mornings are at lunch. i understand they need to be more silent and especially at lunch they want them to eat but in kindergarten they would flip them on a red flag and than the little ones would sit with there head down and miss all recess. a woman actually told my daughter in front of me to stop running in the grass before school even started. they have absolute horrible attitudes and couldnt care less if a parent is there or not. one sub actually made my kindergatner cry because she told her to stand by the fence and not come to me when school was over. she kept interfering while i spoke to my daughter and putting her two sense in making her cry. was ridiculous!! i would never send my kid to this school again, maybe the new principal is better i am not sure. but it was worse than military boot camp before.

Mae Stevens Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
MY CHILD ATTENDED THIS SCHOOL IN SECOND GRADE AND IN FOURTH GRADE. BOTH TIMES WE HAD AWFUL TEACHERRS, THEY PICK THERE FAVORITES AND THE REST ARE TREATED POORLY. THE WORST PART IS THAT COMPLAINING GETS YOU NOWHERE. THEY TREAT YOU LIKE AN IRRITATED, AIR HEADED CHILD, AND "PAT YOUR HEAD" AND SND YOU ON YOUR WAY. i MADE OVER 7 OFFICIAL COMPLAINTS ON MY CHILDS SECOND GRADE TEACHER AND SHE IS STILL TEACHING THERE! tHE SCHOOL BUILDING IS OLD, THE FACILITY OR FACULTY MISUSE THE MONEIS, FOR WHAT I AM UNSURE, BUT THEY DO NOT EVEN HAVE REAL BOOKS TO USE, ONLY PAPE WORKBOOKS THEY CAN NEVER BRING HOME. I FEEL THIS SCHOOL IS LOWER INCOME, LOWER CLASS, AND LOW QUALITY. YOU CERTINLY DO NOT GET WHAT YOUR TAX DOLLARS PAY FOR. HOWEVER, THE SCHOOL LIASION IS THE BEST, MOST REACHABLE, AND CARING PERSON AT THE ENTIRE SCHOOL.

Nearby schools

Mae Stevens Elementary School
302 Manning Drive, Copperas Cove, TX  76522
(254) 547-8289
Last modified Mae Stevens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grade PK
Top