Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-K
Private
East Greenwich, RI

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sweet Peas Village 1

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended Sweet Peas Village for the past 3 years. Although our family had nothing but wonderful things to say for the first two years, inconsistencies in staffing, procedures, expectations and standards are now significantly evident. As stated in previous reviews, teacher turnover is high. Quality staff does not stay for long, and many of the new hires do not have reputable childcare experience. Boys and girls use the bathrooms at the same time, cubbies are crowded and shared, and cleanliness standards are not uniform. Although some classrooms send home curriculum calendars on a monthly basis, the standard to which these calendars are completed and followed is incredibly inconsistent. Daily reports to families are inconsistently and minimally completed. We often worry about the level of proper supervision being provided. It feels as though our child is simply babysat here, instead of educated and engaged. Although we have only had positive experiences with the administration, many families do not feel they are helpful or professional. Sadly, the care and dedication that was once the hallmark of Sweet Peas is gone.
1 person found this helpful

Sweet Peas Village 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
After having my childern attend the school for 3 years, and then recently pulling them out, I can say with utmost certainity that this facility is not what it used to be. Tuition is very high, yet the curriculum is seriously lacking. The teachers seem unhappy, turnover is rampant and the owner is rarely visible. When I expressed my concerns, I was made to feel as if I was wrong and somehow an incompetent parent. Two years ago I would've recommended this place to anyone, now I would not and it saddens me to say this.
1 person found this helpful


Sweet Peas Village 1

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend sending your child here as they have high teacher turnover. Many of the teachers are great, but many are very new and untrained.

Sweet Peas Village 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is enrolled in the infant room at Sweet Peas. We are constantly impressed with the level of care, the classroom's cleanliness, the thoughtful projects and communication from the teachers. We could not be happier!

Sweet Peas Village 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My husband and I had to go thru a lengthy and tedious process to become pregnant. Since we waited years to conceive my professional life was in high demand and had excelled. When my daughter was born I had done alot of homework regarding facilities. I also looked over many positive and negative reviews some with very strong warnings of Sweet Peas and their facility and staff. I decided to forgo other opinions though still guarded I made many surprise visits to the facility on a various occasions before I signed my daughter up. I was invited to go to a PTB meeting and found the owner present and participating in the meeting. I also met the wonderful directors three of them to this facility. There is a staffed RN nurse which gave me piece of mind. I met a grandmother in the parking lot that had just come from reading to her grandsons classroom. IF Sweet Peas has secrets I found none of them. The involvement they invite parents to participate in indicates just this. Its been a full year now my daughter is thriving and I am pregnant with my second child who will most become a part of this wonderful family and facility. Reviews are peoples opinions judge for yourselves!!!


Sweet Peas Village 4

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My wife and I have been a part of Sweet Peas Village for 3 years now. We have a son who is just about ready to move into the Sunshine (3 year old class). He has been transitioning daily into the new class to meet the teachers and slowly get acclimated with the new routine. We have made certain requests and the directors have been wonderful and accommodating. Our son walks into school excited each day and comes home happy and full of stories of the day. We receive an email each night with a daily report full of detailed information about our son's day. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure each child's needs are being met. We are also excited that we are expecting again and look forward to our second child being loved and cared for in the same way our son was!

Sweet Peas Village 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Sweet Peas Village is a great facility with a staff that goes above and beyond what we asked for. I have had nothing but great experiences there. After our kids graduated from Sweet Peas, our new school teachers asked us where we went because they were very impressed at how advanced they were academically and how well they adapted. Thank you Sweet Peas!

Sweet Peas Village 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Sweet Peas Village is an amazing school in terms of beauty, high quality teaching and loving nurturing of babies and young children, and parental involvement. Our two children attended this great school for a total of ten years, and we could not have been happier. As an educator of young children, I was very thrilled to find such a wonderful school in our area. Other schools were disappointing, but Sweet Peas was an answer to our prayers. Thanks for the memories, Sweet Peas!


Sweet Peas Village 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
As a parent and teacher I look for quality in facility, developmentally appropriate practices and a positive environment for my children. I have found all of this and more at Sweet Peas Village. My children love school and I love the sense of community that Sweet Peas provides. The staff creates positive learning experiences and guides the children to enjoy learning. This is truly a quality school with a team of educated teachers and administrators that hold to the high standards set by the owner.

Sweet Peas Village 5

Posted April 09, 2012
- a parent
Sweet Peas Village has a fabulous facility that leaves no detail unattained. The teachers are so educated and use developmentally appropriate practices everyday. I would not go anywhere else this school has it all. from the nurse, teachers, directors and volunteers. Everyone there just has the best interest of the children at hand. Thank you for being available to our family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sweet Peas Village
836 Middle Road, East Greenwich, RI  02818
(401) 886-4667
Last modified Sweet Peas Village is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Sweet Peas Village Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top