Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
90 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amarillo Montessori Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a teacher
I have been working at the school for 7 years and I'm so happy with all the changes that have occurred in the last two years. The school has been painted and updated. There is a certified Montessori teacher in every class room. Teachers receive training every single month. The class rooms are inviting and the curriculum is fun and challenging. It is currently in the works to have a gym and elementary classes added by next fall. If you had a bad experience before the new director I ask that you reconsider Amarillo Montessori Academy, you won't regret it!

Amarillo Montessori Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
My three children attended the Amarillo Montessori Academy and I served on the board of directors. My children played outside every day unless it was freezing or wet on the playground. They also had indoor recess with gross motor activites in their very large classrooms. Three of the six classrooms are larger than 1,000 square feet each. From toddler classes through preschool, my children were never in a class with maximum ratios. The very low ratios were what attracted us to the school. My family was treated with love and respect and my children even wanted to invite their teachers to their birthday parties. We loved the individual attention that each child got and we were so pleased that all three children were respected for the gifts that they brought to the classroom. I am sorry that the Amarillo Montessori Academy is sometimes confused with other Montessori schools in town because I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for education, respect and affection for their child!


Amarillo Montessori Academy 5

Posted January 30, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children attend Amarillo Montessori Academy. My daughter is four, she is reading, writing, making patterns, adding, and loves seeing Ms. Ince and Penny the Prairie Dog every day. My son is two and loves Mrs. Ray. They are finishing up a unit on penguins, learning letters, phonics, and numbers. She is working so patiently with his potty training. I get a write up of what he worked with during the day and how his day went. I couldn't be happier with the choice in a school.

Amarillo Montessori Academy
no rating

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
If you have a child who is totally compliant and can entertain him or herself in a 2x2 square this is the school for you. My son was significantly happier at a school where there was room to play and understanding teachers.

Amarillo Montessori Academy
no rating

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
Things have not changed since 2004. There is still no place for the children to play in bad weather. This means they are cramped in small rooms for the entire day. The rooms here are also much smaller than classrooms at other schools. My child attended this school for a year and loved it until he became an active little boy instead of a small toddler. His new teacher made it clear she could not deal with him. My son is now in a school with large rooms and a gym to play in on bad weather days and is thriving. I haven't had to leave him crying for me once at his new school. When considering schools for your child please look for one with a gym for bad weather days.


Amarillo Montessori Academy 1

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
We like the low teacher/student ratios and low turnover, but feel unwelcomed by the staff who seems to be indifferent towards parents in general. Perhaps a gentle nudge into reality, out of the complacency that comes with tenure would remind them that - in addition to providing all supplies & snacks - we also pay their salaries...Some regard and courtesy is in order.

Amarillo Montessori Academy 5

Posted June 21, 2007
- a parent
My children attended the Amarillo Montessori Academy for preschool and elementary school. They were each treated as individuals with different needs. The curriculum was challenging and they were able to excel at their own pace. Spanish, music and art are all offered either as part of the tuition or privately at the school. They were loved and respected by the staff and any concerns that we had were handled to our satisfaction. My husband and I both volunteered at the school and got to know the teachers and administration. I believe that children get more from school when parents are involved and communicate regularly with the teachers. My children felt accepted and cherished for their individual gifts. They never felt rejected if they did not understand a new concept or if they were learning a new social skill. I hope that my grandchildren will someday attend the Amarillo Montessori Academy.

Amarillo Montessori Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2006
- a parent
I would not take my son anywhere else. He is in the infant/toddler class and loves it. they take time to teach babies what they have the potential for learning, it's not just playing. they play with learning toys, listen to music, outside time. they encourage parent involvement and we can help as much as we want. They have certain amount of hours of parent activities required,which is not much, to get the parents involved but there are plenty of things to get involved in. I love it and wouldnt trust many others with my son, especially with all the day care 'problems' lately.


Amarillo Montessori Academy 4

Posted April 12, 2005
- a parent
My son is in the toddler program at the school. He really seems to enjoy the atmosphere and teachers. The activities they have on a daily basis include art (color, marker, paint, stamps, etc), music, reading, outside time, learning life skills (using utensils, intro to the potty, manners, sign language, etc).

Amarillo Montessori Academy 4

Posted February 03, 2005
- a parent
Both my son and saughter went to this school and we loved it. The staff was kind and great to work with. The worked great with my gifted children. My kids would still be at this school if we had not moved out of sate. I would highly recommend this school for any and all kids. They really look out for the whole family and include parents in the classroom. A+

Nearby schools

Amarillo Montessori Academy
3886 Bowie Street, Amarillo, TX  79110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (806) 353-3871
Last modified Amarillo Montessori Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top