Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about A Child's Way!!! The teachers are phenomenal, the admin team has children's best interests always in the forefront of their minds and uses them to base decisions, and the curriculum is developmentally appropriate! Through play-based learning, children learn vital social-emotional skills. The academics are often disguised so that the kiddos don't really realize they're learning but the progress is evident to adults. My children will be building academic skills for the rest of their lives, and I am incredibly grateful to have found A Child's Way, where my kids have been encouraged to be themselves, to play, to connect with their peers and have been given the tools to negotiate any kind of interpersonal challenge. These skills are inherent to successful learners, and they are vital to academic success.

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
I have been so happy with A Child's Way Preschool. The teachers are highly trained and I love how they take the time to personally engage with each child. They work so hard and have new and interesting activities each day. The kids get exposed to so many different, creative outlets. This school has done wonders for both my kids. Highly recommend!!


Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
We love A Child's Way. I have been at the school for four years with two different children. The teachers are great. Most of the teachers have been there for a really long time and obviously really love their job. The play-based learning has been great for my children. My older child was very well prepared for public school. I have recommended this school to a lot of friends who have also loved it just as much as I do.

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
My son did the 2's program last year and is currently enrolled in the 3's program. I have been extremely happy with A Child's Way and the great start it has given my son in his education so far. It is such a loving and nurturing environment. I feel very comfortable with my son being at "school" at the age of 3. There is nothing about it at all that gives it a "daycare" feeling like some "pre-schools". It truly feels like a place where my child is free to learn, explore, grow and socialize. They have carefully thought out stations where the children can explore and learn. The class has the same schedule of free-play, circle time, free-play/art, snack, outdoor play and final circle time each day so that the children know what to expect every day. It is such a loving and nurturing environment (it bears repeating). The teachers truly care about exemplifying kindness and creating a safe environment for the children to explore and grow. My son has so much more confidence than he did before attending A Child's Way that I know he will strive as his school years progress.

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
The outstanding staff, play-based learning philosophy, emphasis on social skills, and amazing outdoor space make A Child's Way the top choice of preschool families in NW Portland. I have had a child in the school for 5 years and have been continually impressed by the level of interaction between teachers and children, and with the communication between teachers and parents. Most importantly, I've been very pleased with the interaction between children in the school. Communication between classmates is strongly emphasized as a tool for kindness, understanding, and conflict resolution. The preschool years are such an important time to build this foundation! A Child s Way is also one of the few Kindergarten-preschool programs to be accredited by the National Academy of Early Childhood Programs (NAEYC) - accredited since 1997. Although the curriculum is play-based and not paper-and-pencil, my pre-K student "graduated" from the program at age 5 reading independently and able to perform basic addition and subtraction. Children really do learn through play.


Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
I have a child currently enrolled in the 2's program, as well as the 4's (also attended 2's and 3's). We love the staff, and as an educator myself, wholeheartedly believe in play-based learning. Each month, children are exposed to a different theme in the classroom, with approximately 8-10 different activities related to that theme based on science, art, math and reading. I love that the children aren't expected to sit in front of worksheets, as other preschools in the area are known for. I highly recommend A Child's Way Preschool!

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
My children have attended A Child's Way preschool and kindergarten for two years now. They began in the 3's class, and it was fantastic. The teachers are wonderful with the kids. They are warm and encouraging and they have helped my children gain confidence and enthusiasm for learning. Their approach for teaching problem solving skills is wonderful, as well, and it comes through at home as well as in the classroom. My children are now in the 4's class and we have been thrilled with this new year at A Child's Way. I wish I had known about their wonderful 2's program, because we would have done that as well. This is a great gift to give your children...a start at such a supportive and community oriented school, allowing them to be children, have fun and learn and showing them how wonderful learning can be! I am so happy with A Child's Way and recommend it to others in a heart beat!

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
My shy child has thrived academically, emotionally and socially at A Child's Way. It is a play-based program that does not skimp on the academics and my daughter loves to go to school each day. I am impressed by the problem-solving approach that all the teachers exhibit when it comes to helping children resolve conflicts. It's a wonderful community. I only wish they had an Elementary School program.


Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Excellent, play-based preschool , keeping the WHOLE child in mind. Warm and caring interactions between child and teachers. Teachers are exceptional and motivated. There's always going to be one so-so apple in the bunch and I suspect the other negative reviewer had one of those!

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
I have had three kids go through ACW from the 2's through Kindergarten. My children can problem solve and have learned life long social skills. The whole child approach allowed each of my kids to be challenged and engaged in all academic area. I highly recommend it!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School
12755 NW Dogwood St, Portland, OR  97229
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (503) 644-8407
Last modified Childs Way Kindergarten & Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top