Advertisement

Preschool |

PHONE: (323) 666-6154

4612 Welch Place

Los Angeles, CA 90027

Los Angeles County | Map

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Community Rating

Based on 28 ratings

  • Teacher quality

  • Parent involvement

  • Facilities & equipment

About these ratings

Rate this school

Please select a star rating for this school.
1200 characters remaining
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school

Sort by:
Show reviews by:

Posted January 18, 2014

What a great, great find! If you are looking for a small, warm, wonderful, creative and safe place, this is it. Our twins have been going here for a few months and they actually asked to come every day after we started them on three days a week! The teachers are amazing and the other parents are mellow and cool and it just feels like a fun family.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted December 4, 2013

Our experience at ACGS was beyond our expectations for our kids' first school experience. The teachers are nurturing, and the school itself is inviting and warm, it is a small craftsman house and a home away from home. If you are looking for something unique and special where you know your child will explore and be encouraged to learn through play and doing things on their own in a safe environment, then this is the place. I showed up one time and everyone was lying on their backs and looking at the stars painted on the ceiling and each child was telling a story about what they were doing in outer space, those are the types preschool memories I want for my child. This is a special place!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted December 3, 2013

This magical school is a haven of creativity and growth. My son thrived there and still is buddies with his friends he met there. The teachers are outstanding! They are caring and experienced and really love what they do. The kids who went to ACGS are compassionate and thoughtful little people who have tools to navigate social and interpersonal situations.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted December 3, 2013

Can't say enough wonderful things about ACGS! All three of our kids went there and each flourished in their own way. The teachers are amazing, and the school offers a great mix of daily structure and creative, play-based learning. When we first looked at preschools, one of the parents at ACGS said: "Your child may not come out of here knowing how to read, but they'll know how to be a good person." We are so proud of this rich and loving school and so lucky we got to be part of it. A sweet, supportive, and tight-knit community for both kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted October 8, 2013

All Children Great and Small gave my children the best possible experiences in early childhood education. The school's philosophy and dedication of the teachers is truly wonderful! My children have entered elementary school with all the tools needed to succeed socially and academically. Thank you teachers for all your amazing work. Even though we are no longer at All Children, we will always remain part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted July 10, 2013

ACGS is a jewel of a school. Nestled on a quiet street in Los Feliz, it was home away from home for my two boys. The child-centered philosophy, along with caring and attentive teachers, is the ideal environment for children to thrive. A loving and safe community, I couldn't recommend it more highly.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 15, 2013

This school is amazing. My son went here and my two other sons will also be going here. It is a small community school where the teachers focus on each child as an individual and their needs.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 11, 2013

When we first visited All Children Great and Small as a prospective family, we saw a room filled with happy kids, full of energy, playing non stop. What we didn't see was any learning that might be happening...this initially made us hesitant to send our daughter here. What could she get here that she couldn't get at a playground? Where was the structure? Would our slow to warm child be overwhelmed and forgotten amidst the louder and more confident kids? When we ended up choosing this school based on its excellent reputation and rave reviews from other parents, we did so with a lot of doubt as to whether we were making the right choice. What we have seen in this past year is an intense, slow to warm, deeply sensitive little girl be accepted, nurtured, gently challenged and patiently given the space and time to bloom, creatively, mentally, socially and emotionally. We are amazed almost daily by her focused, creative play, her awareness of herself, others and the world around her and her growing confidence. We attribute so much of this to her experiences at this warm, wonderful school with such excellent teachers who truly understand children. She LOVES it here and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 11, 2013

We couldn't be happier with All Children Great and Small. Our son has been there a year and he loves going. The teachers are warm and caring and create a rich environment for kids to explore and create at their own pace. Field trips, outings and parties make it a real community for children and parents alike. I highly recommend ACGS for parents looking for a nurturing, creative, and vibrant place for their child to learn.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 11, 2013

Our son is completing his first year at ACGS and it has been a wonderful experience. If you are looking for a small-scale nurturing environment in which dedicated teachers help your children learn and grow through play-based experiences, this is the place for you. The whole vibe is very down-to-earth, which is a welcome contrast from some places that I found to be a bit too much of a 'scene' in that LA sort of way. The facility is wonderful - a lovely craftsman bungalow on a quiet residential street in Los Feliz with an awesome backyard playground. The parent community is great - smart, interesting, down-to-earth people who are a joy to spend time with. I'm glad we still have another year at ACGS and will be very sad when the time comes to leave.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 11, 2013

Such a great school with a warm community vibe that never disappoints! A real treasure!!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 11, 2013

WE LOVE ALL CHILDREN-it was the best decision we ever made! Most important for us was the fact that it was play based learning for three hours a day so that the kids could really have a mix of learning with play (not like a drop off daycare school.) Our child kept asking us what would be on one of the 3 craft tables & ran almost everyday to school out of sheer excitement for the day!. The kids LOVE snack time with healthy snacks that are provided by a shopping parent since the school is parent run. The school is clean and very well maintained by loving parents, teachers & staff. Handwashing is part of the daily routine, and the kids go crazy for the school pets-bunny rabbit and Donut the guinea pig (aptly named by the students.). Our child flourished in this environment and we're more than happy to help with fundraising, school clean up (just twice a year for a few hours) and the best part is you can participate in this local school that has been around for 30 years this year. Don't walk-run with open arms!!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 3, 2013

Feel free to tour every pre-school in Los Feliz/Silverlake. I bet you anything when you're head's resting there on the pillow before drifting off in a parental exhaustion, your gut tells you All Children is the right call. Peaceful conflict/resolution. Play based. Dedicated teachers and super-involved parents (who are actually relatively helicopter lite). This must be the place. And all in a sweet Craftsman with a great playground. Pure Los Feliz. Our son has really grown during his time at ACGS.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 2, 2013

This is truly the most magical preschool you can send your child to. The minute I walked through the doors at 4612 Welch Place I felt that I can stop looking now. The teachers are dedicated to making our little kids strong and self confident people that are equipped to move onto the next stage of life. The backyard is this beautiful shaded space with an enormous tree in the center of it. Here our kids can get down and dirty and explore and learn through experimenting. This preschool is full of little surprises and really worth checking out. If you want play based learning for your child you have found it!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted October 25, 2012

GREAT school. My son began soon after he turned 3. We were a bit nervous since I have been home with him since he was born. But the teachers are so warm and welcoming that he took to it much easier and faster than we ever could have hoped. I HIGHLY recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted September 5, 2012

ACGS is truly a magical place for kids to grow! My daughter is attending her third year, and I can't say enough about the care, and support that we've received from the teachers (aka Charlie's angels) and the community. If you're looking for a safe, fun and loving place to get your child ready for school....You've found it!!!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted July 30, 2012

The one I liked the most about this school was the teachers. The teachers have intimate interaction with the children. I could feel that the teachers communicate with the children closely and care them with love. My daughter could start her preschool easily because of the thoughtful and understanding teachers. Parents involvement is great, and children get to experience various activities inside and outside the school. My daughter liked the school very much!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted July 30, 2012

We looked at at least a dozen preschools while searching and had narrowed it down to our 3 favorite ones, All Children being the top, but didn't know if we could get it. When we got in, we were ecstatic and were quickly welcomed into the community, my daughter loved, coming to the school and I loved that she was in a safe and nurturing environment. They are play based, but by 4 years old, my daughter was writing her name, all of her letters and starting to show an interest in numbers. The teachers do work with the kids academically, IF the child is interested and asking to do it. Both of my kids have attended this school and are better children for it and I am a better parent from what I have learned there. The teachers are loving, supportive and thoughtful with all of the children and seem to bring out the best of each child.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted July 30, 2012

Five stars isn't enough if you ask my twins. The two years my daughters spent there were amazing. We loved the teachers and their nurturing and compassionate way of guiding our children through conflict resolution, friendships and the fun way of introducing new ideas. We had initially gone to a Montessori school and my girls hated it. They were bored and swore they "never wanted to go to preschool". That changed with their first step into the classroom. This school was a great place to introduce my kids to learning and problem solving. They always came home with something to share or talk about and they made some amazing friends too. Although the school is play based, one of my daughters is already adding and subtracting and both of my daughters are well above where their kindergarten expects them to be at entry. More importantly, they are confident and loving and prepared for kindergarten and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted July 30, 2012

My daughter spent her only year of preschool here at ACGS and she is TOTALLY ready for kindergarten! Thank you to all of the amazing teachers and parents who make this school happen...I have all good things to say about this sweet little school.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted July 29, 2012

We have just finished two years here with our twins, and it was the best child-rearing related decision we have made. We visited over a dozen preschools all over town, and the minute we walked into All Children we knew we had found the perfect place for our whole family. The kids didn't want to leave when we had finished the visit - they were so instantly welcomed and happy. The school is nestled in an adorable craftsman house in Los Feliz, and it really feels integrated into the community. The curriculum is play based, and the school is parent participation (without being a co-op) which means you really get to know the other families and become a community that is really there for each other and all our kids. The teachers are amazing and loving and extremely generous about sharing their insight and knowledge with all the parents, and using their loving and nurturing natures to ease kids into a school environment where they thrive and blossom. I can't rave about this school enough and highly recommend that everyone at least makes a visit to the school - if it's the right match for your family and children, I promise you'll feel that instantly.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted March 20, 2012

If you are looking for a cute and hip daycare, this is the place for you.We sent our four-year-old son for seven weeks and decided to pull him out after a number of different issues. Most important for us was the fact that it was basically just a daycare for three hours.Our child kept asking us why they called the teachers "teachers" if they don't teach you anything. I suppose we could have kept him there just to get a breather and expose him to being away from home before entering kindergarten but other concerning things also arose. Bragged about "healthy snacks" were overriden by convenient graham crackers and other sugar-filled, processed foods and full baskets of rotten fruit would be thrown away weekly. Also, they had snacktime and bowls of chips, etc. left out all day. Handwashing was not enforced and our entire family stayed sick during his attendence. Add to that that there was regularly rabbit pee and feces on the floor when I stopped in unannounced. My child was occasionally lied to, he came home with intense concepts of bombs and killing, and we were required to pay $300 in "fundraising fees" immediately and one month tuition after leaving. Parents invovement is great.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted October 28, 2011

Under the radar, hidden secret: i researched preschools until i couldn't even sleep at night. i thought we settled on a local co-op, until we had the parent meeting prior to school starting and i saw what bunch of power hungry, don't change "us" (the school is apparently "run" but a handful of parents, not all the parents as it is supposed to be...), hierarchy centric nut jobs they were. really. i was devastated and yanked our application. in the 11th hour someone suggested ACGS to me...which i had already researched but ticked off the list because it wasn't as close to us. long story short, it has been the most wonderful experience for both my kid and us as parents. wonderful staff. beautiful school. quiet, totally off the radar location. check it out, you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted August 9, 2011

My son blossomed at this school. It is the hidden gem without all the hype on the east side of LA. It attracts like minded parents who no matter how hard they work also want to be active in their childs education. We even all go camping together with the teachers in Malibu. Truly a special place and I can't wait for my daughter to attend a year from now.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted February 15, 2011

I love this school. My wife and I enrolled our daughter here last year and have to say that she is really enjoying the experience. With equal parts playing, doing arts and crafts and learning about the world, our little one is really getting a lot out of this experience. The teachers are knowledgeable and friendly . . . and the parents really get involved with the school and its activities. I give ACGS my highest recommendation!
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted February 3, 2011

All three of my children have gone to this school and all three loved it! As did we. The teachers are loving and kind and work with the children so that they learn how to interact and resolve problems. I love the play-based learning, children this age need to know that learning is fun! The facility has undergone a major facelift in the past two years, adding to its already wonderful school. The other parents are lovely and have become close friends. This is NOT a co-operative preschool, but parents do run the school by sitting on the Board of Directors and serving on committees that raise funds, plan special events, etc.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted February 2, 2011

Both of my daughters have attended this school. It is a lovely, sweet place, and the teachers are top notch. There is an emphasis on interaction between the kids. They learn to work out their differences and play with their friends in a very positive way. I recommend it highly. We have made friends for life there.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Posted June 16, 2009

Wonderful neighborhood school. My son began at 3 and had an easy adjustment. This is a school with high parent involvement and strong community. The director has been there for something like 15 or 16 years, and has great communication skills. I've been really happy here and thankful to have found such a great place for my son. Sign up early! Hard to get into the morning program.
—Submitted by a parent

Write your own review

Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.


Last modified

Los Angeles Community

Got a question about Los Angeles schools?

ADVERTISEMENT
 
SCHOOLCOMMUNITY RATING

ADVERTISEMENT