Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori of Alameda 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
Parkrose Montessori School. Spanish for Little Ones, is a Montessori program with full inmersion in Spanish for todlers, teacher' Josuany and his assitent Lourdes which are the todler' teachers are native Spanish Speakers . I had my daughter with Yosuany when he was part of Montessori of Alameda and now he is the teacher of my son in his school , we love his job, and we follow him even his schoool is far from our house but I feel more confident knowing that my son is in the care of some who really care about him.

Montessori of Alameda 3

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
My wife and I were really excited about our child enrolling here, but have recently begun to have some doubts. Maybe it's too early in the process to make a change, but the fact that I've thought about it has led me to search for reviews. To the parent who posted in March 2014, you mentioned you're happier with the Spanish immersion program at your new school. Can you share the name of that school as a place I might look into? I've also experienced a great deal of reluctance on the part of my child and other children as well about being dropped off at school in the mornings which has me questioning whether or not this is the warm nurturing environment I'd hoped it would be.


Montessori of Alameda 3

Posted March 16, 2014
- a parent
My child attended MOA for a one year. We were attracted to the "bilingual" aspect of the school. And while it is true that your child will be exposed to a Spanish speaking guide (often a teach assistant), it is not a true immersion experience (ie, don't expect your child to come home and converse with you in Spanish--which we actually have now at the new school). Initially, we were very happy with the school. Our child was happy. However, her class went through a significant amount of teacher turnover--this was too much. Crying every day, refusing to go to school. It was too much for us, so we pulled her out. I'm sure that the turnover is multi-factorial--and truthfully, we heard about this potential through other reviews. The admin was often blamed. I'm not sure. We did feel the nickel and diming that we had read about. I'm sure it added to our frustrations. Overall not a bad school--we expected more (and actually have it now). To those parents looking--check it out. But when you meet with administration, trust your gut (we wished we had).

Montessori of Alameda 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a teacher
We are very positive about Montessori of Alameda. The teachers are very well trained, and the bilingual instruction is a plus. Whenever a problem crops up, the teachers and administrators are very prompt to notify us and schedule a discussion. They seem genuinely interested in learning about the possible roots of the situation and view the conversations as an ongoing dialogue with the parents. I appreciate that they take the time to understand how we discipline, what's worked with us, and I especially appreciate that they share what the kids are working on at school so we can be consistent at home.

Montessori of Alameda 4

Posted April 06, 2013
- a teacher
I am an employee of Montessori of Alameda and have worked here for several years. The Administration is great. As staff we are treated very well as the Admin takes a collaborative approach and we all have a voice in making decisions about our community. True, some teachers have been here for over 8 years others may only stay a few. Most staff leave to open their own schools not because they are unhappy or not well treated. I love working here as this is the only Montessori school where the mission is Montessori for Everyone. They have a sliding scale program for low income families and they also accredit adults to be Montessori teachers. Most of the staff is sponsored by the school via a scholarship program , a great value as otherwise we would not be able to afford to become Montessori teachers. I thank the Administration for investing in us and also making Montessori available to low income families. All staff are paid well, have excellent benefits, etc. All classrooms have Montessori accredited teachers as well as students who are doing their student teaching. The owner is amazing. She has brought Montessori to everyone via The Ivy School and Maria's Place.


Montessori of Alameda 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
The school looks great but they rip the teachers off and treat them like sh*t. Alot of the teachers that work there are still in school and never got a Montessori certif. I feel bad for anyone that works there they do not care at all about there staff and because of this the teachers there will only stay for a year or so . This school is ran on greed and greed only all they care about is your money. there teachers are way over worked and they never get over time for working over 40 hours a week and they almost always work 50 + a week. and then have to do all there planning on the weekends. The owner will do anything to make more money . she even will give them pay cuts without telling the teachers. most of the employes are on food stamps because of the pay they get.they will put a assistant in as a head teacher and pay them the same. I could keep going on and on but the bottum line is this school eather needs to be closed or sold to some that cares.

Montessori of Alameda 2

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
My child has been exhibiting some undesirable behaviors, our counselor asked about consistency. After digging deep, I see that the school is the problem. More specifically, the greedy owners. This school has tremendous turnover and is understaffed. This makes the teacbers and their assistants stressed, how can this NOT rub off on the children? Where is the peaceful altruistic Montessori environment I expected? Many employees regularly work 50-70 hours a week, with no overtime. They must clean their own classrooms - as there's no cleaning service. Weekend and after-hours meetings are the norm. I would prefer that my child have the same teacher every day instead of the constant variety that is necessary because they are understaffed. I'm not saying they always are...but the lack of administration support for tbe staff has caused problems for my child. Shop around, ask about turnover from the last 5 years. Workers need a 40 hour week - even if the owner chooses to work 15 hours a day. There are problems here. I suggest a time clock and a parent board with guest teachers in attendance.

Montessori of Alameda 2

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
The administration of this school is a big, big problem, in my view, and it eventually drove us away. The director is extremely difficult to deal with, and she seems motivated by money, not by education. At every turn, we were nickel and dimed. All of this spills over -- many staff (teachers) were demoralized and, inevitably, some of them quit or abandoned ship. It's a shame.


Montessori of Alameda 3

Posted November 23, 2011
- a parent
I believe your child will be happy and thrive at this school. The Montessori philosophy is a wonderful foundation and exposes young children to many real life topics. The teachers have been wonderful, open and great with the children. Currently,the staff does tend to move classrooms or leave the school completely. There are some teachers that have been there for years and I think teacher turnover rates are declining. Having said that, as a parent, I am highly put off by the administration. Rude and condescending are some words that come to mind. It amazes me that the owner is likely to be the reason people leave this school, or decide not to enroll. This is a shame, because lots of great things are going on at this place. If I was just rating the teachers/classroom-student experience I would have given it 5 stars, but taking into account everything, I can only give it 3.

Montessori of Alameda 5

Posted July 28, 2010
- a parent
We have had our toddler at Montessori of Alameda for 1-1/2 years... He has been in the Spanish Immersion class for the past year. He speaks perfect Spanish and completely understands it. The staff and administrators are well educated and very organized. This school would be an excellent choice for your child. We are extremely happy with the school and staff. Our little boy love's to go to school. It's amazing to see the skills he's learned! You can't beat this! THANK YOU Miss Tammy, Miss. Norma, Mr. Valentine, Miss. Page, and everyone else!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori of Alameda
4210 NE Going St, Portland, OR  97218
(503) 422-3608
Last modified Montessori of Alameda is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Montessori of Alameda Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top