Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ft Sanders Education Development Center 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Ft Sanders is a great school. The teachers work beyond what is expected of them and care greatly about their students. they make every effort to keep us as parents informed. This school is truly a blessing for those of us who have special need preschoolers in Knox County, TN.

Ft Sanders Education Development Center 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
This school was a huge blessing to us. Right away we saw improvement with our 3 year old son. We had to move recently and I was very sad that he had to leave the school. I would definately suggest this to anyone that has a child with a learning delay. The teachers were awesome!!


Ft Sanders Education Development Center 5

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
When my son was enrolled in preschool at age 3 I was a little nervous and excited, because I knew it would be just what he need to catch up with children is own age, and that just what happened at Fort Sanders. I can not say enough about the teachers and other staff at Fort Sanders. I am so excited that he is on is way to be in a 4 year old program at his zoned school. I just want to make a special thanks to Mrs Jennifer and Mrs. Jessica for all they have done to help my son become the child we all new he could be. Thanks you so much!!!!!

Ft Sanders Education Development Center 5

Posted December 20, 2008
- a community member
I have been a visitor of this school many times. Although I do not have a child at this school, the parents, teachers, and staff have been kind enough to allow me to welcome these children into my life. Every time I see the way these children are cared for (From the principal to the last TA) it absolutely blesses my heart. I walk away from that school inspired and can't wait to come back again. I have even spoke to groups on their behalf in order to try and get them more funding. This school is an asset not only to the students and parents, but to the community as a whole. We are very lucky to have such special folks right here in Knoxville.

Ft Sanders Education Development Center 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ft Sanders Education Development Center 5

Posted May 22, 2007
- a parent
When our son was enrolled in Ft. Sanders last Fall, I came to greatschools.org out of curiosity. The previous reviews were encouraging to me and I actually saved them on my computer to read whenever I felt nervous about my 3 year old attending school for the first time in his life. I knew that sending him would be worth it in the long run, but it still didn't stop me from worrying. At the beginning of the year, [he] barely spoke, never expressed wants/needs and had no awareness/interest in other people. Tomorrow is his last day and [he] engages us in short conversation, he pretends with his sister and he asks for things. He's actually tested out of speech therapy! He is leaving Ft. Sanders for the local 4 year old program nearby. He and I will miss the staff and teachers at Fort Sanders. Thank You to you all!

Ft Sanders Education Development Center 5

Posted February 06, 2006
- a parent
I am so grateful Child Find helped me get Michael into this school. In the few months he has been there his speech has become spontanious, he surprises me daily with the words he has learned and the fact that he uses them in the right context. We went from Helen Keller type behavior with the grunting and temper fits, and now he will tell us what he wants/needs. Although he is just 3 1/2 and I would love to keep him at home with us, and getting up in the morning & going through the traffic torwards downtown is awful, I am so very glad that I heeded the suggestions of the therapists and doctors to allow him to attend Fort Sanders. The fact that it is run by Knox County Schools means that we dont have to pay for the services he recieves while in school.

Ft Sanders Education Development Center 4

Posted August 12, 2005
- a parent
My son attended this school for two years. I found the teacher outstanding with a sincere desire to improve my child's abilities. The support staff (therapists, gym teacher, and music teacher) were wonderful and provided excellent programs. The Principal is supportive and very knowledgeable in the special ed arena. I feel any child entering this school will progress to his or her full capabilities. My son was prepared to enter primary school Kindergarten. The school is an asset to Knox County's school system and more funding for its needs should be granted. Parent involvement needs to improve for PTA and fundraising activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ft Sanders Education Development Center
501 South Twentyfirst St, Knoxville, TN  37916
(865) 594-5035
Last modified Ft Sanders Education Development Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-K
Ft Sanders Education Development Center Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top