Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Bala House is the best Montessori school around the area. Both my kids were in there for a few years and loved it. I transferred my younger kid out to another Montessori school which is closer to home. And I also heard it is a good school. But no, no, I regret the decision. The difference is more than noticable. Bala House's teachers are far better than the other school. I will give you an example --- I dropped off my kid off at the new school. The teacher was there playing on her smart phone. She did not come to say hello or welcome my kid. This had never happened at Bala House during my few years of dropping experience. Bala House's teachers are always very caring and friendly. There are a lot of other cases that I can give you, but I will be running out of space here. So parents, choose Bala House Montessori School and you will be glad you did when you see how happy your kids are. Besides, I pay some amount for both school -- Bala House is 9-5 while the new school is 9-3 :-)

The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
My children attended the Bala House for 3 years and just recently graduated from the kindergarten program. They each learned to enjoy learning, to challenge themselves, and to impress themselves by what they can do! The teachers encourage the students to become advocates for themselves in the learning process. They have gained valuable lessons that will serve them well as they enter 1st grade next year. The school is full of caring, knowledgeable, and passionate teachers. The school director is equally caring and goes to great lengths to get to know each family at the school. She is a wonderful resource for families and a great leader for the school. I don't think I could have given my children a better start to their learning career.


The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
Our son started at Bala House Montessori as a 3-year old and has loved it since his first day. The school offers a fantastic academic curriculum, beautiful facilities and a family-oriented community that is hard to find elsewhere. The Director is warm and engaged figure who knows all the children and families. We have loved the Montessori curriculum and the beautiful learning materials in the classrooms. Weekly instruction in art, music and movement make the program a truly well-rounded experience. The school has a large field and expansive playground, which was necessary for our active son. I continue to be amazed at what he already learned as an in-coming Kindergartener. I think that is is far beyond what is being offered at other area schools. Bala House is more expensive than some local preschool programs but it is well worth the investment. I have also loved the frequent annual family events. It has been a great way to get to know other local parents and their children.

The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
My children have had the best preschool and K experience here. The loved school every day, and left Bala House well-prepared to move on. Couldn't ask for more.

The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted March 02, 2012
- a parent
We had moved from India to Philadelphia in the month of April with our 4 year old daughter. Since my daughter was attending kindergarten in India since the age of 3, she was missing school and kids of her age. Public schools admitted kids only above the age of 5 and most of the private schools were ready to enroll her only from September in the new batch. Bala house was the only school which understood our predicament and not only enrolled her immediately, but also took utmost care to make her feel at home. The teachers, the directors were very warm and nice. My daughter cherished each and every day at the Bala house.


The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted August 26, 2010
- a parent
We started our son here last year, when he was barely three. We were a little worried but have had a fabulous experience. The director in particular is top notch, and the reason we chose the school. His teacher is calm, patient, kind and encouraging. He has asked about her several times this summer. We were unsure about the Montessori program, and I still don't quite get it, but our son is doing great developmentally in this nurturing, caring environment. The school goes to great pains to create a strong community within the school and we really enjoy our interaction with the other families and like that all the teachers/assistants seem to know who our son is by name.

The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
My daughter goes to Bala House. We relocated from California and the teachers and the director really took care of her to make sure her transition was smooth. The new facility is amazing! My daughter does not want to leave when we pick her up. She is learning so much and is advancing rapidly.

The Bala House Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The new wings and classrooms are fabbulous, with beautiful, peaceful, and sunny classrooms. Teachers are very experienced and help the children grow as independent learners. My son is very happy, as are we. It's a great community of families and teachers.


The Bala House Montessori School 5

Posted July 26, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attended Bala House Montessori for 3 years and had a wonderful experience. She really blossomed as a kindergartner where she was one of the older children helping the younger ones. We found the class atmosphere very nurturing and quiet and the school very professional. We would highly recommend Bala House.

The Bala House Montessori School 3

Posted June 21, 2006
- a parent
Frindly Faces provides a loving, nurthuring environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Bala House Montessori School
27 Conshohocken State Road, Bala Cynwyd, PA  19004
(610) 664-6767
Last modified The Bala House Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
The Bala House Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top