Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westside Christian Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 10, 2016
- a community member
Thanks K5 teacher for being so hard on the students that they cry all the way to school, then shake walking into your class. And freezing in the room, No coats allowed. Just freeze . Thanks for yelling so loud at little things. You need to calm your voice, children have feelings too. Hoping you plan to retire real soon so new students won't have to go through this torment.

Westside Christian Academy 1

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
This school is awful. The principal is a hypocrite. There are plenty of other Christian based schools, in town, that are worth your money.


Westside Christian Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! We love it there! I currently have a child in the nursery and a child in the 2nd grade. The teachers there are wonderful and go out of their way to help you in anyway. The principle is super friendly, as well as all the staff. The classes are small and the curriculum is great! My children are challenged academically and are thriving! Great place to enroll your children!

Westside Christian Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
I have 3 children at the school and it has been a great experience over the past 2 years. The teachers and staff are excellent. My children look forward to attending school each day. It is a smaller class-size of 15 for elementary school compared with the public school(25 children). This has been beneficial. The teaching is excellent. My daughter took the Stanford test last year and did excellent.

Westside Christian Academy 2

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
My son currently attends Westside and let me first say that I love his teacher. The teachers in general seem very friendly and eager to help the students and work with parents. The principal on the other hand is a different story. I read the review posted on 5/27/11 and I would sadly have to agree with the posting. After now having first hand experience with the school.....the first impression is wonderful, but if you have any type of issue whatsoever, or disagree with current policies.....don't expect much. As a result, I'm withdrawing my son. We are going to Alice Drive Baptist Church.


Westside Christian Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
My granddaughter currently attends school at Westside Christian Academy. She is now in the 2nd grade. She also attended first grade there. As a grandparent I have noticed a change in my granddaughter since attending this school. Autumn was a very shy child and was terrified to sing or speak out in front of her class or in chapel. However this changed once she began school at Westside. The staff is wonderful and caring and will go the extra mile on behalf of the child. The principal down to the bookkeeper also have a warm and outgoing personality. I would recommend Westside Academy to a parent and to anyone in the community. I have attended chapel on Thursday mornings from time to time with my granddaughter and found it to be wonderful. I have also ate lunch with my grandchild and enjoyed the fellowship there with the children. Congrats to the staff at Westside Academy and keep up the good work. One of Sumter's best hiden secrets that really needs to be talked about more. Sincerely, Barbara Moore Williamson Grandmother to Autumn Moore

Westside Christian Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
Where to begin? My wife and I are military, and unhappy with the education system for this area as a whole. We were looking at an out of district enrollment for our daughter into Alice Drive Elementary. The date was getting close so we were also looking at other options. Westside Christian Academy was one of them. We paid our registration fee of $225, went home and settled on her going there. Within an hour of us getting home, Alice Drive called and stated that she was accepted. I called WCA and asked if they would refund. They acted like they didn't believe me when I said she was accepted into ADE, and stated that they would have to call and check to see if I was in fact telling the truth. The next day they called and said the money was for testing costs, which consisted of my daughter counting plastic money, looking at aclock, and reading. Why couldn't they tell me that before, now they are refusing to refund. STAY AWAY AT ALL COST! This is a shady and underhanded system of unfriendly people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside Christian Academy
554 Pinewood Rd, Sumter, SC  29154
(803) 775-4406
Last modified Westside Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grade PK
Westside Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top