Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Bala House Montessori School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bala Cynwyd

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $353,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

My children attended the Bala House for 3 years and just recently graduated from the kindergarten program. They each learned to enjoy learning, to challenge themselves, and to impress themselves by what they can do! The teachers encourage the students to become advocates for themselves in the learning process. They have gained valuable lessons that will serve them well as they enter 1st grade next year. The school is full of caring, knowledgeable, and passionate teachers. The school director is equally caring and goes to great lengths to get to know each family at the school. She is a wonderful resource for families and a great leader for the school. I don't think I could have given my children a better start to their learning career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

Our son started at Bala House Montessori as a 3-year old and has loved it since his first day. The school offers a fantastic academic curriculum, beautiful facilities and a family-oriented community that is hard to find elsewhere. The Director is warm and engaged figure who knows all the children and families. We have loved the Montessori curriculum and the beautiful learning materials in the classrooms. Weekly instruction in art, music and movement make the program a truly well-rounded experience. The school has a large field and expansive playground, which was necessary for our active son. I continue to be amazed at what he already learned as an in-coming Kindergartener. I think that is is far beyond what is being offered at other area schools. Bala House is more expensive than some local preschool programs but it is well worth the investment. I have also loved the frequent annual family events. It has been a great way to get to know other local parents and their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

My children have had the best preschool and K experience here. The loved school every day, and left Bala House well-prepared to move on. Couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

We had moved from India to Philadelphia in the month of April with our 4 year old daughter. Since my daughter was attending kindergarten in India since the age of 3, she was missing school and kids of her age. Public schools admitted kids only above the age of 5 and most of the private schools were ready to enroll her only from September in the new batch. Bala house was the only school which understood our predicament and not only enrolled her immediately, but also took utmost care to make her feel at home. The teachers, the directors were very warm and nice. My daughter cherished each and every day at the Bala house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

We started our son here last year, when he was barely three. We were a little worried but have had a fabulous experience. The director in particular is top notch, and the reason we chose the school. His teacher is calm, patient, kind and encouraging. He has asked about her several times this summer. We were unsure about the Montessori program, and I still don't quite get it, but our son is doing great developmentally in this nurturing, caring environment. The school goes to great pains to create a strong community within the school and we really enjoy our interaction with the other families and like that all the teachers/assistants seem to know who our son is by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

My daughter goes to Bala House. We relocated from California and the teachers and the director really took care of her to make sure her transition was smooth. The new facility is amazing! My daughter does not want to leave when we pick her up. She is learning so much and is advancing rapidly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

This is a wonderful school. The new wings and classrooms are fabbulous, with beautiful, peaceful, and sunny classrooms. Teachers are very experienced and help the children grow as independent learners. My son is very happy, as are we. It's a great community of families and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

My daughter attended Bala House Montessori for 3 years and had a wonderful experience. She really blossomed as a kindergartner where she was one of the older children helping the younger ones. We found the class atmosphere very nurturing and quiet and the school very professional. We would highly recommend Bala House.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

Frindly Faces provides a loving, nurthuring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My daughter attended the Bala House for two years. She had a bit of a rough transition her first year (age 3) because she came from a traditional daycare setting. The Bala House is a Montessori school with structured activities. The children are expected to work, for the most part, on their own and my daughter was not used to that environment. By her second year, got used to the setting and was doing much better. The class size tends to be on the larger side. They have many activities for the children and families to get involved. The school has great touch with the families and the surrounding communities. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 71%
Black 16% 15%
Hispanic 16% 9%
Two or more races 11% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27 Conshohocken State Road
Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004
Phone: (610) 664-6767

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT