Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Londonderry Christian Montessori

Preschool | 87 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Goose Creek

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

I can not say enough good about this school. My son is "all boy". He went to preschool at another school in the area. He cried every mornimg. It was obvious that they did not like him. I talked to friends that are teachers and Londonderry was recommended highly. We put him in Londonderry for K-5. The teacher, Mrs. Nimmich listened to my concerns and took my son under her wing. She was exactly what he needed. She is tough but fair. Balancing love with discipline. My son was so happy to go to school and learned so much. By the end of the year he was reading the same books as my second grader, was adding and subtracting,knew about money, could tell time and so much more.My son is happy, confident and loves school. I owe this to Mrs. Nimmich, Mrs. Malcolm and the wonderful Londonderry staff. I just wish they had a first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

At first look this school seemed like a wonderful Montessori option for my child. This school has teachers who are certified through an online program which is not generally recommended for a true Montessori experience and learning environment. This school is okay if you have a child who doesn't have an independent thought or strong will. They are particularly harder on boys who generally have a harder time sitting and being quiet for extended periods of time. The staff was rude and condescending after agreeing to work with my child, specifically after belittling my 3 year old child. They use isolation as a form of punishment and somehow expect children to thrive. Be prepared to miss lots of work if your child does any of the age appropriate mistakes that require discipline because they will just send your child home. The classrooms are tiny and are not a suitable size for a class. Security with the entrance is also a concern because there is nothing standing between your little one and a parking lot since the front office staff may not be there or paying attention. I would suggest picking another school if you don't have a robot child that isn't creative .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

My husband is in the Navy. We have 3 children, and have had many duty stations. We were told about Londonderry Montessori in Goose Creek, S.C. a year ago from a friend. The school has a half day program that many people don't know about. I met with Mrs.Tennant a year ago and feel she and the school have been a blessing to our family. I always knew that when son was with Mrs.Tennant he would be safe and happy. At the end of last school year he was tested for Northwoods Acad. and placed in the ten percentage. A BIG THANK-YOU to Mrs. Tennant. We love you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I was so happy to have this opportunity for my 4 year son to go to this school and I am so sad to have to move away. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the teachers, especially Ms. Lavendero and Ms. Strappello, directer, Ms. Dawn Malcolm, facility and the program. When I signed my son up I figured the basic stuff would be taught, ABC and 123's. Now that the school year is almost over, he is 5 and teaching me about the heart and how blood pumps through it, DNA, and he is spelling I am constantly amazed and Thankful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I am bless to work at Londonderry School. Our director is always available to parents, children and teachers and staff members. Our school is an extended family to children, parents. Their concerns and needs are always first with our director and entire staff. We are so bless in having wonderful families to work with each day threw out the school year and summer camp. Our families become apart of our extended families and we appreciate each and everyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2009

I love this school! My first son went there and they helped me with diagnosing him with ADHD, he had previously been kicked out of 2 schools. There was a lot of patience involved in the whole process. The staff is great and very kind. I have my second son enrolled there this year and am very pleased that I got him in. Great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

This is a wonderful school! My son Loves going to school and has learned so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

As a public school teacher, I am very concerned about the appropriate places to send my 3 year old for her preschooling. I was looking for a school that fulfilled the educational, spiritial, and social skills that my daughter would need inorder to be a successful child. After much research into local preschools, Londonderry is the school that was recommended time and time again. My child had never been in a school setting but quickly adapted and bonded with all of the wonderful staff members at the school. She is a cautious child but at school she is confident, loved, and appreciated for all that she brings to the classroom. I could not have dreamed of a better environment for my daughter to be in. Her first year there has been a great joy and I feel like we have extended our family all the teachers there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

I am very blessed to work at Londonderry School. We have the best director, teachers, parents and children! The environment is happy and fun to work in. It is like being part of a large extended family. I will never work anywhere else!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 13, 2009

I Love this school! I did not realize how unhappy my child was at her previous school until she started at Londonderry. My child never liked seperation and cried every morning. Now she goes right into the class, gives the teacher a hug, and begins her day. I have to ask for a kiss good-bye. She even wants to go on the weekends! I can see how much happier she is at school and even at home she seems less fussy. Also, she has learned more in a few months at Londonderry than she did in a year at her last school. If you really care about your child's happiness, this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My husband and I are very pleased with Londonderry. Our child does not adapt well to new situations and can get very upset upon our departure. This was a big concern for us. I addressed this initially with the staff and they helped her work through this beautifully. We have to coax her into leaving in the afternoons. We are amazed at her academic progress thus far. Londonderry has been the answer to our prayers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

I am very pleased with this school. From the first day I entered I was greeted and made to feel welcome. The director gave me a tour of the building and introduced me and my daughter to the teachers. After that every teacher seems to know me and my daughter. I talk to the director several times a week and have also exchanged emails several times. I have had conferences twice to check up on my daughters progress. The only problem I have had in two years is getting my daughter to leave at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

This school is good, however, I am so disappointed with their curricuram. They claim they use montessori method, but they do not use montessori materials so much.(only early morning. kids does daily craft or other program during morning and afternoon.) I think it is another daycare, not montessori school we wanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

This is my daughter's second year at Londonderry. Overall, this school is good. However, I am disappointed with the director's communication--pretty much non-existent. Even when my daughter was a new student, she made no effort to introduce herself or welcome us to the school. Tuition is reasonable for the area and I feel that my daughter has learned alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

Londonderry is such a great school. This is my son's second year there and he loves it. The staff is great. I like the way everyone knows my son's name even when he is not in their class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 53%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 1%
Black 13% 36%
Hispanic 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

174 Londonderry Road
Goose Creek, SC 29445
Phone: (843) 764-4549

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT