Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Stork's Nest Child Academy - East Greenwich

Preschool

 
 

Living in East Greenwich

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $333,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

My daughter attends school at the East Greenwich location. The new building is gorgeous!! But we stay not for what the outside looks like but for the incredible quality of education my child receives. The teachers are loving and always make time to talk with me about my child's day. I would recommend this program to anyone who wants good quality care for their child at a beautifully program. I was especially excited to see that they are now Bright Stars approved which shows their ongoing committment to quality. Being an educator myself, this committment shows a great deal....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

Great teachers, wonderful staff. My son has gone the the Smithfield location since he was 8 weeks old. He's now 5 months, its worth the money if you can afford to send your children to this daycare. The directors are amazing!! They allow me to come visit my son whenever I want, they even encourage it with no notice necessary, you can just show up on your lunch break if you want. Nursing moms can show up to feed the baby during the day as well. I feel very comfortable leaving my infant here while going to work and would recoment this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

You really have no idea how bad a place is until you leave and go to a new school. This daycare was horrible I just thank goodness my child was too young to realize how awful it was! The owner was dreadful her daughters were just as bad! There were too many children in the infant class, they basically spent all of their time sitting in chairs or swings. My child NEVER got crawl around (because there were not enough teachers I was told to watch him). He was there for a few months and only went outside 2 - 3 times because there were not many kids there so they had the resources to take him out. I feel they watched him but that was about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I found my experience at Stork's Nest to be outstanding. The director was extremely helpful and caring about all of the children in the center. The teachers were always approachable and interactive with the students. I found the curriculum to be above the other centers. I would highly recommend this center to any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

My child has been at Stork's Nest East Greenwich since he was an infant. Now he is going into 1st grade and I cannot say enough about this wonderful school. The care he has received is exemplary. The staff was caring and always professional. The director always made time for my son with a daily hug and a nightly goodbye. The staff of teachers are like our extended family and will be truly missed. The curriculum is above average and my son is leaving the kindergarten class reading at a second grade level. Ms. Sherry has one of the best kindergarten programs I have ever seen. I would recommend this school to everyone. We will always remember them and what they have meant to our family. Thank you all girls! We love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

I found Stork's nest to be acceptable but not great. I wanted more for my children so we left. The staff was ok, but seemed tired from being overworked with high ratios. The director was weak , often unresponsive, and borderline inappropraite at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

We have a five year old at EG Stork's Nest. They watch the children very closely and it's easy to see that they are very safety and liability conscious. There's a constant blast of commands from the teachers; however, that is not my main issue. I feel that they have substituted a high level of control for learning content. We'll ask our child what he did, and the he'll answer, "We watched a movie about Johnny Appleseed." We'll ask, "Did you talk about the movie afterwards"? He'll answer, "No - well, the teacher asked if we liked the movie, then we went to go play." We were a bit struck: they watch a movie and the teacher doesn't bother to reinforce the learning intent? Are they really learning anything?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I wanted my son to get the same love, care and respect he would get at home with me. I chose the SNCA because when I toured the facility I was so impressed with how friendly everyone was and how safe and secure the environment is. They have a wonderful curriculum and my son has learned so much in the short time he has been there. The teachers are great and he looks forward to heading to school every morning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I have two children currently attending Stork's Nest in East Greenwich, and I am extremely happy with the level of care and education they are receiving. My oldest has been in several different day care programs due to moving, and I feel most comfortable and welcomed at this one. The teachers are all fantastic - friendly, caring, and confident, and the director is extremely professional and accommodating. I looked at every other day care in the area before choosing Stork's Nest, and really do feel this is the best choice in town. My children and I are very happy to be a part of this group!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Our son attends the SNCA in East Greenwich. This facility is safe, secure, clean, educational, and fun! Outstanding staff, always friendly and nuturing. Curriculum is excellent - students receive the best lessons, comprehensive & fun! We all love this facility. Our son can't wait to start his day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My 7 month old has had a great experience in the infant room. Her teacher, Miss Melanie, is amazing. My daughter has greatly benefitted from being in her care and at The Stork's Nest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My 16month old has attended Stork's Nest EG since she was 2 1/2 months old. Even as an infant, they had planned activities and act as a partner in helping a new parent raise their child. My daughter just loves going to school there and the teachers are very kind and truly love the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I have toured several schools before making my final decision at The Stork's Nest. It has became our first choice without any hesitation. Warm,friendly,clean and outstanding lesson planning for my child's early learning years. I am a teacher and know what to look for and would rate this school on it's highest standard of teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My children attend the Stork's Nest in EG. We are very pleased. The staff is very friendly and are always willing to help you. The environment is friendly and welcoming. I feel fortunate to have found such a wonderful center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I have on child in Stork's nest, one who just graduated and one who will be going soon. All of my children love it. The teachers are wonderful. My son started Kindergarten reading some words, knowing all of his letters and sounds and doing some basic addition. My 4 year old is now reading basic words and doing addition. I could not be happier with the experience we have had with SNCA EG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

My son has gone to the Stork's Nest in Smithfield since he was 4 months old. He is now 3 1/2. He LOVES it there. The teachers and directors are dedicated and loving. The structure is great and he has learned so much. The environment and warm, welcoming and very clean. We could not be happier with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My children love the stork's nest!! They have both attended since they were infants, now 2&4, and they run from my arms daily to hug their teachers! It is extremely clean and the owners are always around! My children are amazingly smart... I owe that to the wonderful staff there! I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

Both of my children attend Stork's Nest EG and we really like the care and attention they receive. The staff are knowledgeable, compassionate, and truly like to have fun with the children. I've recommended Stork's Nest to several friends and acquaintences who say the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

I have 2 children at Stork's Nest and have been very happy with the care they have received. The teachers are wonderful and very helpful. The director is hands on and very involved with the children. She is also very approachable. My husband and I have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 64%
Hispanic 14% 22%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2260 South County Trail
East Greenwich, RI 02818
Phone: (401) 886-4544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT